Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: C1 4.7 -> 4.8.3

  1. #1
    nautilus
    Guest

    C1 4.7 -> 4.8.3

    I'm using C1 4.7 for windows. One free upgrade is left.

    I would use this upgrade either when a new camera that I will buy in the future will be supported or if improvements in image processing or camera presets are included.

    Are there improvements in the current vers. 4.8.3 for Sony Alpha 700?

  2. #2
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: C1 4.7 -> 4.8.3

    May want to wait until the end of the month Version 5 is coming out. Lot's of new features
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,347
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    12

    Re: C1 4.7 -> 4.8.3

    4.7 to 4.8.3 IMHO is not an upgrade but a free update...?

  4. #4
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,275
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    7

    Re: C1 4.7 -> 4.8.3

    Correct as always thomas!

    Changes after the "." are updates and are always free to those who own that version.
    Changes before the "." are upgrades and are either free or paid depending on the number of free upgrades you have remaining.

    In other words for you starting at 4.7 all the 4.X versions are free. Capture One 5 is an upgrade and will use up your remaining "free upgrades" but will include any 5.X versions.

    So do it! Just make sure to uninstall 4.7 before installing 4.8.3 for best results:
    http://www.phaseone.com/HOME/Content...ite%20-%20Main

    I don't think you'll see any changes specific to the Sony, but you will find many small neat features as well as better speed and stability.

    Doug Peterson (e-mail Me)
    __________________
    Head of Technical Services, Capture Integration
    Phase One, Leaf, Canon, Apple, Profoto, Eizo & More
    National: 877.217.9870 *| *Cell: 740.707.2183
    Newsletter: Read Latest or Sign Up
    RSS Feed: Subscribe

  5. #5
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Terry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    6,955
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1145

    Re: C1 4.7 -> 4.8.3

    Doug - the installed base of Panasonic cameras is growing and it includes some VERY dedicated C1 users. I think it is time for Phase to go back and rethink their policy given these new cameras don't have Leica counterparts.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,347
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    12

    Re: C1 4.7 -> 4.8.3

    Quote Originally Posted by TEBnewyork View Post
    Doug - the installed base of Panasonic cameras is growing and it includes some VERY dedicated C1 users. I think it is time for Phase to go back and rethink their policy given these new cameras don't have Leica counterparts.
    First they should fix the remaining bugs and incorporate new features before they add support for every camera... IMHO

  7. #7
    nautilus
    Guest

    Re: C1 4.7 -> 4.8.3

    That's like unexpected christmas. A new version 5 with new features.
    Thanks for that information.

    Speed and stability of the software is already good enough for me. It has never crashed and I will skip version 4.8.3.

    Thanks Doug for explaining the situation about differences between updates, upgrades, free and and not free software so precisely.

    I was always a bit unsure about this since I started with the free SanDisk bundled software 3.x, got version 4 for free and now I will get version 5 for free as well. That memory card was a good investment indeed.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    176
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: C1 4.7 -> 4.8.3

    When I went from C1 3.x LE ( got it with M8 ) to C1 3.x was it counted as upgrade or update? How many upgrades in total are allowed for C1 3.x LE users? I have since upgraded from C1 3 to C1 4. If I want to go for C1 5 from C1 4 will it be free or paid upgrade?
    Phil

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Bath, U.K.
    Posts
    148
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: C1 4.7 -> 4.8.3

    i went from 3.x LE to 4 also with a free upgrade but that is it...no more freegrades to get to 5 for me..should have bought a cf card instead of the software!
    As others have pointed out elsewhere you can check how many upgrades you have left by checking on the license panel in your software....capture one / license.

    Marc

  10. #10
    nautilus
    Guest

    Re: C1 4.7 -> 4.8.3

    Something is wrong with activations:
    I tried to activate C1-5. I couldn't activate the new software but the message on the PC menue was: license ok, went to website.
    Website info showed:
    free upgrades left: one
    activations left: 0, with history information about old computers

    I deactivated my license and now it shows: 1 upgrade left, activations left 2
    BUT: now on PC: the window says surprisingly that with my activation code no further free upgrades ('Aktualisierungen') are possible.

    Tried to start C1- V4 now. Because I deactivated the license I can only run it in test mode. Shocking.

    BUT: I could activate V4 again and it runs in the licensed mode again.

    What I see is that allthough I have one ugrade free according to the website info and 2 activations free it's not possble to use my license for C1 Vers5.

    I lost nothing but 15 minutes to find it out. But the information given in this thread is wrong. Phase One closed the doors against their own rules. The website clearly says 1 upgrade free and not 1 update free.
    I don't think that I will buy the product under such circumstances.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •