The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

New 5K Imac plus storage question

bomzi

Does anyone have thoughts or experiences to share on the new 5K Imac screens?

I'm an architectural photographer and have been working off a late 2009 Imac for the last 7 years. The computer runs just fine, although quite slow, but I'm running out of storage despite the cd drive with a second internal hard drive. So I figured that this is a good time as any for an upgrade.

My thought and budget are sending me towards the new Imac's, rather than the Mac Pro with a separate monitor, but I'm curious about people's thoughts on the new screens. Color accuracy is of course important. I use ColorMunki to profile my current display and it seems to work fine.

Also, on the storage front, I was thinking of some sort of RAID array with a second large hard drive for backup. Would anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks in advance.

Randhir

jduncan

Does anyone have thoughts or experiences to share on the new 5K Imac screens?

I'm an architectural photographer and have been working off a late 2009 Imac for the last 7 years. The computer runs just fine, although quite slow, but I'm running out of storage despite the cd drive with a second internal hard drive. So I figured that this is a good time as any for an upgrade.

My thought and budget are sending me towards the new Imac's, rather than the Mac Pro with a separate monitor, but I'm curious about people's thoughts on the new screens. Color accuracy is of course important. I use ColorMunki to profile my current display and it seems to work fine.