Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 22 of 22

Thread: Capture One 5.0.1 is released

  1. #1
    Administrator Bob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Prescott, Arizona
    Posts
    4,492
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    367

    Capture One 5.0.1 is released

    http://xchange.phaseone.com/Content/Downloads/CO5.aspx

    Capture One 5.0.1 includes:
    Metadata improvements including preservation of GPS information
    EIP related improvements
    Additional keyboard shortcuts
    Support for older AMD CPUs
    Improved image quality
    o Leaf Aptus II 5,6,7,10, Canon 7D SRaw and Olympus E-P1
    Improved stability and memory handling
    Fixed issue occurring when switching between trial versions of Capture One 5 and Capture
    One 5 PRO.
    Focus tool included in Capture One 5 for Windows
    Added camera support
    o Panasonic G1, GH1, GF1
    o Olympus E-P2
    Other improvements and bug fixes

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,347
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    12

    Re: Capture One 5.0.1 is released

    Quote Originally Posted by Bob View Post
    Additional keyboard shortcuts
    zoom in/out isn't working as it is supposed to.
    In the Beta of 5.0.1 they are working correctly.


  3. #3
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    Re: Capture One 5.0.1 is released

    Yeah, but on the updside it seems even more stable AND releases RAM faster
    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

  4. #4
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Capture One 5.0.1 is released

    From the beta Jack. Yet to download the real deal yet
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  5. #5
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    Re: Capture One 5.0.1 is released

    Quote Originally Posted by Guy Mancuso View Post
    From the beta Jack. Yet to download the real deal yet
    No, the official release seems to release RAM faster than the 5.0.1 beta and is more stable on my 8-core MacPro...
    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Kimberley B.C. Canada
    Posts
    118
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One 5.0.1 is released

    Hello everyone,
    I installed Capture one 5.0.1 , I am impressed with the quality and versatility of this software.

    Could someone comment on which version to purchase, the regular (cheaper) or the Pro version.

    I don't get paid for photography (anymore) , purely amateur or hobby photography.

    Thanks

    Peter

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    332
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    28

    Re: Capture One 5.0.1 is released

    Peter,

    It depends on which camera(s) you are using and whether you shoot tethered.
    Personally, I've been using the Pro version and thoroughly love this converter.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,347
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    12

    Re: Capture One 5.0.1 is released

    Quote Originally Posted by Jack Flesher View Post
    Yeah, but on the updside it seems even more stable AND releases RAM faster
    beside some minor bugs stability and speed have not been an issue since 4.7 on my machine. So I don't really care about improvements in this regard (though appreciated).
    But local copy/apply, keyboard shortcuts and other workflow improvements speed up things significantly. Of course only if the shortcuts are working.
    I'm stunned that such a simple and basic feature is working perfectly and with great responsiveness in a Beta but isn't working anymore in the final release. That's just sloppy work.
    I stick with 5.0.1 Beta.

  9. #9
    selsoe
    Guest

    Re: Capture One 5.0.1 is released

    Quote Originally Posted by thomas View Post
    zoom in/out isn't working as it is supposed to.
    In the Beta of 5.0.1 they are working correctly.

    It works fine here. Could you be more specific?

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,347
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    12

    Re: Capture One 5.0.1 is released

    Quote Originally Posted by selsoe View Post
    It works fine here. Could you be more specific?
    zoom in jumps to 100% and zoom out to "to fit".
    but zoom in should go in steps from "to fit" to 17%, 25%, 33%, 50%, 67%, 100%... and zoom out backwards.

    Edit: it's not just a problem of the shortcuts. It's the same when you go to view->viewer zoom->zoom in.
    Are you working on Windows? On Windows the commands and shortcuts have been there since the first release of V4...
    Last edited by thomas; 24th November 2009 at 02:01.

  11. #11
    selsoe
    Guest

    Re: Capture One 5.0.1 is released

    Quote Originally Posted by thomas View Post
    zoom in jumps to 100% and zoom out to "to fit".
    but zoom in should go in steps from "to fit" to 17%, 25%, 33%, 50%, 67%, 100%... and zoom out backwards.

    Edit: it's not just a problem of the shortcuts. It's the same when you go to view->viewer zoom->zoom in.
    Are you working on Windows? On Windows the commands and shortcuts have been there since the first release of V4...
    I'm on Mac. I see the problem now.

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Kimberley B.C. Canada
    Posts
    118
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One 5.0.1 is released

    Quote Originally Posted by Henry Goh View Post
    Peter,

    It depends on which camera(s) you are using and whether you shoot tethered.
    Personally, I've been using the Pro version and thoroughly love this converter.
    Thanks Henry,

    I have only Panasonic MFT equipment, G1 GF1 and lenses, I sold all my "heavy" stuff.

    I have Aperture (useless for Panasonic MFT) LR 2.6 and using LR 3 beta .

    From what I have experienced with C1 v5.0.1 , I like it far better than the previous 2 programs, however, I am not sure that I need the pro version.

    Best Regards

    Peter

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    332
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    28

    Re: Capture One 5.0.1 is released

    Peter,
    if that is the case, just get the non-pro version.

  14. #14
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Capture One 5.0.1 is released

    Wow it's much faster processing and I mean by a lot on my MBP. It counts also. I dropped from 23 seconds to 12 or 13 on full rez files. This is smoking, need someone to confirm.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    332
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    28

    Re: Capture One 5.0.1 is released

    Quote Originally Posted by Guy Mancuso View Post
    Wow it's much faster processing and I mean by a lot on my MBP. It counts also. I dropped from 23 seconds to 12 or 13 on full rez files. This is smoking, need someone to confirm.

    Guy,

    it is definitely faster. I was very surprised to see the previews coming up so quickly. I think C1 is getting close to ideal. Just need them to finish up SPOTTING tool, better IPTC parsing and I'd be quite happy.

  16. #16
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Capture One 5.0.1 is released

    Thanks Henry I thought I was having flashbacks from the 70's . LOL

    It's at least 40 percent faster maybe more
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  17. #17
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Capture One 5.0.1 is released

    Wow this really made my day , i can't tell you how important this is to me.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  18. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Hurst, Texas (DFW area)
    Posts
    179
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One 5.0.1 is released

    Many thanks Bob

    I can finally process my Panasonic G1 files; this is great news.

    Paul

  19. #19
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Capture One 5.0.1 is released

    New feature on the dust tool you can apply the spot on it BUT now you can actually make the spot bigger or smaller with putting your cursor over the spot and arrow marks show up to enlarge or make smaller. Actually pretty neat
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  20. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    France
    Posts
    38
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One 5.0.1 is released

    Quote Originally Posted by Guy Mancuso View Post
    New feature on the dust tool you can apply the spot on it BUT now you can actually make the spot bigger or smaller with putting your cursor over the spot and arrow marks show up to enlarge or make smaller. Actually pretty neat
    Good to know !!!

  21. #21
    Senior Member Scargos2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    291
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One 5.0.1 is released

    Quote Originally Posted by Guy Mancuso View Post
    New feature on the dust tool you can apply the spot on it BUT now you can actually make the spot bigger or smaller with putting your cursor over the spot and arrow marks show up to enlarge or make smaller. Actually pretty neat
    I have been using C1 Pro (try it) for about two weeks and the dust as been working with the arrow to enlarge or make smaller. It still only works on small dust spots, for large dark ones, forget it. Hope they improve the spot and dust,then I may purchase the software.
    Sunny Florida Rick of Fla

  22. #22
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    498
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    8

    Re: Capture One 5.0.1 is released

    Check your 100% crops with 5.0.1. Can't explain it, but I picked up a huge amount of detail, particularly in the eyes. Reprocessing older images. Fantastic.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •