Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Silly C1 question

  1. #1
    Senior Member johnnygoesdigital's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    1,579
    Post Thanks / Like

    Silly C1 question

    I just downloaded the C1 demo from P1. Being new to this software, I imported a few tiff's to play, but cannot get the adjustment sliders to become active. Is there another conversion I need before all the controls are made available? I know this is a remedial question, but in LR3 I just import and go...Thanks for any input.

  2. #2
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    8
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Silly C1 question

    Hi Johnny

    I have also had this issue with C1 on occasion .. haven't figured out why yet so am not much help to you.

    Have you logged a support case with P1

    Cheers

    Tony

  3. #3
    Senior Member johnnygoesdigital's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    1,579
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Silly C1 question

    Hi Tony,

    No, i haven't. I'll keep trying, but some adjustments can be used and others not. I'm wondering if its the file itself, i.e. jpg, raw, tif.

  4. #4
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,274
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    7

    Re: Silly C1 question

    Probably your trial isn't activated as "pro".

    Go to license and use the drop down to "Try Capture One PRO"
    Doug Peterson , Digital Transitions | Email
    Dealer for: Phase One, Mamiya Leaf, Arca-Swiss, Cambo, Eizo, Profoto
    Office: 877.367.8537. Cell: 740.707.2183

  5. #5
    Senior Member johnnygoesdigital's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    1,579
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Silly C1 question

    Doug,

    Thank you, it works now! When I downloaded the demo after Guy's suggestion, i assumed it was ready to go. Much appreciated.

  6. #6
    Subscriber and Workshop Member MGrayson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,575
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    4

    Re: Silly C1 question

    Speaking of silly C1 issues, I was tethering this morning (Apple Thunderbolt to Firewire adapter working just fine) and I was getting terrible luminosity gradients across the frame - much lighter on the left side. When I copied the files from the laptop to the "mainframe", the problem vanished.

    Turns out the tethered captures were auto-applying an existing LCC from a far right shifted position. I have no idea why it was auto-applying, but it was quite a scare.

    --Matt

  7. #7
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,274
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    7

    Re: Silly C1 question

    Matt: [Capture Tab > Next Capture Adjustments]

    The default is "copy from last" which means as you hone in on the look for a particular shot (e.g. tweaking contrast/clarity etc) it will continue to copy those settings to new incoming images.

    You may find setting that option to "defaults" less HAL-ish if you want to deal with each image separately on your own.
    Doug Peterson , Digital Transitions | Email
    Dealer for: Phase One, Mamiya Leaf, Arca-Swiss, Cambo, Eizo, Profoto
    Office: 877.367.8537. Cell: 740.707.2183

  8. #8
    Subscriber and Workshop Member MGrayson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,575
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    4

    Re: Silly C1 question

    Thanks, Doug.

    I figured I could clear it up with some RTFM , but since it wasn't doing any harm, I let it ride.

    --Matt

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Hurst, Texas (DFW area)
    Posts
    177
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Silly C1 question

    Hi Matt

    With respect to reading the Capture 1 manual, I don't believe there is one.

  10. #10
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,274
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    7

    Re: Silly C1 question

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul_Kerfoot View Post
    Hi Matt

    With respect to reading the Capture 1 manual, I don't believe there is one.
    Online Manual: Capture One RAW converter help site
    PDF Manual: Capture One documentation
    YouTube: Capture One 6 raw converter - YouTube
    Webinars: Training & Events

    And if you buy it from a dealer you gain that dealer's support as well as Phase One's email-only support. In our case phone, including my cell, and in-person visits.

    Granted there is not the gigantic ecosystem of a dozen websites/books/magazines like for Photoshop, but help is available!
    Doug Peterson , Digital Transitions | Email
    Dealer for: Phase One, Mamiya Leaf, Arca-Swiss, Cambo, Eizo, Profoto
    Office: 877.367.8537. Cell: 740.707.2183

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •