The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Do I want "Soft Focus"? Pro help needed.

A

aero

Hi All,

I've been shooting for about 3 years now - my background was fine art and design, but I've really enjoyed shooting photos as a primary means of expression.

In a nutshell, I *like* blurred, soft, out of focus abstract images. Here's the thing - I have a Canon 1ds MIII that has mostly been used for super clear, in focus shots for fashion and product work (which I no longer do). I want to utilize my investment to produce my fine art preferences and am looking for a lens that will produce really soft images. I tend to go almost completely out-of-focus and shoot in dark, colored (red, blue, yellow) light (f1.2) to achieve the effects I like.

It seems like my camera and lenses (50mm 1.2: 50mm is my preferred lens) conspire against me. I tend to get a lot of stair-stepping in my digital images, especially with the gradations of red. I also can't get the "soft out-of-focus" look when shooting objects at certain distances when my 50mm is in it's focus zone.

I know this can be done in Photoshop - but I really want this to be in-camera. Real-Imaginary, if you get my meaning :)

Sharpness me damned, do I want 100% bokeh?

Is it a soft filter I need? A different 50mm lens? Am I just trying to make my camera's sensor do more (er, less) than it was designed to do?

Any assistance appreciated!

All the best,
-Dan
Los Altos, CA.

TRSmith

Subscriber Member