The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Capture One 12

Quentin_Bargate

I'm new to Capture One - this may be a beginner's question with that software, so apologies in advance. Patience is advised....

When processing a new previosuly unprocessed raw file in C1, then exporting as a TIFF and opening in Photoshop, its all good. Excellent in fact.

However, processing a raw file in C1 that has previously been processed in ACR, the saved TIFF exported from C1, when previewed in Bridge and also when opened in Photshop, is treated like a raw file. It opens in ACR and colour adjustments are applied.

I just want to open the file as eported as a TIFF from C1 and not have colour and other adjustments from ACR made some time ago rise up like some monster and afflict the processed file

I find it weird, but perhaps I'm missing something dead obvious.

Told you I was new to C1!

The files are from a Fuji GFX 50S

Thanks

Quentin_Bargate

Follow up: IF I open the Tiff in SilkyPix, no problem. Its only if the file is opened in Photoshop that old adjustments made by ACR are applied.

It must be the case the C1 converted file still "remembers" it was previously processed in ACR, and opens the file in ACR and applies the ACR changes (including any crop). Is this a C1 problem? What is the solution? Its preventing me reprocessing old RAW files in C1.

docmoore

Subscriber and Workshop Member
I believe that the difficulty lies with Adobe products.

You should be able to turn off the default profile color sharpening etc for the files ... but that is based on the camera the file is from ... I believe.