Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 35 of 35

Thread: What OS do you use?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    79
    Post Thanks / Like

    What OS do you use?

    I was curious why Jack switched away from Windows to the Mac, and we were conversing via private message, and we thought this was a good topic to bring forward.

    Admittedly, I haven’t used a Mac since OS X.1 came out for anything other than a passing glance and I have used I think all the different versions of Windows since Windows for Workgroups. Long ago I made the choice to stick with Windows – but it was before the Intel Macs (although I did hang in with both the Mac & Windows until OS X.1).

    So, what am I missing out on?
    -- M.

  2. #2
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Maggie O's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Standards Are Down All Over
    Posts
    3,064
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: What OS do you use?

    Unix that actually works for everybody. Seamless hardware integration. Actual security.

    I hated Macs until OS X, specifically 10.2. Now I see no reason to use Windows.

  3. #3
    Subscriber Member mwalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    924
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    74

    Re: What OS do you use?

    I upgraded to Leopard but found out Canon does not have supported drivers for the ipf5000 until 1st quarter 08. So I still process in LR then print from my work Dell, kind of a pain in the arse. In my opinion and I use both, the MAC is easier to use and I like the build quality of my Macbook Pro.
    Mike

    website under construction

  4. #4
    Subscriber Member TRSmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Central Maine, U.S.A.
    Posts
    2,406
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    9

    Re: What OS do you use?

    I've used MACs since the late 80s. Initially it was because of the page layout programs like Pagemaker and Quark, and then it just became habit. I currently use Tiger. I have a copy of Leopard on a separate boot drive just to play around with, but since I make my living with the Adobe Creative Suite plus Quark and other programs, I don't have the confidence in Leopard quite yet.

    I have a Windows box that my wife uses and she seems to get along fine with it. But since I am by default the IT guy in our little business, I dread it every time the thing needs maintenance.

    So I think I might not be a fair and objective voice in your study. I know the MAC really well and love it. To me it seems elegant, stable, and safe. And it has historically supported all the apps essential for my livelihood. Someone with a similar history on Windows might easily say the same.

    In the end it's about getting the job done. Which computing tool you prefer to facilitate that is largely a matter of taste and to some degree, experience. I will say though that for the first time in many years, if someone new to computers asks my opinion, I have absolutely no problem suggesting the MAC platform for their first computer.

  5. #5
    Senior Subscriber Member Steen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Denmark, CPH
    Posts
    2,500
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    12

    Re: What OS do you use?

    I don't really care as long as it works, I simply hate compatibility problems. So right now I stick to Windows only because it is the largest market standard.
    Last edited by Steen; 3rd January 2008 at 05:28.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    79
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: What OS do you use?

    So far I'm in the same boat the TRSmith & bondo, I don't really care which OS people us as long as it is productive for them, but I just haven't found any one that works better or worse than any other.

    I don't type quicker on any given OS
    Sure, I know keyboard short cuts that speed things up, but that's just like saying it take more time to change lenses on one camera vs. another.

    Application speeds
    When I launch an app all the OS' - say a word processor - they all seem to come up in about the same. (e.g. Photoshop boots slow reguardless of the system)

    Browsing the internet
    Give the selection of browsers, these seems to be more about the connection speed than the OS. IE on the Mac is gone, Safari on the PC is a dud thus far, Firefox/Opera seem fine reguardless of the plateform...

    Application selection
    For my use, seems to be equal all the various OS with the noteable expection of games. Apple seems focused on bringing gaming to the platform so that might end up moot too.

    Updates/patching
    Seems to happens everywhere be it in apps or OS' and frequence is a function of penitration application/OS.

    Last year's hardware with next year's OS
    Perhiperal makes all seem to find keeping up-to-date with driver support for new OS' a chore and put it off.

    Enterprise deployment
    I don't know an OS that is easy to do large scale deployments, but granted i haven't done deployments since NeXTStep was the new up and commer and the Mac SE 30 was getting a little long in the tooth.

    Is it all really more about personal preference, or are there really differences?
    -- M.

  7. #7
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: What OS do you use?

    I am using Leopard right now successfully with CS3,Quark, C1,LR,Adobe Acrobat 7 Pro, Microsoft Office, Toast and some other programs and all seems okay. The only thing i really Lost was leica capture software for the M8 but that sucked anyway on any OS. But i am very stable now but did have a hard time getting it loaded on the desktop but the laptop was a breeze. Some RIP software is the only issue I here about.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  8. #8
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Maggie O's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Standards Are Down All Over
    Posts
    3,064
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: What OS do you use?

    Like Mike, I'll install Leopard after Canon updates its printer drivers.

  9. #9
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Terry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    6,955
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1145

    Re: What OS do you use?

    I switched to mac the week before the first iPod came out and spent that week feeding it CD's and filled that 5gb iPod right away. I was traveling a ton and the iPod was awesome.

    I've never looked back. Right about that time iPhoto was new and made digital photography so simple and that is when I really started taking pictures again. I am partially on Tiger and one laptop is on Leopard....will make the switch on the desktop soon. My older laptops don't have the clock speed or memory to upgrade so it looks like I will be living with Tiger until those machines die.

  10. #10
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    etrigan63's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Earth, Sol System (near Miami, FL)
    Posts
    2,501
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    21

    Re: What OS do you use?

    Use Vista currently (64-bit) but plan on jumping ship to Leopard in a week and a half when they announce the new Mac Pros. I need a computer I won't mess with. I review PC hardware/software on my websites.
    Carlos Echenique | Carlos Echenique Photography |Olympus OM-D E-M1 MK II | Olympus Pen-F - M.Zuiko 17mm f/1.8, M.Zuiko 25mm f/1.8, M.Zuiko 45mm f/1.8, Rokinon 12mm f/2 NCS, M.Zuiko 75mm f/1.8, M.Zuiko 12-40mm f/2.8 PRO, M.Zuiko 40-150mm f/2.8 PRO

  11. #11
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    Re: What OS do you use?

    Yep, I'm with you --- 10 days to the new Mac Pro and I'm all over it. My only concern is the cost of the new faster-bus RAM...

    Now that I've got three weeks behind me with the Macbook Pro, I have to admit there is an awful lot to like about Mac
    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

  12. #12
    Senior Member stephengilbert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Santa Monica, CA
    Posts
    2,275
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2

    Re: What OS do you use?

    I switched to a Mac about 15 months ago, and the only thing that's gone wrong is an occasional failure in my word processing program: Microsoft Word.

  13. #13
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    Re: What OS do you use?

    Quote Originally Posted by stephengilbert View Post
    I switched to a Mac about 15 months ago, and the only thing that's gone wrong is an occasional failure in my word processing program: Microsoft Word.
    You might want to try Neo-Office on the mac. It's shareware and pretty stable. A bit quirky compared to MS OFFICE, but has all of the same tools.
    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

  14. #14
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    etrigan63's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Earth, Sol System (near Miami, FL)
    Posts
    2,501
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    21

    Re: What OS do you use?

    Hopefully, this won't hurt too much. I would not be looking at a top-of-the-line system. An 8-core 2.33GHz system would be just fine for me. That processor has a FSB of 1333 and I have 4GB of FB-DIMM 667 sitting in a box, plus a 500GB SATA HD in a box for Time Machine duty. May bump up the video card and the base RAM to 4GB. I already own a Dell 30" display, Huey Pro, and other Mac compatible goodies. Plus I have an MSDN subscription which gives me access to a license of Office: Mac 2008.
    Carlos Echenique | Carlos Echenique Photography |Olympus OM-D E-M1 MK II | Olympus Pen-F - M.Zuiko 17mm f/1.8, M.Zuiko 25mm f/1.8, M.Zuiko 45mm f/1.8, Rokinon 12mm f/2 NCS, M.Zuiko 75mm f/1.8, M.Zuiko 12-40mm f/2.8 PRO, M.Zuiko 40-150mm f/2.8 PRO

  15. #15
    DougDolde
    Guest

    Re: What OS do you use?

    I went from a PC to a Macbook Pro Santa Rosa 2.2 w/ 4 gb ram last June. I would NEVER go back to Windows.

    FYI this would be a very poor time to buy a Mac Pro. They are WAY overdue for a major upgrade.

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    belgďe
    Posts
    1,492
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2

    Re: What OS do you use?

    Quote Originally Posted by DougDolde View Post
    FYI this would be a very poor time to buy a Mac Pro. They are WAY overdue for a major upgrade.
    Macworld is just around the corner...

  17. #17
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    etrigan63's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Earth, Sol System (near Miami, FL)
    Posts
    2,501
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    21

    Re: What OS do you use?

    Yes, I agree. That is why Jack and I are both waiting for Macworld and the Mac Pro updates.
    Carlos Echenique | Carlos Echenique Photography |Olympus OM-D E-M1 MK II | Olympus Pen-F - M.Zuiko 17mm f/1.8, M.Zuiko 25mm f/1.8, M.Zuiko 45mm f/1.8, Rokinon 12mm f/2 NCS, M.Zuiko 75mm f/1.8, M.Zuiko 12-40mm f/2.8 PRO, M.Zuiko 40-150mm f/2.8 PRO

  18. #18
    Subscriber Member TRSmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Central Maine, U.S.A.
    Posts
    2,406
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    9

    Re: What OS do you use?

    This year I apparently achieved some sort of milestone with Apple and they have assigned a "Business Agent" to me. I've questioned him about upcoming Mac Pros since I wanted to buy one this fiscal year and he has been very secretive about the release of the new Penryn models. He put me on a waiting list.

    When I asked him about the possible announcement of a new Mac Pro at MacWorld, he couldn't say but promised to call me from the show with an update. I'm excited, but I am also aware of how much work is involved setting up a new work station and making the transfer of all those apps and files, then getting all the kinks worked out. Still, the speed boost from my G5 dualie should be very nice.

  19. #19
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    Re: What OS do you use?

    FWIW, the business agent will have one of his gurus make the migration from your G5 to the new MacPro --- they even offered to move everything on my PC to Mac for me for free...

    Cheers,
    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

  20. #20
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Royal Oak, MI and Palm Harbor, FL
    Posts
    8,498
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    44

    Re: What OS do you use?

    I couldn't wait for the new upgrades on the Mac Pro ... or I'd lose the tax deduction I badly needed this year. But it seems like this Quad Core machine is a screamer as is, and more than I actually need for the work I do.

  21. #21
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    Re: What OS do you use?

    You know, I've been thinking from a cost-benefit standpoint, if I wait for the hot new machines I could probably then pick up a quad 2.66 MacPro for a song (well under $2000), and live quite happily with it for a few years. Hmmmmmmm.....
    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

  22. #22
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Terry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    6,955
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1145

    Re: What OS do you use?

    Quote Originally Posted by Jack Flesher View Post
    You know, I've been thinking from a cost-benefit standpoint, if I wait for the hot new machines I could probably then pick up a quad 2.66 MacPro for a song (well under $2000), and live quite happily with it for a few years. Hmmmmmmm.....
    I've sort of taken a similar route in my computer purchases. I bought a top of the line titanium powerbook (2003ish) that can't even handle Leopard today. After buying that machine and quickly running out of disk space and then having significantly faster laptops (that could also use more RAM) come out not too long after I changed my stance. Now I don't go for the top of the line. I spend less and upgrade more often (without guilt). Now my needs and processing aren't as great as yours so it may not make sense for you.

  23. #23
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    79
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: What OS do you use?

