Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: i1 Display Pro

  1. #1
    Senior Subscriber Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    1,306
    Post Thanks / Like

    i1 Display Pro

    So my trusty old Monaco Optix XR is no longer usable on Lion because the profiling software is PPC. So I'm thinking of replacing it with i1 Display Pro. Price seems right. Anyone have experience with it?

  2. #2
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Terry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    6,955
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1145

    Re: i1 Display Pro

    just got one last. seems ok so far. Since I'm local let me know if you want to test it out.

  3. #3
    Senior Subscriber Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    1,306
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: i1 Display Pro

    There's a review at LuLa:
    http://www.luminous-landscape.com/re...play_pro.shtml

    Looks pretty good.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    132
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: i1 Display Pro

    Have any of you users had problems with your Mac auto sleeping after the install of the XRite software? I've installed the software on both my Mac Book Pro 15" and MacPro with the same results. Leave the mac idling and it will never go to sleep by itself. You have to manually cause it to sleep. I uninstalled the software and the auto sleep function works again.
    I've had the same problem with my colormunki software as well and seems there is something Xrite is doing to keep the Mac from auto sleeping.

  5. #5
    Senior Subscriber Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    1,306
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: i1 Display Pro

    Just got it for Lion... yeah, it works. Quite functional. Not very polished; crashed on me, failed to update itself (telling me signature was invalid), suddenly went into demo mode until restarted, and pops up multiple modal dialogs blocking one another where the frontmost dialog requires dismissal of another dialog that it obscures. I like that it can automatically adjust to ambient light when I plug in the colorimeter. Profiles are excellent.

  6. #6
    Senior Member Lars's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Sunnyvale, California
    Posts
    1,811
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    19

    Re: i1 Display Pro

    Quote Originally Posted by Jan Brittenson View Post
    I like that it can automatically adjust to ambient light when I plug in the colorimeter. Profiles are excellent.
    That is a cool feature. But a bit weird in some situations like partly cloudy or candle-light.
    Monochrome: http://mochro.com

  7. #7
    Senior Subscriber Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    1,306
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: i1 Display Pro

    It's also humongous. ENORMOUS. Just short of 1GB. A 1GB profiling utility. Because just like in 1998 they install everything including the kitchen sink and a plumbing workshop on my computer, instead of leaving things like training videos on a website. Just in case you should be in urgent need of video training without net access. A gig of stuff more than 99.9% of their customers will never look at.

  8. #8
    Senior Member Lars's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Sunnyvale, California
    Posts
    1,811
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    19

    Re: i1 Display Pro

    Yeah welcome to copy protection by bloat. Doesn't work and it annoys your customers.
    Monochrome: http://mochro.com

  9. #9
    Senior Subscriber Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    1,306
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: i1 Display Pro

    So true!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •