The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Processing images on the road

GMB

What do you guys use to do basic image processing and storage while on the road? Specifically, when you are traveling (very) light. When on the road by car I typically used my Mac Book Pro. But I now have a couple of trips coming up where I want to travel very light and where the Mac Book is simply too heavy and bulky.

Godfrey

I'm on the road now, traveling very light on a big six week trip. My computer for everything is an iPad Pro 9x7, with 256G storage. I've been using it exclusively for all my travel needs for the past two to three years.

I don't try to store all exposures I make on it. I pick and choose what I want to work on while on the road from the SD card, process from the raw file to a post-able JPEG, then delete the raw files to conserve space. All the originals stay on the SD cards.

I was processing raw files in PhotoRAW then JPEGS in Snapseed.. this works well. The latest Snapseed processes raw files natively, but I'm finding it doesn't do a great job of sharpening them. I have Affinity Photo now... it's far better at raw processing than either PhotoRAW or Snapseed, but I still have to learn how to use it. Luckily it has a bunch of decent tutorials built in. Looks really good! :)

This little iPad is really great to travel with. My keyboard cover is finally getting a little flakey, after being brutalized for three years, so I'll replace that soon. But the tablet itself... I can hardly tell it's been used at all. A brilliant machine!

G

GMB