    Rule of thumb I use is each $500 spent on a system equates to six months of "life" before upgrade. Can't speak so much for Mac, but the upgrades I normally do are:
    -- Bump up 'boot drive' to 10,000 RPM
    -- Move "orignal" boot drive to 2nd drive, and add 2nd swap file there
    -- Make sure system has least 2Gigs RAM
    -- M.

  24. #24
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    Re: What OS do you use?

    Bottom line to my thinking above is, as Marc indicated, even the current Mac Pros are plenty fast with Photoshop even on large files, and Photoshop performance is the main reason I need a reasonably powerful machine --- but the current machines are still quite adequate. Sure, some of the more intensive processes will run faster on the next Mac Pro, say even 35% faster, but that means something that now takes 45 seconds to run will take 30 seconds instead. My point is for the cost savings, I can afford to give those extra 15 seconds because for me, that happens maybe 20 to 40 times at most per day, or 5 to 10 minutes... There's actually more wrong about the internal programming of Photoshop that creates larger performance bottlenecks than slower processors with lower bandwidth will.

    Got me thinking...
    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

  25. #25
    Subscriber Member TRSmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Central Maine, U.S.A.
    Posts
    2,406
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    9

    Re: What OS do you use?

    I agree that the next gen of Mac Pros is likely to include models with power beyond my needs. And that the current Mac Pros are extremely capable. I almost went with one this year, but at the last minute decided to buy the M8 and wait a month or so for the new models of Mac workstations.

    Since I'm still using a 5 year old G5 Power PC based Mac, I figure it will be worth the wait and the difference will be that much more dramatic. Since I don't do video or audio with any frequency, the middle level (if there is one) of the new Pros will be perfect for me. one thing I really look forward to is more internal drive storage.

    But again, the current models are pretty darn good.

  26. #26
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    79
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: What OS do you use?

    Heck, my cellphone is just crummy three year old job, not a new fangled ones and when I carry it in my pocket I walk knowing that I've got more computing power in my pocket than has ever been to the moon.
    -- M.

  27. #27
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: What OS do you use?

    Well I have the older Mac pro 2.66 well the current one and have 6 gbs of ram. Than a Western Digital 10k drive for the OS and you folks know how much of a gear head i can be but I agree. There is no reason for me to upgrade, this machine just flies fast enough, it really does. i highly recommend if your buying Mac the key is RAM and even my Mac Book Pro with 4gbs of Ram for a laptop is a sprinter. Personally If i did not have Pro needs or really not processing hundreds of files at a time. i would go the MacBook Pro laptop with the fastest hard drive you can get , max out the ram at 4gb and than buy a 30 inch Cinema Display and run like a desktop. If you did not look you may never know your actually running a laptop because the machine will do the job very very well. a few extra seconds will not kill you when processing. Frankly I would buy the laptop and monitor setup first than decide if you really NEED the desktop. I'm in LA doing a job and i shipped my desktop because I am doing a huge show but I could almost really do this with a laptop and that is even with shooting about 2k in images this week coming.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  28. #28
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    79
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: What OS do you use?

    With external storage, USB is convenient but it's no barn burner - and it hits the CPU for each transaction. If you have 1394 (either S400 or S800) port you can use, go that route or eSATA if you have it.
    -- M.

  29. #29
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    etrigan63's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Earth, Sol System (near Miami, FL)
    Posts
    2,501
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    21

    Re: What OS do you use?

    If you go to any Apple Store and start blathering about getting a Mac Pro, the store manager will more than likely assign you to the "business specialist" who is the only guy/gal in the store outside of the Genius Bar who knows the Mac Pro line up. I got assigned to the business specialist as well but they deflated noticeably when I told them that I was waiting for the "Harpertown refresh" of the Mac Pro line ("Harpertown" is the Intel codename for the quad core 45nm Xeon processors going the new Mac Pros). I wonder if they are going to update the case design as well? The "cheese grater" is getting a little dated. Maybe something a little more swoopy.
    Carlos Echenique | Carlos Echenique Photography |Olympus OM-D E-M1 MK II | Olympus Pen-F - M.Zuiko 17mm f/1.8, M.Zuiko 25mm f/1.8, M.Zuiko 45mm f/1.8, Rokinon 12mm f/2 NCS, M.Zuiko 75mm f/1.8, M.Zuiko 12-40mm f/2.8 PRO, M.Zuiko 40-150mm f/2.8 PRO

  30. #30
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Royal Oak, MI and Palm Harbor, FL
    Posts
    8,498
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    44

    Re: What OS do you use?

    Quote Originally Posted by MrSlezak View Post
    With external storage, USB is convenient but it's no barn burner - and it hits the CPU for each transaction. If you have 1394 (either S400 or S800) port you can use, go that route or eSATA if you have it.
    If you go with the FW800 check out Granite Digital repeater hubs and cables.

  31. #31
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    79
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: What OS do you use?

    One of the things I like about Granite Digital is that you can see who's chipset you're buying. Storage bridges can be picky sometimes...
    -- M.

  32. #32
    Subscriber Member TRSmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Central Maine, U.S.A.
    Posts
    2,406
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    9

    Re: What OS do you use?

    The new Mac Pro models are now available for order on the Apple Store site. Some nice choices for graphics cards available. Check it out!

  33. #33
    Sean_Reid
    Guest

    Re: What OS do you use?

    I'm going to pick up a Macbook Pro in the near future and if I like it I may move over to all Mac. I was a Mac guy back in the early 1990s. I actually haven't had a lot of problems with XP but the reliability of the Mac OS (reported) does appeal to me and they've certainly got the best notebooks for photographers.

    Cheers,

    Sean

  34. #34
    Senior Member Lars's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Sunnyvale, California
    Posts
    1,811
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    19

    Re: What OS do you use?

    Windows in different forms, for image processing, software development, and drum scanning.

    Vista 64-bit on the 4GB Santa Rosa Thinkpad, dual-booted with XP 32-bit for testing. VMs for testing containing XP, Vista, Win2K, Longhorn Server beta.

    Desktop is a dual-core Opteron running at 2.9 GHz, 4 GB, otherwise essentially the same configuration as the Thinkpad - Vista 64-bit dual-booted with XP, VMs with variations of Windows for testing. 18-month old system, performance is respectable but the 2.2 GHz Core 2 Duo laptop is clearly faster.

    Two older Pentium-M laptops running XP, for testing and performance profiling.

  35. #35
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    etrigan63's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Earth, Sol System (near Miami, FL)
    Posts
    2,501
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    21

    Re: What OS do you use?

    Well, I managed to get my QuadFX 3 GHz back online. Some Phenom system testing had me offline for a while. System runs Vista x64 w/4GB of RAM. FYI, there is a bug in Vista X64 that makes it unstable with 4GB of (BSODs with a STOP error). There is a patch (MS KB929277) that corrects this.

    First, pull 2GB out to stabilize the system.
    Apply all Windows Updates.
    Download patch from Microsoft (KB929277) and apply.
    Reboot.
    Enter into BIOS and make sure the following is set:
    • Set ACPI Level to 2.0
    • Set Memory Hole to Enable

    Save the settings and reboot.
    Shut the system down cleanly.
    Install the 2GB of RAM
    Restart the system.
    Carlos Echenique | Carlos Echenique Photography |Olympus OM-D E-M1 MK II | Olympus Pen-F - M.Zuiko 17mm f/1.8, M.Zuiko 25mm f/1.8, M.Zuiko 45mm f/1.8, Rokinon 12mm f/2 NCS, M.Zuiko 75mm f/1.8, M.Zuiko 12-40mm f/2.8 PRO, M.Zuiko 40-150mm f/2.8 PRO

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •