Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Emulating Multi-exposure in CS

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Palo Alto, CA
    Posts
    621
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Emulating Multi-exposure in CS

    I can't seem to find anything that tells/shows me how to emulate multiple exposures like I used to do in film. With film you could calc the exposure, divide that by the number of multiple exposures and shoot away. (landscape on a tripod: made waves look great)

    I'm trying to emulate that in PS. I have multiple exposures from on a tripod and just can't figure out how to make it work in PS. Have, for example, created 2 layers in CS and tried to reduce the opacities of each layer mask by 50%, but no luck.

    Any pointers or help would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks,
    Bob

  2. #2
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Shashin's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    4,498
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    141

    Re: Emulating Multi-exposure in CS

    Is your background layer black?

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Palo Alto, CA
    Posts
    621
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: Emulating Multi-exposure in CS

    Do you mean is the layer mask black? If that's what you're asking, no. How would that work?
    Thanks,
    Bob

  4. #4
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Shashin's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    4,498
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    141

    Re: Emulating Multi-exposure in CS

    No, I mean you have three layers with the bottom layer simply black and the two images with opacity above it.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Palo Alto, CA
    Posts
    621
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: Emulating Multi-exposure in CS

    Quote Originally Posted by Shashin View Post
    No, I mean you have three layers with the bottom layer simply black and the two images with opacity above it.
    Thanks Sashin. No, I haven't tried that but will tonight.
    As I'm an idiot in all this, can you tell me how to create a black layer?
    Any help is much appreciated,
    Bob

  6. #6
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Shashin's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    4,498
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    141

    Re: Emulating Multi-exposure in CS

    If one of your images is labelled as background in the layers palette, double click on it and simply click the OK button which should unlock the layer. The label should be layer 0.

    You should be able to go into the layer option menu and create a new layer. Fill that layer with black--the paint bucket tool should work fine. Drag that layer in the layer palette to the bottom.

    That is probably not the end of your double-exposure process. But that should start you down the road.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Palo Alto, CA
    Posts
    621
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: Emulating Multi-exposure in CS

    Quote Originally Posted by Shashin View Post
    No, I mean you have three layers with the bottom layer simply black and the two images with opacity above it.
    Thank you again Sashin. Works well; truly appreciated.
    Bob
    www.rgaphoto.com
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  8. #8
    Subscriber & Workshop Member GrahamWelland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    5,801
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    564

    Re: Emulating Multi-exposure in CS

    Btw, another way to do this is to load all of your images as layers and simply select all and change the blend mode to lighten (or screen). I use Dr Russell Brown's Image Services 2.3.1 scripts in Bridge to automate this (Stack-a-matic)
    Remember: adventure before dementia!

    As Oscar Wilde said, "my tastes are simple, I only like the best"
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •