Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Colorchecker Passport bug workaround

  1. #1
    Senior Member bradhusick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Seattle, WA USA
    Posts
    2,498
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    53

    Colorchecker Passport bug workaround

    I was frustrated by the new Colorchecker Passport software - it wouldn't open any DNG file exported with Lightroom. There's a bug in the xrite software that can be worked around by saving the DNG file as version 4.6 and later. You can find it in the export dialog under "File Settings, Compatibility". The default is "Camera Raw 5.4 and later" - click it and choose "Camera Raw 4.6 and later" and the xrite software will open it and profile it just fine.

    And it works really well.

    Hope this helps.
    -Brad


  2. #2
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Terry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    6,955
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1145

    Re: Colorchecker Passport bug workaround

    Brad,
    I've written to xrite support and subsequently sent them sample GF1 file. It won't profile them from Lightroom throught the plug in. Created profiles for a couple of other files just fine.

  3. #3
    RachelKuzmik
    Guest

    Re: Colorchecker Passport bug workaround

    Hello, I am the lead technical support for the ColorChecker Passport. There is a known recognition issue with the ColorChecker Passport software and DNG 2.0 files. This will be addressed in an upcoming software revision. The workaround from Brad will work in the meantime.

    To contact us for further assistance, go to www.xrite.com > My X-Rite and log on to create a web case.

  4. #4
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Terry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    6,955
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1145

    Re: Colorchecker Passport bug workaround

    Rachel,
    Welcome to the forum and thanks for the update. I've checked the x-rite website regularly to see if there is a new software download. I assume that is what we should be on the lookout for. What would be great is a post from you when the new software is released.

    Thanks,
    Terry

  5. #5
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Ithaca, NY
    Posts
    3,541
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Colorchecker Passport bug workaround

    The only way I can make a profile for the G1 or GF1 is to first export a dng file (CR 4.6 or later) out of LR and the use the desktop app to make the profile. Does not work inside of LR 2.6. Starts to generate a profile and then fails with a warning that couldn't find the crop lines. Same file works fine when dropped on the desktop app, Seems to be a bug in the plugin for LR.

    Edit: I found that if I first export a dng file of the raw target from LR and then re-import that dng and run the dng through the plugin it works, but very slow compared to desktop app. Seems to be a problem with the plugin using the rw2 raw files from within LR.
    Last edited by scho; 22nd December 2009 at 13:34. Reason: workaround

  6. #6
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Terry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    6,955
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1145

    Re: Colorchecker Passport bug workaround

    Carl,
    That's why I was asking Terry Cioni his precise GF1 steps in this thread.....

    http://forum.getdpi.com/forum/showthread.php?t=10879

  7. #7
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Ithaca, NY
    Posts
    3,541
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Colorchecker Passport bug workaround

    Quote Originally Posted by TEBnewyork View Post
    Carl,
    That's why I was asking Terry Cioni his precise GF1 steps in this thread.....

    http://forum.getdpi.com/forum/showthread.php?t=10879
    Terry,
    I wonder if he was converting his raw target images to dng files outside of LR and then importing the dng files into LR. That is the only way I've been able to make the plugin generate a profile from a G file.
    Carl

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •