Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 25 of 25

Thread: Mavericks crashes C1

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    86
    Post Thanks / Like

    Mavericks crashes C1

    Make a mistake upgrading to Mvericks. Each time you apply a styles setting it crashes C1 Pro 7.
    Anyone else has the same issue?

  2. #2
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Mavericks crashes C1

    No I seem to be running smooth with C1
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    86
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Mavericks crashes C1

    Had a shoot yesterday with multiple crashes, primarily when attempting to apply styles. If left along then it's alright.

  4. #4
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,275
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    7

    Re: Mavericks crashes C1

    PLEASE do not update to new Operating Systems at the very first release.

    There will ALWAYS be problems. Sometimes big obvious wide-spread issues, sometimes only specific platforms or when doing specific things.

    This advice is not specific to Capture One.
    Doug Peterson , Digital Transitions | Email
    Dealer for: Phase One, Mamiya Leaf, Arca-Swiss, Cambo, Eizo, Profoto
    Office: 877.367.8537. Cell: 740.707.2183
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    86
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Mavericks crashes C1

    That was my first mistake. Secondly, I didn't backup my older OS. Now I'm in a pickle.
    Next job is in about two weeks. So I could wait and hope Phaseone will update C1 or pay to have Mavericks uninstalled and Mountain Lion reinstalled!

  6. #6
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    k-hawinkler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    The "Land of Enchantment"
    Posts
    3,299
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Mavericks crashes C1

    Why not install Mountain Lion on another drive and run C1 from there?
    With best regards, K-H.

  7. #7
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,275
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    7

    Re: Mavericks crashes C1

    Quote Originally Posted by Jwoo View Post
    That was my first mistake. Secondly, I didn't backup my older OS. Now I'm in a pickle.
    Next job is in about two weeks. So I could wait and hope Phaseone will update C1 or pay to have Mavericks uninstalled and Mountain Lion reinstalled!
    Not just a matter of Phase One updating C1 in my opinion.

    You'll also need for Apple to update Maverick to squash all the obvious/widespread bugs and then again to update Maverick to handle all the less obvious and more niche bugs.

    Definitely add a new partition to your hard drive and install mountain lion. It will be a few hours of your life and you won't have to stress anymore.

    Then in a few months you can simply boot to your Maverick partition, allow everything to update, and you'll be happy as a pig in mud.
    Doug Peterson , Digital Transitions | Email
    Dealer for: Phase One, Mamiya Leaf, Arca-Swiss, Cambo, Eizo, Profoto
    Office: 877.367.8537. Cell: 740.707.2183
    Likes 2 Member(s) liked this post

  8. #8
    Senior Member RVB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    807
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Mavericks crashes C1

    Loads of reports of problems with Mavericks,I wish I didn't upgrade so soon,C1P and LR running fine but PS cs6,AlienSkins Exposure 5,Mail and safari all troublesome,and they were all rock solid under ML..

    A possibility is use time machine to return to ML..

  9. #9
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Knorp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    3,995
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Mavericks crashes C1

    Quote Originally Posted by RVB View Post
    Loads of reports of problems with Mavericks,I wish I didn't upgrade so soon,C1P and LR running fine but PS cs6,AlienSkins Exposure 5,Mail and safari all troublesome,and they were all rock solid under ML..

    A possibility is use time machine to return to ML..
    Funny you're saying that: it's specifically with Time Machine I'm having problems with failing backups ...

    Kind regards.
    Bart ...
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    86
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Mavericks crashes C1

    Lesson learned. Reverted back to Mountain Lion and now everything is fine. Don't fix what ain't broke!

  11. #11
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Knorp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    3,995
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Mavericks crashes C1

    Quote Originally Posted by Jwoo View Post
    Lesson learned. Reverted back to Mountain Lion and now everything is fine. Don't fix what ain't broke!
    Mmm, it's not a fix but an upgrade, otherwise I'd still been using DOS ...
    BTW as per vendor's advice, I removed the WD tooling for my external disks and all is well now.

    Kind regards.
    Bart ...

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Fort Collins, Colorado
    Posts
    2,077
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: Mavericks crashes C1

    Quote Originally Posted by Knorp View Post
    Mmm, it's not a fix but an upgrade, otherwise I'd still been using DOS ...
    BTW as per vendor's advice, I removed the WD tooling for my external disks and all is well now.

    Kind regards.
    PhaseOne officially states that C1Pro is not yet compatible with Mavericks. I did not notice a problem until I tried to install a smart album in one of my projects. When I tried to enable a search criterion the app crashed. Another time the entire system crashed and I had to reload Mavericks from the Apple site.

    Finally, in frustration, I reinstalled Mountain Lion which is not easy since Mountain Lion is no longer available from the App Store! I finally got it installed and, after much reinstalling of some apps etc, I am now good to go again.

    I have been using Apple since the 2E days and never have I had a buggy OS until Mavericks. Apparently they felt a need to rush this to market although when looking at the new features (or lack thereof) I have no clue as to why.

    I will wait until a C1 upgrade and then another six months before I try Mavericks again.

    Woody

  13. #13
    Senior Member Ario Arioldi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Milano, Italy
    Posts
    784
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Mavericks crashes C1

    I am using Maveriks (even before the official release) without any particular issue with any of my usual application, no matter if the developer is a big or a small player.
    Only with CO 7 I have some problem but only when using the filtering functions, which I will try avoid for the time being.
    I have the impression that CO, more than other applications, is heavily relying on the resources of the OS and this is why it is so sensitive to any modification done by Apple.
    Last edited by Ario Arioldi; 14th November 2013 at 23:19.

  14. #14
    Administrator Bob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Prescott, Arizona
    Posts
    4,492
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    367

    Re: Mavericks crashes C1

    I run developer seeds of every new release, sometimes even C1 betas. so far, I have had no real issues other than some tethering driver conflicts which I was able to work out.
    OTOH, I run these in a virtual machine, so if I get into trouble, I just delete it
    I have watched the graphics drivers slowly improve which has helped C1 get a whole lot less crashy when accelerated.
    Doug's advice is sound if you are in a production environment, wait for a release or two to go by before committing.
    I think I am running something like my third version of mavericks post-release and everything seems fine to me, of course I might not be using it in the precise way that you are which may cause some issues to surface.
    I am a hacker, geek, and experimenter, so somehow I never end up running production code on anything LOL
    -bob

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    933
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Mavericks crashes C1

    I know a lot of you enjoy and use C1 for your primary photo post processing software. I own it but rarely use it but I have to say I thought it was because I had a older iMac that C1 update's loaded so slowly. Now that I own the TOL iMac with 32gigs ram and all the bells and whistles it still is the slowest software update loading software I own. It takes an hour or more to download its updates. IMO that just sucks big time!!!!

    C1 blew away one of my aperture RAW stored albums when i initially started using it so my confidence in this software was seriously rocked and with the slow updates and it's awkward filing storage system I just have never warmed up to it even a little. I do occasionally bring in a individual shot or two for something it does well but pull it back out of the C1 software as soon as I am done. It does do some nice image post processing on certain things but nothing I cannot achieve using any of the dozen or so PP softwares I also own.

    The reason I am writing this is it has been over an hour since I started the 7.1.6 update and I have 93.2 mb loaded to a 299.5 update at this rate I am looking at a 3 hour download....... really???? Is phase one serious? Who's got the time for this nonsense?

  16. #16
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    Re: Mavericks crashes C1

    I have to say I *LOVE* C1. I am running it now on Mavericks and so far no obvious issues. My last update download for the Df took all of about 10 minutes, instal was a breeze.

    Jim, it sounds like you need to do a complete uninstall, including clear all C1 cache files in the system and user library and then re-install a totally fresh copy.
    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    933
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Mavericks crashes C1

    Jack you could very well be correct but...... that would have nothing to do with how fast updates load to my computer for downloading would it?

    I can see it if I was having a slow download while actually installing the update on my desktop while loading to the capture one software but my issue is just getting the download from their site to me.

    I am running maverick as well and just got this new iMac with fusion drive 3 weeks ago so it's not that I am running a slower older machine.

    CS6, DXO, SPP, Topaz suite, PPS, DXO viewpoint, FX, Expose3, PP5, Aperture/iphoto all download very quickly to my machine downloads and then install very quickly as well, Capture One is like pulling teeth to get it to download to my iMac downloads. It installs just a bit slower than the others once it finally gets downloaded over the net.

    Of all the softwares I have listed above .. only one get used less by me than C1 and that is PPS (portrait Professionals studio) and that is because I rarely shoot people Expose 3 gets used about as much as C1 and that was because it has software glitches.

  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    523
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Mavericks crashes C1

    I upgraded to Mavericks on what was essentially a new iMac and regret it. Mavericks is plain nasty and has gone down like a lead balloon.

  19. #19
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Brooklyn
    Posts
    4,043
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1253

    Re: Mavericks crashes C1

    i downloaded the latest update to my shop macpro (2009 and pimped) in about 10 minutes, fios connection.

    on my mbpro laptop at home, (roadrunner) took four attempts, different servers and even waiting overnight for the dot to move. then on one last occasion, it downloaded in 15 minutes

  20. #20
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    Re: Mavericks crashes C1

    Quote Originally Posted by Jim DE View Post
    Jack you could very well be correct but...... that would have nothing to do with how fast updates load to my computer for downloading would it?
    Correct, what I suggest is for the system crashes. Download times are a function of server loads and those are variable depending on where you live and dozens of factors that all could be downstream from PhaseOne's server could affect it, meaning it may not be a PO issue at all...
    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

  21. #21
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    933
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Mavericks crashes C1

    Your right again Jack as it could be any number of things...... but it is odd that I updated my DXO9 and PP5 immediately before my C1 the other day and they took seconds to download and the C1 took hours. Not to mention it happens nearly every time I update C1 and never with the others.

    Now I do not know where they are or what they are running but I am in the mid atlantic region running safari as a browser on a Comcast internet provider. Maybe this might help them in the future if they see this post. I am sure I am not the only one having this problem with C1 updates.

  22. #22
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    20
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Mavericks crashes C1

    I'm in Vancouver BC and C1 downloads are always slower than a slug on Valium. However, if you're a Mac user, Capture Integration usually mirrors (within a day or so) the latest C1 release and provides downgrades when you really need them. I'm not affiliated with Capture Integration apart from being a pretty happy customer; here you go:

    https://captureintegration.com/download-archive/

  23. #23
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,275
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    7

    Re: Mavericks crashes C1

    Diddo from the DT library of current and archived versions:

    Download Latest Release of Capture One
    Capture One Software Archive

    I have a feeling the whole Creative Cloud thing has given a big boost in usership to Capture One. That's just speculation. Download times have been erratic (often excellent, sometimes horrid) throughout the last several months. Hopefully they will have "improve download bandwidth" as a new year's resolution .
    Doug Peterson , Digital Transitions | Email
    Dealer for: Phase One, Mamiya Leaf, Arca-Swiss, Cambo, Eizo, Profoto
    Office: 877.367.8537. Cell: 740.707.2183

  24. #24
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,275
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    7

    Re: Mavericks crashes C1

    Definitely meant "ditto".

    That's what I get for posting on vacation.
    Doug Peterson , Digital Transitions | Email
    Dealer for: Phase One, Mamiya Leaf, Arca-Swiss, Cambo, Eizo, Profoto
    Office: 877.367.8537. Cell: 740.707.2183

  25. #25
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    933
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Mavericks crashes C1

    When I had my older iMac and the Cloud came out it slowed down all my photographic software functions so I turned the cloud off. This new and improved iMac I now have may handle this double writing stuff better BUT I still am not all that hyped up about the Cloud and it's potential vulnerabilities and issues. I still have it turned off.... plus when Adobe went with a cloud rent to use sales policy I have decided my current CS6 version will be my last Adobe PP software I ever pay for (unless they stop this policy.... honestly though I really hate to have to use PS {only software I have ever had to take 4 college course's to learn to use since PS7 because it's UI is so horrid}anyway .... not much of a loss for me at my age).

    I will look into what you are talking about though....

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •