Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: computer for scanning

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    764
    Post Thanks / Like

    computer for scanning

    Okay I have a ton of slides to scan. My music agency died and no new agency will scan. I have a nikon coolscan 5000 with a stack loader. I want to dedicate one computer to scanning these slides. It will be a mac either an imac or ibook either with an intel chip . I am thinking of getting a refub from apple. I have a mac pro for my main computer and want to have that avaible for my printing and day to day work. I have a macbookpro which I need for my every day to day work so which would be a better computer for the scanner a late model ibook or a late imac. PS I will be writing these scans to an external HD David
    Last edited by dseelig; 9th May 2009 at 19:45.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    383
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: computer for scanning

    A very similar condition here. I have tons of slides and negative to scan and my scanner is Minolta 5400. I have noticed that the resultant tiff image per scan is 200 Mb so the main concern for me is a dedicated computer with tons of harddisk

  3. #3
    Senior Member viablex1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    1,461
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: computer for scanning

    is that 200megs for a 35mm frame?

  4. #4
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    Re: computer for scanning

    Most scanners have a relatively slow interface, so you do not need a lot of processing horsepower. Your 5000 is FW400 I believe? Thus, even an older MacPro, like a dual 2.66, would be more than adequate as a dedicated station. A relatively good video card and decent monitor and profile will help with the color tweaks. I would bet you can find a good used dual 2.66 for around $1200.

    The other advantage is you could also use this box as your image server. It has GigLan onboard, so load it up with SATA drives -- it will take 4 drives native -- scan directly to the drives, and simply network the box via a simple net hub.
    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •