Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Alpa Corrector Problem: Photoshop/Windows

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Gainesville, Georgia
    Posts
    177
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    21

    Alpa Corrector Problem: Photoshop/Windows

    I have attempted to use the Alpa Corrector software with Photoshop CS4 and have not been successful in getting Photoshop to work with the Corrector software. I understand the file "Alpa_LC_137" is to be copied to the folders in "the corresponding subfolders" of Photoshop CS4. I have tried copying the file to the "filters" subfolder and to the "plug-ins" folder but have not been successful in booting up the Corrector plug-in from Photoshop. Does anyone have any suggestions?

  2. #2
    Subscriber & Workshop Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    1,178
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    414

    Re: Alpa Corrector Problem: Photoshop/Windows

    There are 2 files you need to download:
    ALPA_LC_137_Win.zip
    ALPA_LCF_v3.zip

    On Windows there are 3 separate files that need to be copied to 3 separate locations.
    First you need to unzip the file ALPA_LC_137_Win.zip
    After unzipping the file you will have a folder named ALPA_LC_137_Win
    Inside that folder is a folder named ALPA LC on Windows which contains 3 folders named:
    PS_a
    PS_b
    PS_c

    1. From the PS_a folder, Copy the file named pthreadVC2.dll and place it in the program folder:
    <PHOTOSHOP>\pthreadVC2.dll

    2. From the PS_b folder, Copy the folder named ALPA_LC, which contains a file named ALPALensCorrectFilter.8bf and place it in:
    <PHOTOSHOP>\Plug-Ins\Filters\ALPA_LC\ALPALensCorrectFilter.8bf

    3. From the PS_c folder, Copy the folder named ALPA_LC, which contains a file named ALPALensCorrectAutomate.8li and place it in:
    <PHOTOSHOP>\Plug-Ins\Adobe Photoshop Only\Automate\ALPA_LC\ALPALensCorrectAutomate.8li

    Next, unzip the file named ALPA_LCF_v3.zip.
    This contains the correction profiles. These can be stored anywhere on your computer but you will have to access them once you are working inside the ALPA Lens Corrector.

    Let me know if you can get them loaded and open the plug in.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Gainesville, Georgia
    Posts
    177
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    21

    Re: Alpa Corrector Problem: Photoshop/Windows

    CMB, thank you very much. Your directions were most helpful, and it now seems I am up and running with the Alpa Lens Corrector. Charles

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    79
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Alpa Corrector Problem: Photoshop/Windows

    I have a hard time getting the Alpa Corrector to work properly on my MAC. Anychance you have such great directions for the MAC platform?

    Thx

  5. #5
    Subscriber & Workshop Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    1,178
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    414

    Re: Alpa Corrector Problem: Photoshop/Windows

    Quote Originally Posted by Aviv1887 View Post
    I have a hard time getting the Alpa Corrector to work properly on my MAC. Anychance you have such great directions for the MAC platform?

    Thx
    Absolutely!

    There are 2 files you need to download for the MAC:
    ALPA_LC_137_MAC.zip
    ALPA_LCF_v3.zip

    Unzip the file ALPA_LC_137_MAC.zip
    You will now have a folder named: ALPA_LC_137_MAC
    Open the folder named ALPA_LC_137_MAC and you will find another folder named: ALPA LC on Mac OS X
    The folder named ALPA LC on Mac OS X contains two folders: MAC OS X 10.4 Tiger, and MAC OS X 10.5 Leopard
    Pick the one appropriate for your operating system - for example MAC OS X 10.5 Leopard
    Open the folder named MAC OS X 10.5 Leopard and you will find a folder named ALPA LC
    Copy the entire folder named ALPA LC and place it in
    Applications > Adobe Photoshop > Plug-ins > ALPA LC

    Next, unzip the file named ALPA_LCF_v3.zip.
    This contains the correction profiles. These can be stored anywhere on your computer but you will have to access them once you are working inside the ALPA Lens Corrector.

    Open a file in Photoshop you want to correct with the ALPA Lens Corrector.
    To launch the Lens Corrector in Photoshop go to: File > Automate > ALPA Lens Corrector.

    Let me know if you need more help.

    CS5 needs to be started in 32 bit mode.

  6. #6
    Senior Member stephengilbert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Santa Monica, CA
    Posts
    2,275
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2

    Re: Alpa Corrector Problem: Photoshop/Windows

    The Mac version doesn't work in Lion?

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    79
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Alpa Corrector Problem: Photoshop/Windows

    Thanks CMB for the clear explanation. I've reinstalled the files however my problem persists. The LC starts up fine and loads the image file. However when I want to do step two of loading the parameters it gives me an error sign "that it could not open file xxx". For your information I'm using CS4 on MAC 10.6.8. Any idea what I do wrong?

    Thanks.

  8. #8
    Subscriber & Workshop Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    1,178
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    414

    Re: Alpa Corrector Problem: Photoshop/Windows

    Aviv - not sure.
    This is how I do it, also in CS4.

    Open the image I want to correct in Photoshop.
    Then open the ALPA Lens Corrector - File > Automate > Alpa Lens Corrector
    There are two buttons in the center of the Plug-in right next to one another: File... , and Load Parameters
    First click on File... - here you navigate to the folder named ALPA_LCF_v3 and find the folder that has your Back or DSLR and then select the appropriate file for the lens used - and click open. Now, the name of that file appears in the box below those two buttons (File... , and Load Parameters)
    Then you click Load Parameters (numbers change in the Parameters area)
    Then make a selection in the Expand Canvas box
    Then Enter Shift
    Then Select Interpolation
    Then Preview or Execute

    Hope this helps.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    79
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Alpa Corrector Problem: Photoshop/Windows

    It took me a few days but I finally got around to reload and install the files again. That seems to have resolved the issue. It looked like there was something not correctly loading of the DB/lens folder. The parameters are correctly set now and pretty great how well it correct the distortions. Thanks so much for your explanation cmb.http://forum.getdpi.com/forum/images..._dblthumb2.gif

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •