Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Dumb Lightroom Upgrade question

  1. #1
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Terry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    6,955
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1145

    Dumb Lightroom Upgrade question

    So, I go on to adobe to upgrade Lightroom and buy it but there are two files to download one is mac/windows and is 64mb and the other says mac and it is 34mb. Adobe is closed. Anyone know what the difference is between these two download files? The instructions flash by too fast here is the file it tries to add to my mac if I chose the first one so I stopped as it seemed wrong. LTRM2_WWEFG_win.exe

    FOr a software company I have never found their website easy to use !!!

  2. #2
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    420
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Dumb Lightroom Upgrade question

    Terry,

    If I remember correctly, you are on a Mac. If so download the 34mb file.

    The other one downloads an .exe file which is for windows.

    I didn't know myself and downloaded both.

    Best,

    Ray

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,513
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Dumb Lightroom Upgrade question

    Terry,
    Ray is correct. If you are on a Mac and want to run LR2 on the Mac OS, download the mac version. If you are on a Windows machine, or on a Mac running Windows under Bootcamp or VMWare or something, and want to run LR2 in the Windows environment, you need to download the .exe version for Windows.

    LJ

  4. #4
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Terry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    6,955
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1145

    Re: Dumb Lightroom Upgrade question

    Thanks got it. Very bad setup because they list your key with the windows version and I am not the only one who didn't think it was clear.

  5. #5
    Subscriber Member TRSmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Central Maine, U.S.A.
    Posts
    2,406
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    9

    Re: Dumb Lightroom Upgrade question

    I did the same thing and started the download from the link showing the key. When I noticed it was an .exe file, I stopped and picked the other. It does seem a bit awkward.

  6. #6
    Senior Member Robert Campbell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Norn Iron
    Posts
    1,097
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: Dumb Lightroom Upgrade question

    So the moral is - change to windoze !
    Sláinte

    Robert.

  7. #7
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    jonoslack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    East Anglia & Cornwall (UK)
    Posts
    11,778
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: Dumb Lightroom Upgrade question

    Quote Originally Posted by Robert Campbell View Post
    So the moral is - change to windoze !
    no No nO NO NOOO
    The moral IS
    Change to Aperture

    Just this guy you know

  8. #8
    Senior Member Robert Campbell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Norn Iron
    Posts
    1,097
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: Dumb Lightroom Upgrade question

    Quote Originally Posted by jonoslack View Post
    Change to Aperture
    LR2 is quite adequate, thanks; downloading is obvious if you're on a PC, and very obscure if on a Mac.
    Sláinte

    Robert.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •