The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

NEC PA241W

tjv

Hi all,

I'm looking at buying the above monitor for use at home. At work I use an Eizo Coloredge CG246, which is amazing, but I can't afford to spring that kind of money for myself. I have an iOne Pro calibrator, do don't need the built in options anyway –*although I'd probably buy the NEC Sprectraview software if I went that way.

I'm just wondering if anyone could comment on the quality of the NEC and if I'm going to regret not saving / spending more on an Eizo.

To give you an idea of what I do, I'm a fine art photographer and I use an Imacon 949 to scan 4x5" and 6x7cm colour negative film. I spend a fair amount of time in front of a monitor trying to perfect colour so accurate white point and black point is really important. I like to control the finer points of my printing – I use an Epson 7800 for my final prints – and I calibrate to D55. For all of this the Eizo is perfect, but I didn't spend my own hard earned money on it! I'm hoping NEC, or someone else for that matter, might make a more affordable option that does a near enough job without making me bankrupt...

Any help you can give me in making a decision would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

TJV

GrahamWelland

Subscriber & Workshop Member
I use the larger PA271W with Spectraview calibration software, albeit with a Colormunki calibrator. The wide gamut monitor is excellent and I very much doubt that you'd be unhappy with it. I certainly have no complaints with it compared to any of my other calibrated monitors.