Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: PLEASE HELP. Cant Open My Files in LR

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    622
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    5

    PLEASE HELP. Cant Open My Files in LR

    I just purchased a Mamiya 645 AFD11 and Leaf Aptus 22 back. I took some test shots and tried to open them in LR but message " Unknown Error occurred.
    the image has the following number : L_006642.mos
    I am NOT familiar with this name( mos)
    My other problem is I tried to download Capture 1 6.0 Pro But my Mac OSX is not updated to accept the download. How can I get my Mac updayed to ;ater version? ( FREE ???) or do I have to pay for it? and how do I do it?
    I have version : OSX 10.4.11 and need at least 10.6.8 . Thank you. I waited so long to get my MFD camera and now I cant View any images. Thank you, rollsman

  2. #2
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,275
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    7

    Re: PLEASE HELP. Cant Open My Files in LR

    Your Mac OS version 10.4.11 is now 6.5 years old. As far as Operating Systems go this is ancient. Depending on how old your Mac is I'd recommend 10.6 or 10.7. That would allow you to load Capture One 6.

    If you run your raw files through the free Leaf Raw Convertor you should have no problem opening them in LightRoom. You can also change the compression setting on the back and you'd be able to use LightRoom without the Leaf Raw Convertor.

    I don't know why you'd post this here rather than just email me :-). You purchased your back from us for a reason; we are here for you!

    Doug Peterson (e-mail Me)
    __________________

    Head of Technical Services, Capture Integration
    Phase One Partner of the Year
    Leaf, Leica, Cambo, Arca Swiss, Canon, Apple, Profoto, Broncolor, Eizo & More

    National: 877.217.9870 *| *Cell: 740.707.2183
    Newsletter | RSS Feed
    Buy Capture One 6 at 10% off

  3. #3
    Subscriber Member weinschela's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    New York suburb
    Posts
    458
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: PLEASE HELP. Cant Open My Files in LR

    Yes, you are going to have to pay to upgrade OSX unless you are saying you want something for nothing. My advice there is to see if you can get to 10.6 something but not 10.7 as I am guessing if your OS is that old that you are running powerpc applications. They will not run in 10.7. As for your Mamiya files, I am not familiar with the raw format used but check to see that ACR inside LR is capable of processing those files.
    Alan

    Selection of work: http://weinschela.zenfolio.com

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    622
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    5

    Re: PLEASE HELP. Cant Open My Files in LR

    I tried to download Leaf Raw Converter 1.2.6 but could not. It requires a 10.5 version I have 10.4 version. Is there another version I can try? I will upgrade to 10.5 hopefully by next week. Thanks
    I am going to try Aperature 2 in the meantime. ( frustating)

  5. #5
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,275
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    7

    Re: PLEASE HELP. Cant Open My Files in LR

    Yes, Aperture 2 is a good path for now.

    But 10.5 and an Intel based mac are really your best long term plans. Even an entry level Mac Mini with 4gb will do ok with Aptus 22 files in C1 as long as you don't open too many programs at once. Though a mid-range iMac would be ideal if you can stretch your budget that direction.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    622
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    5

    Re: PLEASE HELP. Cant Open My Files in LR

    Hi Doug, thank you again. I have trying to download the next version above the 10.4 that I have BUT it would not allow me to do so. I will keep trying to resolve this Problem. I am trying to be patient and NOT get frustated. Thanks again, rollsman

  7. #7
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Godfrey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Near San Jose, California
    Posts
    7,929
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: PLEASE HELP. Cant Open My Files in LR

    What model Apple computer do you have?

    - Most Apple PowerPC-based systems capable of running Lightroom can run up to Mac OS X v10.5 "Leopard". All PowerPC-based Apple systems were discontinued by the end of 2006.

    - Mac OS X v10.6 "Snow Leopard" requires an Intel-based Apple computer. Intel based systems (MacBook Pro, iMac, MacBook, Mac Pro) were introduced in 2006.

    - Mac OS X v10.7 "Lion" requires an Intel-Core Duo 2-based Apple computer. Intel-Core Duo 2-based systems were introduced in late 2006 on some models, early 2007 for the rest.

    You can find out what model Apple computer you have by choosing the Apple menu item, "About this Mac ..." command, then clicking the "More Info" button. That brings up the System Profiler application (System Information in Lion). The first line of the Hardware section tells you the name of the system, and the Processor Name item will tell you what cpu chip it has.

    Once a new version of Mac OS X is released, Apple typically discontinues sales of the older version. If you're updating from a system as old as v10.4.11, I'd recommend making an appointment at an Apple Store and talking to someone at the Genius Bar for help in determining and obtaining the right operating system upgrade for your system.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    622
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    5

    Re: PLEASE HELP. Cant Open My Files in LR

    Hi Godfrey, thank you. I have a Power Mac G5 Model 7.2, CPU 2, Power PC 970(2.2) That what I get . You recommend I go to Apple Store and go to Genius Bar to find the right OS for me. I will. Thank you so much. Rollsman

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •