Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Capture One Performance Issues

  1. #1
    Senior Member Amin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Boston, MA (USA)
    Posts
    1,809
    Post Thanks / Like

    Capture One Performance Issues

    Anyone else have problems with Capture One Pro 8 occasionally freezing or being unresponsive? I'm sure my system is up to spec:

    -Core i7-4770k processor
    -Samsung 840 Pro 512GB SSD for OS and apps
    -Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD for C1 Catalog
    -WD Black 2GB HDD for images
    -EVGA GTX 780 ti (recommended by Phase One for C1 performance)
    -Open CL acceleration set to "Auto"
    -32GB RAM

    My catalog has 47761 images, and I don't want to have to break it up.

    I find Lightroom to have far better performance and stability, but C1 gives me better looking images. Just wish it ran smoother.

  2. #2
    Administrator Bob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Prescott, Arizona
    Posts
    4,492
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    367

    Re: Capture One Performance Issues

    Are you running 8.0.2?
    -bob

  3. #3
    Senior Member Amin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Boston, MA (USA)
    Posts
    1,809
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One Performance Issues

    Yes, I am.

  4. #4
    Administrator Bob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Prescott, Arizona
    Posts
    4,492
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    367

    Re: Capture One Performance Issues

    Unfortunately I don't use catalogs since I prefer the session paradigm and had early issues with them.
    Sorry to not be able to help.
    -bob

  5. #5
    Senior Member Amin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Boston, MA (USA)
    Posts
    1,809
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One Performance Issues

    Thanks for replying, Bob. Maybe I do need to use smaller catalogs or work in sessions.

    In Lightroom I keep all my RAW files in one big catalog, and when I want to look at photos of my kids from 7-8 years ago, I just scroll through the catalog. I want to replace Lightroom with C1, but this ability to scroll through all my photos ever is something I'd hate to give up.

  6. #6
    Senior Member Amin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Boston, MA (USA)
    Posts
    1,809
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One Performance Issues

    I just realized that the SSD that contains my catalog is getting low on free space. Perhaps this is the cause of my problems. I'm off to Micro Center in a bit to get a larger SSD and will report back as to whether this fixes things. I'd love to keep the RAW files on an SSD as well, but it's just not feasible for me at this time.

  7. #7
    Senior Member Amin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Boston, MA (USA)
    Posts
    1,809
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One Performance Issues

    Well that seems to have helped a little, but I still get better performance working in sessions. I think I'll use sessions to do RAW processing in C1 and then archive the RAWs to Lightroom for cataloging. Wish I could have a 1-stop option, but this will be okay too.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    196
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One Performance Issues

    After loyally trying catalogs with everything new version of Capture ONE I return to LR and sessions. I have all my images on my iMac HD along with documents ans music, and programs, catalogs system and libraries on SSD. I tried Media Pro which worked very well as a catalog with none of the hangups and other misery of the C1 catalog but have Always returned to LR where I import images initially, send the images to C1 session for development, output to the same folder and back into LR using the synchronize folder command.
    maurice da silva solis

  9. #9
    Member mesposito's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Dallas TX
    Posts
    90
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    7

    Re: Capture One Performance Issues

    The most common reason for freezing in Capture One is OpenCL. Set this to Never in preferences. Hopefully that will resolve the issue.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    196
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One Performance Issues

    The issues I had with capture one catalogs have been resolved in version 8.1
    By the way, switching open cl on or off did not make any difference on my system
    maurice da silva solis

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •