Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Capture One 12

  1. #1
    Senior Member Quentin_Bargate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Saffron Walden, UK
    Posts
    2,016
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    58

    Capture One 12

    I'm new to Capture One - this may be a beginner's question with that software, so apologies in advance. Patience is advised....

    When processing a new previosuly unprocessed raw file in C1, then exporting as a TIFF and opening in Photoshop, its all good. Excellent in fact.

    However, processing a raw file in C1 that has previously been processed in ACR, the saved TIFF exported from C1, when previewed in Bridge and also when opened in Photshop, is treated like a raw file. It opens in ACR and colour adjustments are applied.

    I just want to open the file as eported as a TIFF from C1 and not have colour and other adjustments from ACR made some time ago rise up like some monster and afflict the processed file

    I find it weird, but perhaps I'm missing something dead obvious.

    Told you I was new to C1!

    The files are from a Fuji GFX 50S

    Thanks
    Quentin Bargate
    CEO of Bargate Murray, Law Firm of the Year 2012 - 2019, ”leading individual”, Chambers HNW guide, 2019, Photographer

  2. #2
    Senior Member Quentin_Bargate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Saffron Walden, UK
    Posts
    2,016
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    58

    Re: Capture One 12

    Follow up: IF I open the Tiff in SilkyPix, no problem. Its only if the file is opened in Photoshop that old adjustments made by ACR are applied.

    It must be the case the C1 converted file still "remembers" it was previously processed in ACR, and opens the file in ACR and applies the ACR changes (including any crop). Is this a C1 problem? What is the solution? Its preventing me reprocessing old RAW files in C1.
    Quentin Bargate
    CEO of Bargate Murray, Law Firm of the Year 2012 - 2019, ”leading individual”, Chambers HNW guide, 2019, Photographer

  3. #3
    Subscriber and Workshop Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,969
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One 12

    I believe that the difficulty lies with Adobe products.

    You should be able to turn off the default profile color sharpening etc for the files ... but that is based on the camera the file is from ... I believe.

    That may mean that you may need to do two things ... if you will use LR or ACR for the camera files without C1 in the future you may need to
    save a profile for the camera that you prefer in ACR/PS/LR. Then you can apply it to the files ... if you uncheck all of the options for processing and
    apply that as a default for your camera ... TIF or Raw ... you should be able to open the C1 TIFs without corrections applied. Just a guess. If the corrections from
    C1 are saved in a meta file I assume that a friendly software would read them and use them but Adobe and Phase may not play that well together.

    I pretty much dislike the majority of the canned corrections that Adobe applies so I have had my LR/ACR set to nothing for every new camera I use.

    Another potential is to delete the side car file with the corrections ... potentially then rename the Raw file so that your original file ACR processing is saved.

    Hope you get a better detailed response from someone more current in post for stills.

    Regards,

    Bob

  4. #4
    Member Arjuna's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta
    Posts
    211
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One 12

    In my environment, processing in ACR generates a filename.xmp file to match the filename.raw file. If I delete the .xmp file, all the adjustments that I made in ACR are lost. I suspect that any Adobe program would find the .xmp and apply the adjustments in it, when opening a file.
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  5. #5
    Subscriber and Workshop Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,969
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One 12

    The .xmp file is the sidecar file ... delete it or change the name or ending so that you can re-use it if you desire down the road as a
    starting point if a new ACR or PS process is favored. Like a batch change from filename*.xmp to filename*.xmp.old ... will keep it
    from being seen by ACR.

  6. #6
    Subscriber & Workshop Member GrahamWelland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    6,327
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    624

    Re: Capture One 12

    I export as PSD and this never happens.
    Remember: adventure before dementia!

    The World is a book, and those that do not travel read only one page ...
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post

  7. #7
    Senior Member Quentin_Bargate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Saffron Walden, UK
    Posts
    2,016
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    58

    Re: Capture One 12

    Quote Originally Posted by GrahamWelland View Post
    I export as PSD and this never happens.
    Sounds good, Graham, I will try that.
    Quentin Bargate
    CEO of Bargate Murray, Law Firm of the Year 2012 - 2019, ”leading individual”, Chambers HNW guide, 2019, Photographer

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    228
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One 12

    I just processed some RAW files in Capture One 12 and then sent the TIFF back to the same Lightroom folder and imported them back into my LR catalog by synchronizing that folder.
    What came in looked different and even were cropped differently.
    This has often happened in the past and is easily solved by going into the Develop module and clicking the RESET and all is corrected
    maurice da silva solis

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •