Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: PS plugins on Win7 64 bits?

  1. #1
    Senior Member Rawfa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Rio de Janeiro
    Posts
    2,393
    Post Thanks / Like

    PS plugins on Win7 64 bits?

    I've just upgraded to windows 7 ultimate 64 bits and after installing Photoshop CS4 none of the plug-ins I used to have are there anymore even though I've reinstalled them. To name a few I have Alien Skin, Nik and so forth. They do work if I open PS x86. Does anyone know if there's a way around this?

  2. #2
    Subscriber Member Corlan F.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    1,433
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    381

    Re: PS plugins on Win7 64 bits?

    Quote Originally Posted by Rawfa View Post
    I've just upgraded to windows 7 ultimate 64 bits and after installing Photoshop CS4 none of the plug-ins I used to have are there anymore even though I've reinstalled them. To name a few I have Alien Skin, Nik and so forth. They do work if I open PS x86. Does anyone know if there's a way around this?
    Don't know about W7, but in XP64b there's apparently no way around.

    You launch PS4 64b if you want access to the full memory, and PS x86 if you need any non-64b plug-in. Including Nik, Alien Skin...

    Hopefully the plug-ins should be upgraded soon (at a cost, no doubt... ).

    Maybe some Windows 64-bit wizard (Carlos?) knows a way around, though... but there again, i doubt it.

  3. #3
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Gilroy, California
    Posts
    93
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    4

    Re: PS plugins on Win7 64 bits?

    Hi ,

    I use Vista 64 and had the same problem with multiple plugins. I contacted a number of the software companies and was told that the plugins would need to be re-written.

    What I did was install 32-bit CS4 into Vistax64, which then ran the plugins without difficulty. If this worked on XP64 for Corlan and me for Vistax64, I agree it might be worth trying on W7.

    Thanks, steve

  4. #4
    Senior Member Rawfa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Rio de Janeiro
    Posts
    2,393
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: PS plugins on Win7 64 bits?

    I've checked out Nik's website and it states that his software at the moment does not support 64bits. It's a bit of a hassle to process the raw files on PS 64b and then apply the plug-ins on PS 34b

  5. #5
    Subscriber Member Corlan F.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    1,433
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    381

    Re: PS plugins on Win7 64 bits?

    Quote Originally Posted by Rawfa View Post
    I've checked out Nik's website and it states that his software at the moment does not support 64bits. It's a bit of a hassle to process the raw files on PS 64b and then apply the plug-ins on PS 34b
    Look at the bright side of things: using PS x86 you still enjoy a lot more available memory than on a Windows 32b OS, roughly 3.3MB effective dedicated RAM... that's a 50% to 100% bonus over 32b OS (even though they display more).

    In my experience it's enough to deal with pretty large files. Of course we'd all love to use the full available memory. It'll come in time...

    Knowing that RAM is only part of the equation: processor, scratch disk speed and size (and OpenGL cards in a lesser way) are really critical for improving performance.

    And you can always launch PS 64b for a particular work session on extremely large files.

    (never had to, really)

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    West Coast of Canada
    Posts
    126
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: PS plugins on Win7 64 bits?

    CS4 will have installed the 32-bit and 64-bit versions automatically. I use the 64-bit version of Vista. (12GB's of triple channel RAM is fun!)

    NIK plugins will not work (yet) in the 64-bit version. I have been in contact with them on several occassions and they have something in the works but nothing yet. Same thing for OnOne plugins...

    That said, most of Topaz Labs plugins (I own them all) work well and are written for the 64-bit version. They are fast and stable. Neat Image 64-bit is great, VERY fast. There are a number of other plugins that work in 64-bit mode...it's just a matter of time for them all to catch up.

    Yes, I am a plugin junkie...by the way, it's not a plugin but if you enjoy doing panoramic stitching check out Autopano Pro2. They have a 64-bit version and it is absolutely smokin' fast, it also can utilize the GPS like CS4.
    Neil

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •