Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Capture One 5 Demands on Computer

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    196
    Post Thanks / Like

    Capture One 5 Demands on Computer

    Capture One 4.8.3 runs perfectly on my iMac under OSX10.6.
    Does any one who is testing a beta know whether COne 5 will force me to buy a new machine?

    maurice

  2. #2
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,275
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    7

    Re: Capture One 5 Demands on Computer

    No. If anything it should run faster.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Tucson, the other Arizona
    Posts
    136
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    6

    Re: Capture One 5 Demands on Computer

    Quote Originally Posted by dougpetersonci View Post
    No. If anything it should run faster.
    What are the expected minimum requirements, Doug?

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,347
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    12

    Re: Capture One 5 Demands on Computer

    Quote Originally Posted by Mark_Tuttle View Post
    What are the expected minimum requirements, Doug?
    System requirements
    Capture One 5 may run on other and older equipment than what’s listed below but to ensure the best possible results we recommend that your computer at minimum conforms to the following specifications:
    Microsoft® Windows®:
    • Intel® Pentium® 4 or better
    • 2 GB of RAM
    • 10 GB of free hard disk space
    • Calibrated color monitor with 1280 x 800, 24 bit resolution at 96dpi screen ruling
    • Windows XP® SP3, Windows Vista® SP2, Windows 7®.
    • Microsoft® .NET Framework version 3.5
    • A PDF reader is needed to access the help file

    Apple® Macintosh®:
    • Intel-based Mac
    • 2 GB of RAM
    • 10 GB of free hard disk space
    • Calibrated color monitor with 1280 x 800, 24 bit resolution at 96dpi screen ruling
    • Mac OS X 10.6, 10.5.8 or later

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    196
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One 5 Demands on Computer

    Thanks for the information
    regards
    maurice

  6. #6
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Knorp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    4,002
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One 5 Demands on Computer

    Hi there,

    A minimum of 2Gb of free RAM seems to be fair, but I'm considering an iMac and wonder what total amount of RAM is recommended for running C1 (or LR) smoothly. Any suggestions ?

    Thank you.
    Bart ...

  7. #7
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    jonoslack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    East Anglia & Cornwall (UK)
    Posts
    11,778
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: Capture One 5 Demands on Computer

    Quote Originally Posted by Knorp View Post
    Hi there,

    A minimum of 2Gb of free RAM seems to be fair, but I'm considering an iMac and wonder what total amount of RAM is recommended for running C1 (or LR) smoothly. Any suggestions ?

    Thank you.
    Hi Bart
    If you're considering an iMac, then you should put 4gb RAM in it (don't most of them come with four anyway). Not just for C1, but because it's cheap and useful and there's no reason not to.

    I'm using 4 at the moment, but the minute 8 is reasonably priced, then I'll be there!

    Just this guy you know

  8. #8
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Knorp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    4,002
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One 5 Demands on Computer

    Quote Originally Posted by jonoslack View Post
    Hi Bart
    If you're considering an iMac, then you should put 4gb RAM in it (don't most of them come with four anyway). Not just for C1, but because it's cheap and useful and there's no reason not to.

    I'm using 4 at the moment, but the minute 8 is reasonably priced, then I'll be there!
    Thank you Jono !
    As there is no M9 'titanium' to be expected real soon , now is the best time for me to get Bill swapped for Steve . The new iMac will come with 4Gb standard (for just €180 more even 8Gb) and of course quad-core cpu and a 27" LED-backlit panel ...

    Glad C1v5 is not demanding more 'power' though.
    Thank you Maurice for bringing this up

    All the best.
    Bart ...

  9. #9
    dmcnickle
    Guest

    Re: Capture One 5 Demands on Computer

    When is C1 5 going to be released? I just bought C1 Pro 4 a few weeks ago.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    196
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One 5 Demands on Computer

    Bert,
    I have the last of the iMac's with the matte screen and have decided to wait until either Apple delivers the same kind of screen or get an Eizo screen and a Mac Pro.
    Profiling the screens with glossy cover (i1Pro) can be a problem, and I don't want to take the risk. In Mokum, Chris Marx at sColor Marx can give excellent advice.
    Maurice

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    196
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One 5 Demands on Computer

    As far as I know tomorrow, 28 oct
    maurice

  12. #12
    tonyroth
    Guest

    Re: Capture One 5 Demands on Computer

    Guy -- given that CI5 is being released in a few hours, can you give us any insight into your experience with the beta? Apologies if you have addressed this elsewhere and I have missed it. Thanks, tony.

  13. #13
    jjlphoto
    Guest

    Re: Capture One 5 Demands on Computer

    RAW processors get most of their oomph from your computers processors themselves. But if you intend to do Photoshop editing while CO is working in the background, you obviously need much much more than the recommended 2GB. It's almost like you want to figure out what your Photoshop RAM requirements are, then add the CO 2GB recommendation onto that.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •