Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 26 of 26

Thread: capture one vs phocus

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    59
    Post Thanks / Like

    capture one vs phocus

    The other day when at the end i took a decision on wich system to pick one of my decision was because of the software and my tipe of work.
    Someone told me that i can not make a decision based on the sofware and i find this opinion very understandable. but....I HAVE TO SAY...
    I find that C1 is very nice way to have your pics ready from the raw file before to bring them to photoshop or external postproduction software.For me that is the best way to take the best from the pictures as you all know.
    Another important thing about the software you use is that the client and even yourself can see very presicely how the picture direction is gonna be.
    And to finish, after few years working with the same system and workflow scares me a bit change all my stuff from one day to another as it takes time until you get to defined your photography.
    I am curious to know how your software is important for all of you

    Thank and sorry about my eiglish

  2. #2
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Orange County/LA
    Posts
    12
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: capture one vs phocus

    I use Capture One for my Leaf back and Phocus for my H4D. There is no comparison, Capture One wins hands down in every respect. Phocus is pokey and doesn't give nearly enough control processing the raws. Plus the whole 3FR/FFF nonsense is just annoying.

    That said, I like shooting with the H4D, and will continue to do so, despite the software discrepancies.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    581
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2

    Re: capture one vs phocus

    Quote Originally Posted by gss View Post
    Phocus is pokey and doesn't give nearly enough control processing the raws. .
    What is pokey about Phocus. I'm quite happy with it but don't know C1. What makes C1 so much better?
    Cheers,
    Jeff
    www.jeff-grant.com

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    59
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: capture one vs phocus

    Capture one is a very strong tethered tool with a lot of color choises and level ajustments that allow you to get a pretty close final picture.
    Also allow to have a workflow with sesions wich is very helpfulll to organice your jobs in folders .Sometimes C1 crashes very often soo i am not saying is a perfect software.
    I have to say that the color correction and curves on fhocus works very well but it does not have an structure with sesions and i dont know how it works in a long day tethered shooting.
    I don't know if C1 is better than phocus because i will have to see how the color structure works but that is to much mathematis for me :-)

  5. #5
    Senior Member stngoldberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    newport, RI
    Posts
    808
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    12

    Re: capture one vs phocus

    I have used Phocus tethered for product shoots for hours at a time without a crash. Phocus gives you the ability to instantly see what is on the sensor and to modify that image any way you wish and equally important delete and store the images on the fly. The speed at which it operates and such large files is remarkable.
    Stanley

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    154
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: capture one vs phocus

    I have both Phocus and C1. I've compared output from the same image and prefer the look of the final image from Phocus in almost every case. I find it takes more work to achieve the look that I like in C1. I personally like a more film like appearance to my work and Phocus gives me that without having to reinvent the wheel for every session. The existing presets of Phocus are closer to my likes than C1 and require much less fiddling to get where I want to be. C1 seems to boost contrast and over sharpen straight out of the box plus with some files I've observed some strange color crossovers in skin tones. This only happens with some images not all. I don't see this with Phocus. I also like the workflow of Phocus better although C1 isn't bad. You can customize Phocus so easily. I see nothing slow about Phocus.

    As to tethering, I've shot all day many times tethered and never had a problem. Excellent software in my opinion.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Jeddah / Saudi Arabia
    Posts
    126
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: capture one vs phocus

    Quote Originally Posted by DDudenbostel View Post
    I have both Phocus and C1. I've compared output from the same image and prefer the look of the final image from Phocus in almost every case. I find it takes more work to achieve the look that I like in C1. I personally like a more film like appearance to my work and Phocus gives me that without having to reinvent the wheel for every session. The existing presets of Phocus are closer to my likes than C1 and require much less fiddling to get where I want to be. C1 seems to boost contrast and over sharpen straight out of the box plus with some files I've observed some strange color crossovers in skin tones. This only happens with some images not all. I don't see this with Phocus. I also like the workflow of Phocus better although C1 isn't bad. You can customize Phocus so easily. I see nothing slow about Phocus.

    As to tethering, I've shot all day many times tethered and never had a problem. Excellent software in my opinion.
    I totally agree
    Cheers, Udo

  8. #8
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,275
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    7

    Re: capture one vs phocus

    Quote Originally Posted by nenes View Post
    Capture one is a very strong tethered tool with a lot of color choises and level ajustments that allow you to get a pretty close final picture.
    Also allow to have a workflow with sesions wich is very helpfulll to organice your jobs in folders .Sometimes C1 crashes very often soo i am not saying is a perfect software.
    I have to say that the color correction and curves on fhocus works very well but it does not have an structure with sesions and i dont know how it works in a long day tethered shooting.
    I don't know if C1 is better than phocus because i will have to see how the color structure works but that is to much mathematis for me :-)
    C1 is not perfect (no software is) but if Capture One is crashing "very often" it can be fixed. That's not normal and it's not something you have to live with.

    We work with at least a client per month who is getting a lot of crashes and have found a solution in nearly every case (sometimes the person doesn't have the time/desire to spend a few hours with me figuring it out).

    I'm far too biased to provide my opinion on such a stitled question, and our company does not speak negatively of products we don't sell (and to be clear I don't think Phocus is "bad" software), so I would only say this:

    Google "digital tech" or "digital photography assistant" in your area, call the first five people that come up, and ask them if they'd rather use Capture One or Phocus on a shoot they are working. These are the people held responsible when software crashes and these are the people who can't go to sleep until they've done color correction, basic grading, pull selects, and process images for client review. See what they say.

    Capture One has an absolutely dominent marketshare in rental houses, among digital techs, and in high-volume production studios. (note: this statement is inherently limited to the US where my experience comes from)

    Doug Peterson (e-mail Me)
    __________________

    Head of Technical Services, Capture Integration
    Phase One Partner of the Year
    Leaf, Leica, Cambo, Arca Swiss, Canon, Apple, Profoto, Broncolor, Eizo & More

    National: 877.217.9870 *| *Cell: 740.707.2183
    Newsletter | RSS Feed
    Buy Capture One 6 at 10% off

    Masters Series Workshop:
    New England Landscape - Fall Color (Oct 5-8)

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    253
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: capture one vs phocus

    Quote Originally Posted by dougpetersonci View Post
    Google "digital tech" or "digital photography assistant" in your area, call the first five people that come up, and ask them if they'd rather use Capture One or Phocus on a shoot they are working.
    Phocus is a newcomer and most professionals don't like to tinker with their proven system. It takes time which you don't have or which you prefer to invest at a different place. So I don't think the current dominance of C1 is a valid indicator of the quality of phocus.

    Chris (using C1 :-)

  10. #10
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Royal Oak, MI and Palm Harbor, FL
    Posts
    8,498
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    44

    Re: capture one vs phocus

    Quote Originally Posted by DDudenbostel View Post
    I have both Phocus and C1. I've compared output from the same image and prefer the look of the final image from Phocus in almost every case. I find it takes more work to achieve the look that I like in C1. I personally like a more film like appearance to my work and Phocus gives me that without having to reinvent the wheel for every session. The existing presets of Phocus are closer to my likes than C1 and require much less fiddling to get where I want to be. C1 seems to boost contrast and over sharpen straight out of the box plus with some files I've observed some strange color crossovers in skin tones. This only happens with some images not all. I don't see this with Phocus. I also like the workflow of Phocus better although C1 isn't bad. You can customize Phocus so easily. I see nothing slow about Phocus.

    As to tethering, I've shot all day many times tethered and never had a problem. Excellent software in my opinion.
    I also agree. I have both C1 and Phocus on my machine.

    All day long tethered ... including controlling a multi-shot Hasselblad back. Amazing color straight out of the camera. Excellent simple interface similar to Light Room. Simple and effective array of CC tools. Fully automatic DAC HC and HCD lens corrections, etc. etc.

    Not pokey at all ... shoot ... pic is there.

    What the issue usually is with slow response is a weak graphics card. Hasselblad is very clear as to what graphics cards are recommended. Graphic Cards are inexpensive.

    As to asking photo techs what they prefer ... of course it would be C1, it has been out for many years compared to Phocus which is relatively new ... however, if the photographer is shooting with a Hasselblad digital back the answer will be Phocus. So, it depends on who you ask and where.

    Marc

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    154
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: capture one vs phocus

    I also agree Phocus is a new comer to the market. How many years has C1 been around? It's much like when Adobe introduced Indesign. The old Quark Xpress users were used to their software but eventually came over. How many people do you know that still use Quark Xpress?

    There's more to selecting a photo editing app vs a design app. the design app is more about mechanics and the photo app is mechanics plus visual rendering. The visual part is the key because we all have different ideas as to what our images should look like. I do advertising / commercial product work and like the more subtle nature of Phocus where as I think C1 appeals more to the landscape guys due to the harder look it produces. Given the time I think you could almost match images from both but it comes down to the one that's easiest to get to the desired endpoint. It's really a matter of how we interpret our subject and how we visualize the final product.

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    581
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2

    Re: capture one vs phocus

    As a landscape photographer, albeit one who disliked Velvia, I love the look that Phocus gives. It can produce very subtle, delicate tones straight out of the box. Here's a few from a recent excursion: http://www.jeff-grant.com/portfolio219310.html
    Cheers,
    Jeff
    www.jeff-grant.com

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    154
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: capture one vs phocus

    Jeff those are absolutely stunning images. Very original. Looked at the rest of you work and can say beautiful work. Very delicate and fresh work.

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    581
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2

    Re: capture one vs phocus

    Thanks. I owe it all to pokey Phocus or Flexcolor before it.
    Last edited by Jeffg53; 21st September 2011 at 20:35.
    Cheers,
    Jeff
    www.jeff-grant.com

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    561
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: capture one vs phocus

    Thanks for all the Phocus Love, people.

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    59
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: capture one vs phocus

    I m happy that phocus seams to work ,is good to have diferent choices on the market.
    I like how phocus treat the colors but still very far from capture one in terms of workflow and tools.
    i am sure that in one year they will be very close but for the moment...

  17. #17
    Senior Member Thierry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    329
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: capture one vs phocus

    Wonderful work, Jeff.

    Thierry

    Quote Originally Posted by Jeffg53 View Post
    Thierry Hagenauer
    [email protected]

  18. #18
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    Re: capture one vs phocus

    For thread and post integrity, I am going to move this to the Image Processing forum.
    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

  19. #19
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Royal Oak, MI and Palm Harbor, FL
    Posts
    8,498
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    44

    Re: capture one vs phocus

    Quote Originally Posted by nenes View Post
    I m happy that phocus seams to work ,is good to have diferent choices on the market.
    I like how phocus treat the colors but still very far from capture one in terms of workflow and tools.
    i am sure that in one year they will be very close but for the moment...
    It is totally understandable to prefer one software over another because of the familiarity factor.

    From the above comment it sounds like you are very familiar with C1 and do not know very much about Phocus or haven't used it much.

    There are wide variety of post RAW tools on Phocus available by clicking the little arrow in the top right adjustments dialog window. These can be configured in any work flow you wish. Otherwise, all you see is the default basics.

    Maybe in a year C1 will become as easy to use as Phocus so it lessens the time required to get working on it

    In fact, I think all of these software packages will eventually be snuffed out and buried by Light Room which has more RAW tools than C1 and Phocus combined ... all that's missing is a little two-way street cooperation between the makers and Adobe to tighten up the profiles
    and get real about some standardization for the poor working slobs making photos.

    Fortunately, Leica is leading the way with this ... new profile, full lens corrections for the S2 lenses, firmware update allowing lossless DNG capture that sped up tethered operation a lot ... it's getting better and better just using LR, and will continue to get even better.

    IMHO.

    -Marc

  20. #20
    madmanchan
    Guest

    Re: capture one vs phocus

    Marc: Just FYI, since you touched on this topic, Lightroom 3.5 will import FFF files shot tethered via Phocus. (The public RC has a couple of glitches in this regard, but they will be fixed in the final version.) Once in LR you can apply the Camera Standard color profile to get the Hasselblad colors and apply lens corrections (14 H lenses now supported).

  21. #21
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    581
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2

    Re: capture one vs phocus

    Eric, are you working with Hasselblad to get all their corrections incorporated?
    Cheers,
    Jeff
    www.jeff-grant.com

  22. #22
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Royal Oak, MI and Palm Harbor, FL
    Posts
    8,498
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    44

    Re: capture one vs phocus

    Quote Originally Posted by madmanchan View Post
    Marc: Just FYI, since you touched on this topic, Lightroom 3.5 will import FFF files shot tethered via Phocus. (The public RC has a couple of glitches in this regard, but they will be fixed in the final version.) Once in LR you can apply the Camera Standard color profile to get the Hasselblad colors and apply lens corrections (14 H lenses now supported).
    That is terrific news! The faster to LR the better IMHO.

    -Marc

  23. #23
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    59
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: capture one vs phocus

    Of course it is a matter off what you, as user ,are familiar with .I find that with phocus is very easy to get what i want as with C1 you have to know the software a bit more.
    My post was not to criticize phocus ,if not, to understand how important is the marriaje with the workflow you use and the camera system.
    I know phocus very well (all the tools...etc)what i m not very familiar with is the tethered part.

  24. #24
    madmanchan
    Guest

    Re: capture one vs phocus

    Quote Originally Posted by Jeffg53 View Post
    Eric, are you working with Hasselblad to get all their corrections incorporated?
    Yes.

  25. #25
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    581
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2

    Re: capture one vs phocus

    Thanks Eric. That's seriously good news.
    Cheers,
    Jeff
    www.jeff-grant.com

  26. #26
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    561
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: capture one vs phocus

    Not sure who Eric is, but we have been working with Adobe closely for quite some time now to get this happening.

    David

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •