Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Which new MAC for photoshop work

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    785
    Post Thanks / Like

    Which new MAC for photoshop work

    Since loosing my computer and camera gear in a fire I now need a new MAC computer for photoshop work and printing. I'd like to use a 30" or 32" NEC monitor that i can calibrate. Can I run either of these on a new iMAC or do I need a trashcan MacPro?

  2. #2
    Senior Member DougDolde's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Joshua Tree, CA
    Posts
    393
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Which new MAC for photoshop work

    Mac Pro. No point in an iMac if you don't want the monitir

  3. #3
    Senior Member stephengilbert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Santa Monica, CA
    Posts
    2,229
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2

    Re: Which new MAC for photoshop work

    You don't need a Mac Pro. You can run an additional monitor off an iMac. (See iMac dual monitor setup - Connect an external monitor to your iMac | alvinalexander.com)

    Apple have apparently concluded that the trashcan Mac Pro was a bit off course, and announced that a new "rethought," "professional" computer will replace it, but not this year. (https://daringfireball.net/2017/04/the_mac_pro_lives)
    Last edited by stephengilbert; 6th April 2017 at 15:25.

  4. #4
    Subscriber and Workshop Member MGrayson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,549
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    4

    Re: Which new MAC for photoshop work

    I use an iMac5K with 48GB RAM, 1TB SSD, and a second NEC monitor. It works quite well for LR, PS, and C1. The SSD is VERY fast, and my photos are on an external 20TB thunderbolt RAID. I think it's the best Mac setup for photo work. The Mac Pros excel at video.

    --Matt
    mattgraysonphoto.com
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  5. #5
    Subscriber Member Jorgen Udvang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Pratamnak
    Posts
    9,062
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2086

    Re: Which new MAC for photoshop work

    If you only need one monitor, I'd buy the trash can. It's kind of old tech, but powerful old tech and it doesn't waste much space on your desk. It also has more holes on the back for external hardware than the iMac. They just reduced the price, didn't they?

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    145
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Which new MAC for photoshop work

    Apparently the "trash can" is being updated:
    https://www.cnet.com/news/apple-upda...esigned-model/
    Phil

  7. #7
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    iiiNelson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Texas/California/North Carolina
    Posts
    3,107
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Which new MAC for photoshop work

    If you can wait there's a rumored iMac Pro... otherwise MacBook Pro or iMac will do.
    Priolite Ambassador | Sony Visible Light & IR Photographer
    http://www.iiinelsonimages.com

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    36
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Which new MAC for photoshop work

    Quote Originally Posted by Jorgen Udvang View Post
    If you only need one monitor, I'd buy the trash can. It's kind of old tech, but powerful old tech and it doesn't waste much space on your desk. It also has more holes on the back for external hardware than the iMac. They just reduced the price, didn't they?

    The "Trash Can" Mac Pro will drive up to six monitors nicely!
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  9. #9
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    k-hawinkler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    The "Land of Enchantment"
    Posts
    3,070
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Which new MAC for photoshop work

    Quote Originally Posted by rriley View Post
    The "Trash Can" Mac Pro will drive up to six monitors nicely!
    I use my "Trash Can" Mac Pro (6 CPUs, max memory and max internal "SSD") with 2 displays and lots of external storage devices (actually 16 eSATA connections via adapters).

    One is a fairly new Dell 4K display, the other a 10 year Apple Cinema Display that still works. I use the 4K for image editing, the other one when I need text to be a bit larger.
    With best regards, K-H.

  10. #10
    Senior Member stngoldberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    newport, RI
    Posts
    710
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    12

    Re: Which new MAC for photoshop work

    I have a fully loaded Trash Can with dual monitors including an Ezio self calibrated monitor. The speed and storage are ideal for still photography
    Stanley
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  11. #11
    Senior Member DougDolde's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Joshua Tree, CA
    Posts
    393
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Which new MAC for photoshop work

    I have the trash can with 1TBb SSD and 32 GB of ram. It's fine for IQ180 files
    with one exception. Using Topaz Lab's Impression plug in on these
    filed brings it to a crawl. Jumpy or frozen cursor, can't multitask when it's computing

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •