Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Arca D4 & RRS BP2-Pro II

  1. #1
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    32 31' 37.06" N, 111 6' 0.9" W
    Posts
    4,333
    Post Thanks / Like

    Arca D4 & RRS BP2-Pro II

    Just a simple question - will a RRS BP2-Pro II clamp fit? I know it does on my Cube. And yes I ordered one as hiking alternative to the heaver tripod/Cube.

    Don
    Don Libby
    Iron Creek Photography
    Blog
    Tucson AZ

  2. #2
    Administrator Bob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Prescott, Arizona
    Posts
    4,492
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    367

    Re: Arca D4 & RRS BP2-Pro II

    I have a D4 with the arcs screw clamp whic I like a lot.
    it has both grooves that will fit arca/rrs plate as well as a arca slidefix. the knob is not too big and it has become my favorite clamp.
    -bob

  3. #3
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    32 31' 37.06" N, 111 6' 0.9" W
    Posts
    4,333
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Arca D4 & RRS BP2-Pro II

    Thanks Bob - The one I have coming has the Monoball Slidefix. No other option was available - looking/thinking ahead and figure if the RRS works so well on my Cube it should work just as well on the D4. So long as it fits.

    Don
    Don Libby
    Iron Creek Photography
    Blog
    Tucson AZ

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Western Canada
    Posts
    16
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Arca D4 & RRS BP2-Pro II

    Here's a snapshot that should give you a pretty good idea what to expect. The RRS clamp I put on my D$ is listed 50 mm jaw. I think the one you want is listed 60mm, so it should match the top platform of the head very nicely. The corners will overhang the round platform a little more, but they're nice and soft on the RRS clamps.

    I wouldn't know if Arca uses the same screw on sidefix as the Arca classic that came with my D$, but I was able to re-use the Arca screw. The RRS M6 screw was a couple mm too long. A belt sander would make pretty quick work of that if the sidefix screw doesn't work.

    If you get the same screw you're all set. You'll just need a 3.5mm hex wrench, if memory serves.

    Hope you like your config as much as I like mine.
    Charles Croft

  5. #5
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    32 31' 37.06" N, 111 6' 0.9" W
    Posts
    4,333
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Arca D4 & RRS BP2-Pro II

    Charles, many thanks for the photo and information. Just found that I still have 2-3 weeks as it is on back-order. Hopefully I'll have it before I leave on my next trip. Which model plate is on the head in the photo?

    Don
    Don Libby
    Iron Creek Photography
    Blog
    Tucson AZ

  6. #6
    Senior Member stephengilbert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Santa Monica, CA
    Posts
    2,272
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2

    Re: Arca D4 & RRS BP2-Pro II

    Don,

    That looks like the B2-40: Really Right Stuff - Item Listing

    The 60s have a bubble level.

    Steve

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Western Canada
    Posts
    16
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Arca D4 & RRS BP2-Pro II

    Quote Originally Posted by stephengilbert View Post
    Don,
    That looks like the B2-40:
    Confirmed! I wanted the smallest one that'd do the job, and the D4 has the needed levels already.
    Charles Croft

  8. #8
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    32 31' 37.06" N, 111 6' 0.9" W
    Posts
    4,333
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Arca D4 & RRS BP2-Pro II

    I kept used the clamp that came with my Cube for many years until earlier this year. I found I was shooting more and more in a cold, wet environment and often had problems opening the latch without removing my gloves. Having had a touch of frostbite in my hands from years ago they are very susceptible to the cold. Don't know why it took me so long to change heads to the BP2 screw but I've very pleased I did. That said, that's what I figured I'd immediately change to just as soon as I receive the D4.

    My first order from Robert White and they tell me afterwards that it would be a 2-3 week wait. Oh well.....


    Don
    Don Libby
    Iron Creek Photography
    Blog
    Tucson AZ

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    291
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    15

    Re: Arca D4 & RRS BP2-Pro II

    Don,
    Why not keep the MonoballFix? I understand if you have a large investment in "old" style Arca plates for many cameras, it can be expensive, but the new MonoballFix is pretty slick I think. The newer style plates have a lower profile, but provides plenty of grip and is super easy to use. I got the D4m from Robert White as well. Be aware of a "brokers fee" to get it through US Customs . UPS charged me an additional $32, on top of the shipping fee of 30 :-(.

    Cheers, -Peter

  10. #10
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    32 31' 37.06" N, 111 6' 0.9" W
    Posts
    4,333
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Arca D4 & RRS BP2-Pro II

    Thanks Peter. I've got a trip planned in less than 6 weeks which will keep me away for slightly more than 2-months. I hope Robert White can fill the order before I leave. Even with the additional brokers fee of $32 it's still a good if not better buy than any where I've see. There's a guy selling a "new" D4 on E-Bay and asking $1800! Even with the additional brokers fees and international bank fees I'm still well ahead of the game.

    Now I just want the dang thing to get here as one of the first places I'll be going requires a 3+ mile walk and I plan to be shooting near if not in some very cold water.

    Don
    Don Libby
    Iron Creek Photography
    Blog
    Tucson AZ

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Fort Collins, Colorado
    Posts
    2,077
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: Arca D4 & RRS BP2-Pro II

    Quote Originally Posted by Bob View Post
    I have a D4 with the arcs screw clamp whic I like a lot.
    it has both grooves that will fit arca/rrs plate as well as a arca slidefix. the knob is not too big and it has become my favorite clamp.
    -bob
    Hey Bob

    I remember that you used the Arca Swiss Clamp for a long time (or at least I believe you did)

    What encouraged you to change to the D4?

    Thanks

    Woody

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    128
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    5

    Re: Arca D4 & RRS BP2-Pro II

    Actually a D4 with a Monoball fix has a shorter screw than those equipped with a Classic or Fliplock QR. It is a thinner mount plate on the QR.
    Some of the US dealers do have D4's in stock I believe.
    Usually Classic or Fliplock.
    US Representative, Arca-Swiss International
    R-Line Technical Cameras, Large Format View Cameras, Tripod Heads D4, D4m, P1, P0, Z1, Z2, C1 Cube.
    http://www.rodklukas.com/arca-swiss 480-755-3364
    Instagram @arcaswissusa Facebook @arcaswissusa

  13. #13
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    32 31' 37.06" N, 111 6' 0.9" W
    Posts
    4,333
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Arca D4 & RRS BP2-Pro II

    Just got an email saying the D4 is heading to AZ. With any luck I should have it by the end of the week.
    Don Libby
    Iron Creek Photography
    Blog
    Tucson AZ

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •