Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Warning for Lion-CO users

  1. #1
    Senior Member Ario Arioldi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Milano, Italy
    Posts
    784
    Post Thanks / Like

    Warning for Lion-CO users

    The latest update of Lion does not allow anymore the correct use of the brush in the local adjustment panel (the mouse arrow only is visible).
    The issue has been brought to the attention of CO staff and is already under investigation.

  2. #2
    Administrator Bob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Prescott, Arizona
    Posts
    4,492
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    367

    Re: Warning for Lion-CO users

    Quote Originally Posted by Ario Arioldi View Post
    The latest update of Lion does not allow anymore the correct use of the brush in the local adjustment panel (the mouse arrow only is visible).
    The issue has been brought to the attention of CO staff and is already under investigation.
    I am running 10.7.2 and see the brush well as it affects the mask.
    What part of the display is missing for you?
    thanks
    -bob

  3. #3
    Senior Member Ario Arioldi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Milano, Italy
    Posts
    784
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Warning for Lion-CO users

    I cannot see the size of the brush, only the arrow is shown

    "The 10.7.2 update for Lion seems to have broken something with variable cursor tools (things like local brush sizes and spot).

    We are looking into the issue and will update here as soon as we know more.
    James
    Phase One Support DK
    JamesJ
    Phase One Staff"

    But apparently the problem has now been identified and fixed and the fix will be implemented into the next release.

    "This is now fixed and will be implemented in the next release.
    James
    Phase One Support DK"

    Ario

  4. #4
    Administrator Bob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Prescott, Arizona
    Posts
    4,492
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    367

    Re: Warning for Lion-CO users

    well I may have never seen it or at least noticed it. I see only its effect. LOL
    I really wish P1 used the same brush dynamics and sizing features as photoshop.
    The dynamic control-option drag is what is missed most.
    -bob

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    819
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Warning for Lion-CO users

    Having the same problem on a Macbook Pro w. 10.7.2 and C1 6.3.1. This is a new problem and not sure which update caused the problem. Cursor stays as an arrow regardless of what mode is selected (i.e. - hand, crop, dust bunny fix mode, etc). Not sure if my Mac Pro has the same issue; traveling this week.

  6. #6
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,275
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    7

    Re: Warning for Lion-CO users


  7. #7
    Workshop Member Wayne Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Draper, Utah
    Posts
    871
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    134

    Re: Warning for Lion-CO users

    a real PITA for those that bought an iPhone 4s.

    A very odd thing to break. the brush tool cursor is pretty poorly designed anyway but i'll admit it's better than just the arrow.
    wayne
    My gallery

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    498
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    8

    Re: Warning for Lion-CO users

    The rumor is that this is a graphics card compatibility issue, not really a C1 issue. If you open Photoshop or Lightroom, I'm guessing you will see the same thing.

  9. #9
    Senior Member Ario Arioldi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Milano, Italy
    Posts
    784
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Warning for Lion-CO users

    Quote Originally Posted by Bill_Green View Post
    The rumor is that this is a graphics card compatibility issue, not really a C1 issue. If you open Photoshop or Lightroom, I'm guessing you will see the same thing.
    I do not have any problem either in LR 3.5 or in CS5, only in Capture One.
    Furthermore somebody from CO Staff in the CO User Forum has arleady announced the the solution has been found and the fix will be implemented in the next release of Capture One.

  10. #10
    Administrator Bob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Prescott, Arizona
    Posts
    4,492
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    367

    Re: Warning for Lion-CO users

    Quote Originally Posted by Ario Arioldi View Post
    I do not have any problem either in LR 3.5 or in CS5, only in Capture One.
    Furthermore somebody from CO Staff in the CO User Forum has arleady announced the the solution has been found and the fix will be implemented in the next release of Capture One.
    There is no excuse for it and also no excuse for not seeing the issue prior to update release since it seemed to go bad about two weeks before the end of the 10.7.2 stream of developer seeds which I presume Phase One is monitoring.
    Through several releases of OSX in combination with various releases of both PS and LR I have seen that Adobe has had no need to update their product due to OSX release because some key part of its functionality had broken.
    I am assuming by this behavior that C1 has their own sort of graphics library that is fragile with respect to graphics driver changes. Graphics drivers were tweaked by Apple as part of 10.7.2. As much as I love to use C1, I am too frequestly surprised at its fragility.
    -bob

  11. #11
    Senior Member Ario Arioldi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Milano, Italy
    Posts
    784
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Warning for Lion-CO users

    A new release, 6.3.2, has been issued and the problem should be fixed.

  12. #12
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,275
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    7

    Re: Warning for Lion-CO users

    Quote Originally Posted by Bob View Post
    Through several releases of OSX in combination with various releases of both PS and LR I have seen that Adobe has had no need to update their product due to OSX release because some key part of its functionality had broken.
    Guess you never tried to tether with LightRoom in the early days of the public release of 10.7? :-)

  13. #13
    Administrator Bob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Prescott, Arizona
    Posts
    4,492
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    367

    Re: Warning for Lion-CO users

    Quote Originally Posted by dougpetersonci View Post
    Guess you never tried to tether with LightRoom in the early days of the public release of 10.7? :-)
    No,
    I never could get lightroom to work before or after.
    -bob

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •