Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: CS4 (64bit) First Thoughts

  1. #1
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    32 31' 37.06" N, 111 6' 0.9" W
    Posts
    4,334
    Post Thanks / Like

    CS4 (64bit) First Thoughts

    Just got around to loading the new CS4 onto my studio machine. This computer looks like a mini-refrigerator and my neighbors kid me (I think) that their lights dim when I turn it on. I've got a Dell Precision 690 running quad core 3.00GHz and for now 8 GB RAM, I also have dual NVIDA Quadro NVS 285 display cards that have two Dell 24' monitors as well as a Wacom 1200 attached; I won't even go into the storage space. I configured this computer about 2 years ago and was running it on Win XP Pro 64 before making the move to Vista Ultimate 64 late last year.

    As a side note I had what turned out to be a minor problem but I went to our local computer geek store when as I was explaining the system their eyes rolled into the back of their heads - they did admit it was beyond their level until one person stepped out from the back. I figure they kept him chained in the back as he really didn't have very good interpersonal skills but he knew computers and that's all I wanted.

    Running a system like mine is no piece of cake as I found out. Yes it's fast and yes it delivers what I ask of it so long as I feed it the proper software.

    What's the point of all this? Simple, as I said before I just completed the install of Photoshop CS4 64bit. I've had it up and running now for less than 30 minutes but I can tell you this sucker is sweet! It recognizes the RAM I have available which is well past the 4GB range. I've gone to the preferences and set what looks like will be good for me and opened a normal size file. This is a 60x30 inch panorama at 300 ppi which is 1.02GB in size. The file opened in way less time than it's ever done before - very fast indeed.

    Finally a 64bit image processing software! What a great tool to accompany Capture One 4.5 Pro in 64 bit. Looks like people have listened to those of us who operate 64bit.

    I'm very impressed and happy!

    Thanks for letting me share the news.

    don
    Don Libby
    Iron Creek Photography
    Blog
    Tucson AZ

  2. #2
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Manchester/Jerusalem
    Posts
    2,652
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    290

    Re: CS4 (64bit) First Thoughts

    I certainly don't have a monster machine like yours but on my modest machine with an extremely modest video card, Bridge is running faster at rendering previews, high quality previews and 100% view than CS2. Considering what an abortion Bridge CS3 was, this IMO is very good.
    I am not a painter, nor an artist. Therefore I can see straight, and that may be my undoing. - Alfred Stieglitz

    Website: http://www.timelessjewishart.com

  3. #3
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: CS4 (64bit) First Thoughts

    Looks like I may have to upgrade myself but i will wait until these three big projects starting next week before i do.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  4. #4
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    Re: CS4 (64bit) First Thoughts

    Guy, CS4 is NOT 64-bit for Mac. Have to wait until CS5 before Mac users get 64-bit. Long story, but it is ultimately because Apple switched from Carbon to Cocoa for 64-bit architecture mid stream, and so Adobe abandoned development of 64 for Mac in CS4...
    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

  5. #5
    sjms56
    Guest

    Re: CS4 (64bit) First Thoughts

    i'm running a quad 2.66 4GB machine w/Nvidia 9800GT w/Vista 64 and even at this level i'm very happy. the only minor issue is the plug ins except for one (PTLens) don't exist in 64bit. but you know adobe was nice enough to load up the 32bit version of PS right next to the 64bit. making thingsreasonable until people decide to play catch up. maybe in the next few weeks i'll throw in the second 4GB batch but for now its smoother sailing with this then 32bit.

  6. #6
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    32 31' 37.06" N, 111 6' 0.9" W
    Posts
    4,334
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: CS4 (64bit) First Thoughts


    Just thought I'd pass this on ....

    Just completed printing a 35x65 image on canvas (finished image is 30x60 with a 2 1/2 inch wrap) using CS4 without any problems. The file size is relative small at 19500x10509 1.14GB 300ppi. Took just shy of 45 minutes to print on my 9800; that's from the time I pressed the print button till the time I cut the canvas. I don't think the print time is much faster however I didn't have any problems printing directly from CS4.

    Now fun part - stretching it on the fame later this week.


    don
    Don Libby
    Iron Creek Photography
    Blog
    Tucson AZ

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •