Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: PS CS4 isn't in any better shape than C1 .4.5!

  1. #1
    Subscriber gogopix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,383
    Post Thanks / Like

    PS CS4 isn't in any better shape than C1 .4.5!

    I downloaded, installed (after tracking down the setup, in a folder hidden by AKAMAI downloader, since it doesnt auto load!)
    well, not happy. Bland interface, looks like a lot the same
    AND it will NOT open to images to work on together; they overwrite one another; they dont cascade or anything

    If it is some setting, someone needs to clue Adobe into how people process images!

    ANyway, back to Cs3 for now

    Back to 3.7.7 ( 3.7.8 had crashed on my quad dual, 8 processor machine)

    I am SURE there is great functionality and processing in the background, but these two new product versions are frustrating as hell.

    Seems as if many here agree at least on 4.5

    BOTH lacked open betas; maybe a lesson for these companies- a few trusted souls don't hack it.

    I though I was alone, but both these products are getting a flood of negative comments, in the face of their actually, very likely, being a step in improvement-if we could only access it

    AND STOP THEM FROM TAKING OLD FUNCTIONS AWAY!

    best regards
    Victor

  2. #2
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    Re: PS CS4 isn't in any better shape than C1 .4.5!

    Victor: Please see my comments in this thread about what I like about CS4: http://forum.getdpi.com/forum/showthread.php?t=3400

    I have found a few compelling reasons to upgrade, and finding more every day I play with it!

    Cheers,
    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

  3. #3
    Subscriber gogopix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,383
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: PS CS4 isn't in any better shape than C1 .4.5!

    Oh, don't get me wrong; I have upgraded BOTh and paid $329 for it (PS CS4)

    However, if we don't feed back they won't get better...

    BOTH made mistakes or redoing or changing something that was at the heart of my workflow. From what I read, that is true for many (ok, maybe the outspoken )

    I am already impressed with the new 4.5 processing engine. However, Phase has had C1 4.0.000x around for a while...

    see Peter's comments as well.

    All SW goes through these phases (pun intended ); the quicker we feedback, the sooner they MAY listen.

    Victor

  4. #4
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    Re: PS CS4 isn't in any better shape than C1 .4.5!

    Just curious, what tool(s) and/or commands specifically changed in CS4 that negatively impacted your workflow?

    I realize some of the locations have been moved or regrouped and this could be distracting until you live with the new arrangement for a bit...
    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

  5. #5
    Subscriber Member TRSmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Central Maine, U.S.A.
    Posts
    2,406
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    9

    Re: PS CS4 isn't in any better shape than C1 .4.5!

    I'm not sure I understand this comment. When were you ever able to open two images side by side in Photoshop? If you mean that you can have multiple windows open and then click to make ONE active while still viewing the other in the background, that's the same as always. Simply press the F key to rotate through the various view options until you see the image windows without a background. And I think they added a button/icon to arrange your workspace by tiling the open image windows (not sure, have to check).

    Best,
    Tim

    Quote Originally Posted by gogopix View Post
    I downloaded, installed (after tracking down the setup, in a folder hidden by AKAMAI downloader, since it doesnt auto load!)
    well, not happy. Bland interface, looks like a lot the same
    AND it will NOT open to images to work on together; they overwrite one another; they dont cascade or anything

    If it is some setting, someone needs to clue Adobe into how people process images!

    ANyway, back to Cs3 for now


    best regards
    Victor

  6. #6
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    Re: PS CS4 isn't in any better shape than C1 .4.5!

    Victor:

    The new open window default is to use tabs, so they are all there, only tabbed like excel spreadsheet pages. You can easily change this back to the old way by unchecking the tabbed box in preferences. In fact they do need to be out of tabbed view in order to drag one image on top of the other, but it is super easy to do.

    Cheers,
    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

  7. #7
    Subscriber gogopix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,383
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: PS CS4 isn't in any better shape than C1 .4.5!

    in cs3 the default was cascading; you just clicked (CLOSE) without having to hunt for tabs, and yes, when I had 10-20 images open making a collage (as I did for a calendar I did) it was easy to compose and check size BEFORE the actual copy and paste into the collage canvas.

    It is just these little things that are annoying; I also see bridge is a lot slower to open-i guess that is why they have the 'open bridge on login'

    Now the big question for you guys; I understanf the ACR engine is version 5 in CS4; does it do any better job on Phase files? DNG?

    I think some tests are in order-I assume P1 C1 will keep ahead.

    And a BIG gripe;

    WHy do we still have to 'guess' at the angle to level a horizon. I must say, the Phase C1 approach of drawing a stright line for horizon (or vertical-it even seems to know which it is!)

    I will bet somewher PS has a hidden function, at least from mee that will really rotate. Probably need to go into perspective control or some complex function like that

    Second question- is there a way to set up a 'private toolkit' that is, copy the shortcuts to the tools one usually needs, some you dont have to hunt all over for them. I use

    image8<>16 bit
    Color conversion
    Shadow
    image size
    GF
    NIK SW
    PHOTOTOOLS focalblade and color washer (but less frequently now

    so, is ther such a folder or window you can set up?

    Vic

  8. #8
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    Re: PS CS4 isn't in any better shape than C1 .4.5!

    Quote Originally Posted by gogopix View Post

    And a BIG gripe;

    WHy do we still have to 'guess' at the angle to level a horizon. I must say, the Phase C1 approach of drawing a stright line for horizon (or vertical-it even seems to know which it is!)
    Uh, it's there, and has been for several iterations of Photoshop -- It's called the "ruler" and it is in the dropper menu kit. You call the ruler up, drag a line along your horizon OR a vertical object like a phone pole or building edge, then go to Image> Image Rotation> Arbitrary and hit enter. Presto, your image is rotated the precise angle necessary to straighten it.

    Victor, you really should consider attending one of our workshops --- we cover all of these little goodies and a bunch more
    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

  9. #9
    Subscriber gogopix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,383
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: PS CS4 isn't in any better shape than C1 .4.5!

    But that's my point Jack; why, for such a simple action as arbitrary rotation should one need to go into dropper, subselections and then (or actually before) call up the primary function.

    In MS they call bugs "features"

    In image software, we should call functions "aerobic exercises" :-)

    Workshops should focus on content and HOW to use functions for improving images, not to learn the mechanics of sw. If the latter, I consider that a failing of the sw and sw developer's training materials

    [Or alternatively-and I will say it before anyone else-the impatience of the users.]

    I notice I just got an ad for a discount on a $1400 training session from Adobe...

    .... I think I broke the code

    Victor

  10. #10
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    Re: PS CS4 isn't in any better shape than C1 .4.5!

    I guess the difference is in how you learn to use these tools... The hotkey for the eyedropper set is the letter "I", or shift-I if you've set it up that way, so a few quick presses on the I-key and you cycle through the dropper set to the ruler. Course it works the same way for all the others.

    I guess if one "learned" to use Photoshop by navigating to every regularly-used tool and and menu instead of the short-cuts, it could generate frustrations -- more so if they go and re-group some of them as they did in CS4. I further recognize those frustrations may manifest themselves to be perceived as bugz...

    As for our workshops, they are focused around improving images AND workflow. For example, teaching the ruler tool definitely improves images by helping folks get them level before going on to the rest of the "improvements" we teach...

    On par, the Adobe offer is probably a very good option for you.

    Now maybe I've gone and broken the code
    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •