Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 21 of 21

Thread: Capture One Pro 9 Launched!

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    561
    Post Thanks / Like

    Capture One Pro 9 Launched!

    Dear Forum,

    Today we have just launched the latest edition of Capture One! Capture One Pro 9.

    https://www.phaseone.com/en/Products...ighlights.aspx

    We have built on existing features and improved the ones you know and use daily. Some highlights include..

    - New Processing Engine
    - New Color Editor Interface with the ability to create masks from Color selections
    - LUMA Curves - i.e Luminance adjustment only with the power of the curve tool
    - New brushing tools with Flow and Airbrush and easy straight line brushing.
    - Curves now included as a Local Adjustments
    - Keyword Library Manager and new Keyword tool
    - Vastly improved rescaling engine
    - Capture One Colors for DNG files

    On a financial note each Capture One licence now gives you THREE installs. So you can cover your location system, office / studio system and home system. Even more value.

    Here is an overview of what’s new…

    https://youtu.be/5yCkUtVTQLo

    Here is how the new Color Editor Works..

    https://youtu.be/Q-KkdyxuNFk

    Here is the new Keyword Tool and Library in action…

    https://youtu.be/2UBObNYbDPU

    On a personal note I will say that I didn’t look much into the new behaviour of the Contrast and Brightness sliders in the new processing engine at first. But I really must say it makes this rather rudimentary tool something special. Adding contrast to an image can often be a tough task, especially if you want to retain colors and saturation and not block up the blacks and ruin the highlights. The new processing engine does a great job of adding contrast in a subtle way. If you want even more control, then you have the Luma curve and the saturation slider at your disposal.

    No doubt there will be some responses of “what about xyz tool??”. Remember, 9.0 is just the start and there is always more to come. Don’t forget throughout the life of Capture One 8 we added new features and tools, for example the Color Balance tool.

    Download a 30 day trial today…

    https://www.phaseone.com/en/Download.aspx

    Upgrade your existing Capture One Pro 7 or 8 licence…

    https://www.phaseone.com/en/Online-S...ureone=upgrade

    There are a series of Webinars for Capture One Pro 9 in English, German and Japanese - have a look on our new webinar page..

    https://www.phaseone.com/en/Webinars.aspx

    Many Thanks,




    David
    David Grover
    Phase One A/S
    Thanks 3 Member(s) thanked for this post

  2. #2
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Capture One Pro 9 Launched!

    David any further lenses added to lens corrections for like Sony cameras.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    239
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One Pro 9 Launched!

    Quote Originally Posted by Guy Mancuso View Post
    David any further lenses added to lens corrections for like Sony cameras.
    No ;(

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    561
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One Pro 9 Launched!

    Quote Originally Posted by Guy Mancuso View Post
    David any further lenses added to lens corrections for like Sony cameras.
    What lenses in particular Guy? We support all Sony lenses off the bat with the 'Manufacturer Profile' or are we talking older lenses?
    David Grover
    Phase One A/S

  5. #5
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Capture One Pro 9 Launched!

    I have the Pro version David

    Batis 25 and 85 from Zeiss
    24-70 f4
    35 1.4

    All FE mount
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  6. #6
    Senior Member Swissblad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1,204
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One Pro 9 Launched!

    Quote Originally Posted by David Grover / Phase One View Post
    Dear Forum,

    Today we have just launched the latest edition of Capture One! Capture One Pro 9.


    On a financial note each Capture One licence now gives you THREE installs. So you can cover your location system, office / studio system and home system. Even more value.
    I really like the 3 install option - thanks - great help with our laptop for tethering.


  7. #7
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Knorp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    3,981
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One Pro 9 Launched!

    Quote Originally Posted by Guy Mancuso View Post
    I have the Pro version David

    Batis 25 and 85 from Zeiss
    24-70 f4
    35 1.4

    All FE mount
    These are the supported Zeiss lenses, seems to include your Batis ...
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screen Shot 2015-11-30 at 18.18.28.jpg 
Views:	29 
Size:	19.3 KB 
ID:	114660  
    Bart ...

  8. #8
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Capture One Pro 9 Launched!

    Awesome I'll upgrade than.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    1,198
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One Pro 9 Launched!

    Quote Originally Posted by David Grover / Phase One View Post
    Dear Forum,

    Today we have just launched the latest edition of Capture One! Capture One Pro 9.

    https://www.phaseone.com/en/Products...ighlights.aspx

    We have built on existing features and improved the ones you know and use daily. Some highlights include..

    - New Processing Engine
    - New Color Editor Interface with the ability to create masks from Color selections
    - LUMA Curves - i.e Luminance adjustment only with the power of the curve tool
    - New brushing tools with Flow and Airbrush and easy straight line brushing.
    - Curves now included as a Local Adjustments
    - Keyword Library Manager and new Keyword tool
    - Vastly improved rescaling engine
    - Capture One Colors for DNG files

    On a financial note each Capture One licence now gives you THREE installs. So you can cover your location system, office / studio system and home system. Even more value.

    Here is an overview of what’s new…

    https://youtu.be/5yCkUtVTQLo

    Here is how the new Color Editor Works..

    https://youtu.be/Q-KkdyxuNFk
    That new Colour Editor is just brilliant. Thank you.

    Kind regards,


    Gerald.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    561
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One Pro 9 Launched!

    Quote Originally Posted by gerald.d View Post
    That new Colour Editor is just brilliant. Thank you.

    Kind regards,


    Gerald.
    Thanks Gerald! I think so too.
    David Grover
    Phase One A/S

  11. #11
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    k-hawinkler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    The "Land of Enchantment"
    Posts
    3,296
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One Pro 9 Launched!

    Many thanks. I am using COP9 now and would love to see the Leica WATE 16-18-21/4 lens supported with geometric corrections. TIA.
    With best regards, K-H.

  12. #12
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    6
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One Pro 9 Launched!

    Hi,
    Having a couple of problem with version 9.

    First of all that v9 runs only on macosx 10.10 onwards, thus I had to upgrade from 9.5...
    This was not that clear initially.
    Anyway easy to solve!


    The real problem is another one.
    The lens correction seems not to be available for Leica Monochrom raw files.
    Is this normal?

    If I use a file from a M8 or M9 all works and I can select distortion/etc.
    But with DNGs from the MM the correction tools are greyed out...

    Please help :-)

    Thanks
    G>

  13. #13
    Subscriber & Workshop Member GrahamWelland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    5,798
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    564

    Re: Capture One Pro 9 Launched!

    So far a very nice update. I've been processing some existing images with the new engine and exposure/color tools and I do like the fact that I can use the new luma based options. The new color selection mask option looks to be a very powerful addition to help keep initial edits all in C1. I wish that there was an equivalent luminosity based mask option - Perhaps there's a way to do it with the color editor with some creativity.

    very much appreciate the new 3x activation option as I can now use a single license on my base machine, MBP and surface pro for tethering. It allowed me to keep one of my C1 7 & 8 licenses for my older Macs that can't run 9 due to OS X restrictions.
    Remember: adventure before dementia!

    As Oscar Wilde said, "my tastes are simple, I only like the best"

  14. #14
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    k-hawinkler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    The "Land of Enchantment"
    Posts
    3,296
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One Pro 9 Launched!

    Something peculiar with COP9.
    I start with a full size raw image of size 7952x5304, resize it to 9x16, then go back to full size and end up with 7982x5304.
    Hmm, how did that happen?
    With best regards, K-H.

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Parikkala, Finland
    Posts
    34
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One Pro 9 Launched!

    Been using version 9 for 3 days on Mac with 32 Gt RAM.

    Using Catalogs, first from version 8 that was upgraded by the software. This
    worked with only couple crashes until a new crash and catalog will not open
    or can not be repaired by software it self.

    So I made a new and imported files (> 50 000). Been working today again
    some 5 crashes. Latest are coming when the previews are build.

    The catalog is around 270 Mt and after crash with the so far build previews
    the size 37 Gt.

    Any others having issues?

    Kirmo

    ps. Version 8 running ok. Also LR can handle this amount of files. Would just want to
    move to one software.

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Parikkala, Finland
    Posts
    34
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One Pro 9 Launched!

    Downloaded the new version 9.0.1

    At least a bunch of crashes been fixed.

    Kirmo

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    195
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One Pro 9 Launched!

    Quote Originally Posted by Kirmo View Post
    Been using version 9 for 3 days on Mac with 32 Gt RAM.

    Using Catalogs, first from version 8 that was upgraded by the software. This
    worked with only couple crashes until a new crash and catalog will not open
    or can not be repaired by software it self.

    So I made a new and imported files (> 50 000). Been working today again
    some 5 crashes. Latest are coming when the previews are build.

    The catalog is around 270 Mt and after crash with the so far build previews
    the size 37 Gt.

    Any others having issues?

    Kirmo

    ps. Version 8 running ok. Also LR can handle this amount of files. Would just want to
    move to one software.
    After having stopped using Capture One catalogs over a number of versions due to many crashes, on a hunch I completely disabled the metadata in the third preference pane (image) Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screen Shot 2015-12-24 at 11.18.40.jpg 
Views:	17 
Size:	10.4 KB 
ID:	115267 and suddenly files load quickly and I have had no more crashes.
    maurice da silva solis
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post

  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Bay Area
    Posts
    493
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    17

    Re: Capture One Pro 9 Launched!

    I am an occasional C1 user, my main application being Lightroom. In the past I've always upgraded C1 but this time I'm not sure.

    I've two questions:

    1. I tried the v9 trial. I opened a new catalog and pointed it to my Lightroom Imports folder and asked it to leave the images in their locations. However, if Lightroom 6.x is simultaneously open, Lightroom tells me that the images in that folder are not available?

    2. Why on earth is the only Leica lens supported the 50mm Summicron??

    thanks for any insights...
    Ed

  19. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Bay Area
    Posts
    493
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    17

    Re: Capture One Pro 9 Launched!

    To clarify point 1 above, which is now clearer to me:

    If Lightroom and Capture One are both open, as described above, and I export an image from C1 to my LR Imports folder and then quit Capture One, when I return to Lightroom, Lightroom tells me that none of the images in my import folder are available, except the one re3cently exported from C1.
    Ed

  20. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    195
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One Pro 9 Launched!

    Quote Originally Posted by erudolph View Post
    To clarify point 1 above, which is now clearer to me:

    If Lightroom and Capture One are both open, as described above, and I export an image from C1 to my LR Imports folder and then quit Capture One, when I return to Lightroom, Lightroom tells me that none of the images in my import folder are available, except the one re3cently exported from C1.
    Ed,
    Because I use LR as my catalog, and Capture One 9 to process I no longer create a duplicate or partial catalog with Capture One but use Sessions as follows:
    1. On my HD I make a folder within my photocollection which I call 'CAPTURE ONE SESSION TEMP" and also a folder called "CAPTURE ONE SESSIONS" where I can store sessions I want to keep.
    2. In LR under File/Export I make a preset "TO CAPTURE ONE SESSION TEMP" and under file settings set it to export original file(s) and under "Post Processing to do Nothing. I have set up a keyboard shortcut to automate this.
    3. In LR I then sort the RAW files I want to process in C1 from a specific shoot or folder and export them to the Capture One Temp folder.
    4. In Capture One I make a new session with an appropriate name and import from the Capture One Temp folder storing the images in the Capture Folder of that session. When importing I set preferences in C1 to ignore all metadata and in the import dialog to erase images after import so that the folder is clean and ready for another session.
    After processing all the images to the session output folder I can import all the processed images into LR and do some further processing there or in Photoshop.
    If I want to keep the session for further use, I store it in the Capture One sessions folder or eventually in a separate external drive.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screen Shot 2015-12-27 at 20.36.59.jpg 
Views:	17 
Size:	18.7 KB 
ID:	115314
    maurice da silva solis
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post

  21. #21
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    1
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One Pro 9 Launched!

    (using Sony a7r2 and native FE mount lenses)

    my current workflow is DXO (for their lens correction and anti-noise capabilities in their raw converter) and then export from DXO as DNG into Lightroom and use Lightroom to catalog and various LR plugins to touch up as necessary (really not using LR for any touchups).

    i've heard Capture One has an issue with 'color' when importing anything other than a RAW - so my question is that since i won't be able to use the lens or noise corrections in DXO and i am really interested in this latest release of Capture One - can anyone offer any comparision between DXO and CaptureOne and what i may gain/lose by switching? Does anyone use CaptureOne and then into an Adobe product just for access to some plugins (or native adobe features)?

    thank you very much, eric.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •