Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Mac Time Machine Question

  1. #1
    Senior Member simonclivehughes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    North Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    1,168
    Post Thanks / Like

    Mac Time Machine Question

    Does anyone know offhand if you can set up Time Machine (as well as backing up your main HDD) to back up an external (photo library) drive to either the main TM drive or better yet, to another HDD?

    Cheers,

  2. #2
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    Re: Mac Time Machine Question

    Simon:

    TM only backs up to the TM drive (or partition) but you definitely can select any drive and have it part of the back-up routine. In actual use, TM defaults to back up EVERY drive partition connected to the system, and you have to manually select the ones you do not want included.

    I have actually considered using it to back my image drives in addition to everything else to my Drobo, however I've had a few weird oddities where my TM drive wiped itself clean and I never figured why. Fortunately I did not lose anything important and did not have my image files backed up to it
    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

  3. #3
    Senior Member simonclivehughes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    North Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    1,168
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Mac Time Machine Question

    Quote Originally Posted by Jack Flesher View Post
    TM only backs up to the TM drive (or partition) but you definitely can select any drive and have it part of the back-up routine.
    Jack,

    Thanks, that's what I suspected. I've got a 320GB HDD in my MBP and I backup using TM to a 1TB drive. I keep my image library currently on an external 250GB drive and then I've been backing it up to another 250GB drive using SuperDuper. Just thought it would have been nice if TM could do the whole job, although at present I've got enough room on the 1TB drive for both the MBP and the library I guess.

    Thanks for the feedback.

    Ciao,

  4. #4
    Senior Subscriber Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    1,306
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Mac Time Machine Question

    Quote Originally Posted by Jack Flesher View Post
    I've had a few weird oddities where my TM drive wiped itself clean and I never figured why.
    It will do this if you change your startup disk, say if you boot from a clone. When I make a clone of the startup drive I try to remember to disable TM first, or later when I boot from the clone TM will fire off and start the backup from an initial (meaning I truly lose backups when I might need them).

  5. #5
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    Re: Mac Time Machine Question

    Quote Originally Posted by Jan Brittenson View Post
    It will do this if you change your startup disk, say if you boot from a clone. When I make a clone of the startup drive I try to remember to disable TM first, or later when I boot from the clone TM will fire off and start the backup from an initial (meaning I truly lose backups when I might need them).
    Interesting, I did not know that. Sounds like a bug to me...
    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

  6. #6
    Senior Subscriber Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    1,306
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Mac Time Machine Question

    Quote Originally Posted by Jack Flesher View Post
    Interesting, I did not know that. Sounds like a bug to me...
    I don't think it is. When you boot from a clone you step back in time, and the TM state on that clone will predate the TM state on the backup set. It doesn't know how to incrementally step the backup set forward to match the system, and stepping backwards trying to undo things to get back to the clone is likely a mathematical impossibility. So it starts over.

  7. #7
    Senior Subscriber Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    1,306
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Mac Time Machine Question

    By the way, it won't blindly overwrite the backup set. What happens is it will tell you this is not its backup drive, and then if you go into TM preferences and reset it to use that drive then it will overwrite. Up to that point though you can use the backup for recovery. But it's still scary that a couple of thoughtless clicks can wipe out my backup... So I disable TM on the clone copy.

  8. #8
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    Re: Mac Time Machine Question

    Think I'll stick with my current strategy for image back-ups
    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •