Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: C1 crashs constantly

  1. #1
    Subscriber Member Georg Baumann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    787
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    82

    C1 crashs constantly

    For what's it worth, here is what happens for the second time now:

    System MacPro 8 core 2.93, 32 Gig Ram, OSX 10.57, C1 4.81

    Message: 15x in one go! OUT OF MEMORY PLEASE RESTART THE APPLLICATION

    C1 can not be force quit. Hard reset is the only option.

    Ram used by C1 2.45 GB

    Suggestions by Phase one:

    - Delete .col45
    - Delete com.phaseone.captureone.plist User / Library / Preferences
    - Delete batch queue user/ / Library / Application support / Capture One

    I am using C1 only since 2 weeks hence I have not 30,000 pictures in it. No one so far could explain to me whay this keeps happening.

    I fear this is not the most stable software, may be?

  2. #2
    Subscriber Member Georg Baumann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    787
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    82

    Re: C1 crashs constantly

    P.S.

    Forgot to say, the first time that happened, I was continuing to work in other apps, and after 15 minutes or so C1 came with the message

    LOADING TIME EXPIRED DO YOU WANT TO FORCE QUIT YES OR NO

    Confirming YES did not quit C1 either.

    Further, no error report was offered to be send to phase one.

  3. #3
    Subscriber Member Georg Baumann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    787
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    82

    MacPro 8core Nehalem 32 Gig OSX10.5.7, C1 crashs constantly

    Update:

    Some chap who knows more about it, suggest not to delete the three files. His assumption is, that C1 has a problem with this particular, admittedly relatively new Mac. He checks with other support people and get's back to me.

    Looks like C1 is also not 64 bit, not yet anyway.

    May be this thread helps people with a smimilar maschne in the future, if I can get a solution for this problem that is.

  4. #4
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,275
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    7

    Re: C1 crashs constantly

    Speaking in the broad context of the totality of our customer's experience 4.8.1 has been the most stable version of Capture One since 3.7.9.

    This is really saying something since 3.7.9 had a almost mythical reputation for stability.

    That said; it sounds like for some unknown reason your particular setup is completely unstable. I know that such problems can be unbelievably frustrating and really try your patience. If you're interested in continuing to troubleshoot you could try the following steps to isolate the problem:
    - Boot the Mac Pro using the software from another mac. To do this find another Intel Mac and boot it holding T which will turn that mac into an bootable "external" hard drive. Connect the two macs using a short (3-15ft) high quality firewire cable. Then boot the Troublesome Mac Pro holding Option and select the orange "external" hard drive (i.e. boot using the other mac's software). Then download and install C1, being careful to fully remove any trace of previous versions of C1.
    - Boot another mac using the software from the Mac Pro. Reverse the above process; boot the troublesome Mac Pro holding T, boot the other mac holding option and select to boot from the "external" Mac Pro's software.

    This will isolate if the Mac Pro's hardware or OS/software is the issue. If it turns out that the issue is the Mac Pro's software then I'd try running Disk Warrior and/or Cocktail which run various maintenance/repair scripts.

    Doug

    Doug Peterson (e-mail Me)
    __________________
    Head of Technical Services, Capture Integration
    Phase One, Canon, Apple, Profoto, Eizo & More
    National: 877.217.9870 | Cell: 740.707.2183
    Newsletter: Read Latest or Sign Up

  5. #5
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    32 31' 37.06" N, 111 6' 0.9" W
    Posts
    4,333
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: C1 crashs constantly

    Georg - While I'm not using a MAC I am however using C1 4.8.1 on 2 separate 64 bit machines and have never had a moment of trouble that I didn't cause myself. It sounds like a hardware vs software problem like Doug suggests.

    How long have you had this Mac? Did you add any hardware or software to it since loading C1?

    I switched from Mac to PC over 5 years now so I'm very limited in any knowledge base and can only offer general thoughts so follow Doug's advise before mine .

    Don
    Don Libby
    Iron Creek Photography
    Blog
    Tucson AZ

  6. #6
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    Re: C1 crashs constantly

    I had few stability issues until the build before this last one. To fix that I followed Doug's CI clean instal advice and deleted the Col45, plist and batch files, reloaded, then restarted. Even so, I find it starts behaving oddly if I leave it open for more than about 3 hours at a time, so my current fix is to shut it down and restart it every few hours. Everything's been peachy since, FWIW
    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

  7. #7
    Subscriber Member Georg Baumann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    787
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    82

    Re: C1 crashs constantly

    Thanks Folks!

    Feedback from phase one:

    This a known issue with the high performance Mac's and all they can recommend is to wait for 4.82 which is supposed to be out this month. <shrugs>

  8. #8
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    Re: C1 crashs constantly

    Update:

    I just had this problem occur for the first time, and think I have discovered the cause -- unfortunately it will require a coding fix, so all this tip will do is help you avoid the issue going forward.

    It seems, at least in my case, the crash only occurs when browsing a session output folder from within C1, regardless of type, size or number of images within. I confirmed this by successfully forcing it to happen several times. It also appears it may only happen when you browse from within one session to a different session's output folder, but I have not confirmed that entirely with repeated trials yet (and frankly don't care to).

    What's interesting, is I can move those same images out of the session output and into a normal folder, and have no issues browsing them there. is that?

    Hopefully we have a fix soon...
    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •