Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Snow leopard and C1 Version 4.8.2 from Phase

  1. #1
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Snow leopard and C1 Version 4.8.2 from Phase

    Just saw this and thought I would post this right away. Seems like Henry was fine with instal but just in case

    This comes from Phase One

    KNOWLEDGEBASE ARTICLE

    Article ID 2271
    Summary Mac OS 10.6 Snow Leopard compatiblity with Capture One 4.8.2
    Problem Is Capture One 4.8.2 comaptible with Mac OS 10.6 Snow Leopard?
    Solution No it is not, next release beyond 4.8.2 will be, mean while we can provide the following workaround:

    When starting Capture One for the first time on Snow Leopard (if software has not been activated or session file exist on the computer),
    If you try to go into either Standard or Pro trial mode as the first action it will crash. It will continue crashing every time you try to start the application, after the License window is dismissed.

    To get around this you must first go to DB mode so that the Session file can be initialized, and then back into Trial mode. So, to break it down into easy steps:

    1. Install Snow Leopard.
    2. Start CO. In the License dialog choose "Use Capture One DB", and click the "Use" button.
    3. Capture One will crash. This is unavoidable. Restart it - you will start in DB mode, without seeing the License dialog.
    4. Go to the Capture One->License... menu item. Choose "Try Capture One Pro" (or whichever trial mode is desired), and click "Try".
    5. Capture One will relaunch, and start in Trial mode.
    6. There will be an error message about being unable to verify the license code, every time you start in Trial mode. Ignore this.

    Notes: Switching from Standard trial to Pro trial does not relaunch, and always starts in the original mode, always requiring another prelaunch.
    You must switch to DB and then to the other trial mode to change.

    You can activate the software with your product key, this works without any issues.
    Other known issues are:

    Non-image (or unsupported image) files appear in the browser. To see this in action, simply browse to the Preferences folder - all the plists are visible.

    Process progress bar in the Process Summary tool has corrupted graphics.










    Last updated August 28, 2009
    This article applies to the following categories
    Operating System:
    Mac OS 10.6.x Snow Leopard
    Software:
    Capture One 4.x
    Capture One 4.x DB
    Capture One 4.x PRO
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  2. #2
    Subscriber robsteve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,202
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    496

    Re: Snow leopard and C1 Version 4.8.2 from Phase

    Guy:

    To start in DB mode, do you have to have a Phase back tethered?

    In other words, for those of us using C1 that don't have Phase One backs, will this workaround work?

    Robert

  3. #3
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Snow leopard and C1 Version 4.8.2 from Phase

    To find your product key go to Phase one and log onto your account than go to License management and write down you License code . I just did it myself so when I load it up I will have it ready

    http://www.phaseone.com/
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  4. #4
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Snow leopard and C1 Version 4.8.2 from Phase

    Quote Originally Posted by robsteve View Post
    Guy:

    To start in DB mode, do you have to have a Phase back tethered?

    In other words, for those of us using C1 that don't have Phase One backs, will this workaround work?

    Robert
    I think so Robert but let me tag Doug to be sure
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  5. #5
    Subscriber Member TRSmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Central Maine, U.S.A.
    Posts
    2,406
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    9

    Re: Snow leopard and C1 Version 4.8.2 from Phase

    Does this problem exist ONLY for users in Trial (or demo) mode?

  6. #6
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Snow leopard and C1 Version 4.8.2 from Phase

    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  7. #7
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,275
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    7

    Re: Snow leopard and C1 Version 4.8.2 from Phase

    Capture Integrationís general guidance (whether you shoot Phase, Canon, Nikon, or anything else, is to avoid using Operating Systems immediately upon their release on any production computer. As with any update large-or-small to a production computer we recommend you proceed only when 1) it is clear that there are no major bugs 2) you have a backup of a known-good state and 3) you have several hours to thoroughly test the new system. While Snow Leopard seems on-the-surface to be a minor OS update there are ALWAYS issues with new OS. We will be doing our own hands-on testing of Snow Leopard in the coming weeks and will report on this blog our findings. However, we know that some of you will want to try out this operating system.

    So here is an initial report on Capture One 4.8.2 and Snow Leopard. It is not compatible; it has bugs; however, it is usable with the use of a workaround.

    For full details please see our blog entry: http://www.captureintegration.com/2009/08/...e-one-and-10-6/

    We have an RSS Feed which covers this sort of news update. We also have a free giveaway-lotto of a Cambo Wide DS and Capture One license this month which you can enter only if you subscribe to the RSS (an RSS update is pushed out to you by the end of the month with details of how to enter).

    Doug Peterson (e-mail Me)
    __________________
    Head of Technical Services, Capture Integration
    Phase One, Leaf, Canon, Apple, Profoto, Eizo & More
    National: 877.217.9870 | Cell: 740.707.2183
    Newsletter: Read Latest or Sign Up

  8. #8
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,275
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    7

    Re: Snow leopard and C1 Version 4.8.2 from Phase

    Quote Originally Posted by robsteve View Post
    Guy:

    To start in DB mode, do you have to have a Phase back tethered?

    In other words, for those of us using C1 that don't have Phase One backs, will this workaround work?

    Robert
    You do NOT need a Phase One back to use this workaround.

    Quote Originally Posted by TRSmith View Post
    Does this problem exist ONLY for users in Trial (or demo) mode?
    I do not have Snow Leopard yet (probably this weekend as a dual boot for testing). However, my reading of this article (along with generic background knowledge) indicate that the problem is with the activation which will be required when you first launch in Snow Leopard regardless of whether the software was installed/activated in Leopard.

    IOW: it exists for any user launching Snow Leopard for the first time.

  9. #9
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Snow leopard and C1 Version 4.8.2 from Phase

    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  10. #10
    Senior Member stephengilbert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Santa Monica, CA
    Posts
    2,275
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2

    Re: Snow leopard and C1 Version 4.8.2 from Phase

    Thanks Doug. Now I have a reason to be patient about installing Snow leopard. Otherwise, who knows what I might have done.

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,347
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    12

    Re: Snow leopard and C1 Version 4.8.2 from Phase

    I've installed SL over OS 10.5 with all applications on a separate drive.
    C1 starts without flaws - no trouble with DB-mode/Pro-mode or so.
    As mentioned the browser shows all kind of files. Some graphics are displayed a bit strange but nothing serious (process bar is dotted and the color wheel in the color editor has a grey square as background). Everything else seems to work fine.

    I have one (more or less serious) bug:
    If you set the output to "embed camera profile" and set the proof profile to "selected recipe" C1 is unable to match colours or to render the preview in full resolution.
    You have to set the proof profile to your monitor profile - in this particular case that's okay as input and output profile are the same; so you translate the camera profile directly to the monitor profile.

    Single Core Applications (Photoshop...) take effect of Multicore/Multithreading with SL. By now Photoshop has been utilizing one (on Nehalem Macs two) thread(s). On SL "menu meters" shows that all 8 (16) cores are active. This does not apply to all plugins, of course. But to all actual Photoshop operations. So SL indeed speed up things. The computer is overall more responsive (as far as I can tell by now).

  12. #12
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Snow leopard and C1 Version 4.8.2 from Phase

    Thomas thanks all the stuff I have noticed as well PS is faster and actually so is C1 and the one bug I did not catch yet is the embedded camera profile one. Have to try this out
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,347
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    12

    Re: Snow leopard and C1 Version 4.8.2 from Phase

    Quote Originally Posted by Guy Mancuso View Post
    Thomas thanks all the stuff I have noticed as well PS is faster and actually so is C1 and the one bug I did not catch yet is the embedded camera profile one. Have to try this out
    you're welcome.
    I think the camera profile bug shouldn't bother you as long as you process to AdobeRGB, ProPhotoRGB or whatever. I process to the camera profiles all the time so it was obvious for me right from the first start of C1.

  14. #14
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Snow leopard and C1 Version 4.8.2 from Phase

    Yea I go right into ProPhoto
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,347
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    12

    Re: Snow leopard and C1 Version 4.8.2 from Phase

    C1 on SL doesn't show the color tags. You can tag the images and sort by color tags and if you right click on the thumbnails you'' even see the check mark of the color tag - you just don't see the color square on the thumbnails.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •