Site Sponsors

Thread: Framing for a gallery exhibit

Post Thanks / Like

Framing for a gallery exhibit

Let's assume for the moment that I'm pretty much without clue (good assumption...), how would you mat and frame prints for a solo gallery show?

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Framing for a gallery exhibit

Doug I have been asking the same questions of a few of my PJ friends. I have always used the products from Light Impressions and framed with simple matted archival products. Simple black metal frames with museum quality white mats . I compared these to whats used at the Leica Gallery in NYC and the one in Palm Beach at the Palm Beach Workshop gallery. This seems to be the standard...some differences.. Some prefer black wood frames and there are differences in glass or plastic coverings.

The Light Impressions catalog is a good reference with plenty of examples and how to information.

Post Thanks / Like
    Images

What Roger said.

I have been framing for display for several years, and after several different iterations I have found the best combination to be white mats and thin black aluminum frames.

Now, there is still a BUNCH of options here. Single versus Double mat. For myself, I prefer double-mats, but for a show, I generally keep it to a simple single mat. In single, do you want to us 4-ply or 8-ply? I like the look of single 8-ply, but it's a PITA to cut.

Now you have one more hurdle -- there are a a variety of "white" mat colors. Do you want bright white, brilliant white, very white, glacier white, white, warm white or antique white? You do want to use archival rag mat, but then there is textured surface and smooth surface. Museum board comes in fewer whites, and is smooth surfaced and harder than conventional rag mat -- it in "very" white what I finally settled on. However, some of the options with slightly textured surfaces do look more "artistic" to my eye.