Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: C1 5 file edit issue

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Mass
    Posts
    306
    Post Thanks / Like

    C1 5 file edit issue

    I've been trying out a trial version of C1 5.02 on my Vista 64 machine for the last few weeks and liked it enough to want to buy. I just built a Win7 machine however so I loaded it onto that and planned to buy and activate, however when I connect to any of my external drives C1 cannot edit the files, the thumbs show up but I have no control on any of the tools. I've had no problems whatsoever in Vista, and some time ago I checked out an earlier rev on an old XP machine I have and had no issues.

    I wonder if it might be a permissions problem but I'm the only user and have admin rights. Up until now these systems have not been on a network.

    Anyone had a similar problem or think of the reason for this?

    Thanks

    Mike

    PS, I'm DEFINITELY selecting raw files, Canon 1Ds, 1ds2 and 1ds3, and ALL of this worked fine on my other PC.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Mass
    Posts
    306
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: C1 5 file edit issue

    I tried working with C1 again today after came home with some photos to edit. Rather than importing with LR as I usually do I simply copied them onto my HD and opened them with C1. This time I could edit them OK. I rechecked some of my old files and verified that I still could not edit them.

    As an additional test as I still had some old files on CF cards I deleted them from my HD and copied them over again (not using LR). I could edit them as well.

    It seems as though if I import files though LR(3) I cannot edit them in C1. I'm using a preset, not sure if that has something to do with it.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks

    Mike

  3. #3
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    Re: C1 5 file edit issue

    You have to have an image in a session before you can edit it, and if the program thinks that image is on an external memory source, it won't let you edit it. So, if you open even your default session, THEN point to an external drive with images, you should be able to edit them just fine.
    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Mass
    Posts
    306
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: C1 5 file edit issue

    Thanks Jack. I'm not sure I understand about sessions yet, I've never created one, I just open C1 and use it so I guess it is my default.

    All of the files are on a HD that is in an enclosure, so I opened C1 and navigated to the HD and could not edit any files. I've no issues doing that using an older version of C1 on my XP machine, and over the last 3 weeks in Vista.

    I copied new files from my CF card to the same HD this morning and could edit them. I still could not edit the old files that were alongside. I deleted 3 directories that I still had on a CF card and copied them over again and found I could edit them. Again all on the same HD.

    All of my directories are year/month/date indexed and in fact I made a mistake a couple of weeks ago and copied a feb day directory to a January directory last week. Today I can edit files in the new copy I made in February but I can't edit the same files in the version I originally made in January.

    Mike

  5. #5
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    Re: C1 5 file edit issue

    Try starting a new session and point it to the folder with the images in question inside it. The easiest way to do that with an existing folder of images is to use the same exact name as the image folder and point to the same parent directory for the image folder as the session location, in this case your external drive. By doing so, the session and session subfolders will all be created inside the existing folder of images.

    With C1 closed, navigate to that image folder, and inside it you will see a file that looks like "session_name.cos". Double-click on the sesion_name.cos file and this will launch C1 with that session. You may need to then point the C1 browser to that image folder, but probably not -- not sure how it works exactly on PC.

    Now, you should be able to use that external drive plugged into ANY computer with C1 loaded, open the session by double-clicking on the session file and edit normally.
    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Mass
    Posts
    306
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: C1 5 file edit issue

    Hi Jack,

    Thanks again for the help. I tried that, both at the base level of my HD and also as you suggested at one of the folders (each day is a folder). I found the .col50 file and launched C1 but I can still only edit the files I copied over today...anything previously imported by LR has greyed out controls.

    Mike

  7. #7
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,275
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    7

    Re: C1 5 file edit issue

    Sounds like a write-protection issue. When you right click on one of these files and go to "properties" does it say "locked"?

    Doug

    Doug Peterson (e-mail Me)
    __________________
    Head of Technical Services, Capture Integration
    Phase One, Leaf, Cambo, Canon, Apple, Profoto, Eizo & More
    National: 877.217.9870 | Cell: 740.707.2183
    Newsletter: Read Latest or Sign Up
    RSS Feed: Subscribe
    Buy Capture One at 10% off
    Personal Work

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Mass
    Posts
    306
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: C1 5 file edit issue

    Thanks Doug. I had to move this afternoon and the PC is unplugged and dismembered, but I'll be able to check tomorrow afternoon. All of the files are editable in LR, but I will check properties. James is helping me and has some suggestions as well.

    Mike

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Mass
    Posts
    306
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: C1 5 file edit issue

    Well it is a permissions problem. Even though W7 says I'm an Admin I'm not and of course I can't change myself to one. I don't know how to log on as an admin (there's only my account), so if I can't figure that out I'll have to kill this machine and rebuild it and see where I went wrong.

    I was able to open C1 as an Admin (right click) and edit files. That's a work around but I expect to have this machine for a while and I think having an account without admin privs is a bad idea.

    Mike

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •