The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Crappy NAS performance using Bridge

Lars

I am today using Adobe Bridge (CS2) to organize some raw files that reside on a Netgear ReadyNAS Duo (stock 256 MB memory) over gigabit ethernet.

Performance is incredibly low when moving files between folders. CPU and network bandwidth load are both very low.

Should I suspect the underpowered CPU in the ReadyNAS, or try adding memory up to 1 GB?

Lars

Jack

Sr. Administrator
Staff member
I am no expert on LAN, but I'd definitely suspect the NAS RAM as the primary issue. I assume most of your files are larger drum scans and as such, probably close to or even larger than the installed RAM on the NAS? I would guess that installing enough NAS RAM to accommodate your normal size image plus NAS overhead would speed things up considerably. I suspect even a slower NAS CPU can process at sustained throughput speeds...

Lars

It does take the same memory as my old Sony laptop, I think I'll pull a 1GB module from the Sony.

BTW throughput is not that bad (12-28 MB/sec), it seems that specifically directory operations (move files, sync file system with desktop, etc) are slow. could be memory or CPU.

The box is running some Linux flavor, there must be a way to monitor CPU and memory load. Maybe this is a good time for me to do something about my Linux aversion.

Lars

Well, no dice... the Duo must be picky when it comes to memory, specs were correct but it wouldn't boot.

D

dlew308

12-28 MB/sec seems slow for going over NAS. Heavy loads are pretty cpu intensive on the NAS server. I'm going to google ReadyNAS and read up on this.

LJL