Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: MacBook Pro while using Silverfast problem

  1. #1
    Member Greg Lockrey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Temperance, MI
    Posts
    141
    Post Thanks / Like

    MacBook Pro while using Silverfast problem

    I just recently purchased a MacBook Pro and I am new to Mac's in general. My problem is trying to install the Silverfast disc that came with my Epson 10000xl and 750V. It installed but when I try to use it, a window comes up asking where to choose the plugin folder. How do you do that? I did manage to load it on the "Windows" side and am able to use it via Parrallels. Any thoughts? I would like to be able to use it without going to Windows.

  2. #2
    Subscriber Member TRSmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Central Maine, U.S.A.
    Posts
    2,406
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    9

    Re: MacBook Pro while using Silverfast problem

    I'm guessing that it wants to install it in the Plug-ins folder for Photoshop so you can activate your scanner from within PS. When asked, navigate to your Applications folder, pick the CS3 Photoshop folder (or your version of Photoshop) and inside it you'll find a folder labeled "Plug-Ins". Once you've finished installing the software, you can access Silverfast by selecting "Import" from the PS "File" drop down menu.

  3. #3
    Member Greg Lockrey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Temperance, MI
    Posts
    141
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: MacBook Pro while using Silverfast problem

    Quote Originally Posted by TRSmith View Post
    I'm guessing that it wants to install it in the Plug-ins folder for Photoshop so you can activate your scanner from within PS. When asked, navigate to your Applications folder, pick the CS3 Photoshop folder (or your version of Photoshop) and inside it you'll find a folder labeled "Plug-Ins". Once you've finished installing the software, you can access Silverfast by selecting "Import" from the PS "File" drop down menu.
    The problem is that my current version of Photoshop is Windows, so I have it parked there. I was hoping I cold use it as a stand alone like I did with my Dell. I can use it that way when I'm in Parallel (Window's).

  4. #4
    Subscriber Member TRSmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Central Maine, U.S.A.
    Posts
    2,406
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    9

    Re: MacBook Pro while using Silverfast problem

    Sorry, I'm not sure I understand the problem. Are you trying to run Silverfast as a stand alone (not from within PS) on the Mac side? Maybe someone here with more Silverfast experience could help. Sorry.

  5. #5
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    Re: MacBook Pro while using Silverfast problem

    I just dealt with this myself for my 4990, so maybe some is applicable... First off, SF 6.4.4 is NOT fully compatible with Leopard and the plug in will not load properly inside CS --- it loads, but is not recognized by CS. BUT, I did get the stand-alone to run. To make SF work, the trick is you have to log on to your Mac as "root", then install the program. Once I did that, you can log in normally and it works. If you want the plug-in to work, you have to pay for the 6.5 upgrade...

    PS: It's a major hassle, but Adobe will swap your WIn CS license over to a Mac version if you jump through all their hoops.
    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

  6. #6
    Member Greg Lockrey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Temperance, MI
    Posts
    141
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: MacBook Pro while using Silverfast problem

    There things about this Mac that's going to take getting used to. I like Qimage a lot and I don't have any real issue with using Windows for Silverfast either. I'll learn.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •