Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 23 of 23

Thread: Snow Leopard

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    211
    Post Thanks / Like

    Snow Leopard

    The update for the Mac operating system, Snow Leopard is going to be released on Friday. Supposed to run a lot faster.

    Will Photoshop and LightRoom work on it?

    I'm assuming not until Adobe updates them. Anyone know?

    Best,

    Mitchell

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    202
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Snow Leopard

    Most applications should run fine.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    211
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Snow Leopard

    Thanks Tim.

    I'll wait for news from the early adopters, but nice to know.

    Best,

    Mitchell

  4. #4
    Senior Member Per Ofverbeck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    503
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    5

    Re: Snow Leopard

    According to this list, CS2 won´t work (and I´m still using it for the few cases when LR can´t do what I need). Also, printer compatibility for my Epson 3800 is unknown. Well, I´m in no hurry...

  5. #5
    Deceased, but remembered fondly here... johnastovall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Dublin, Texas, U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,549
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    112

    Re: Snow Leopard

    I've ordered a copy for my notebook just to check it out as I'm looking at replacing my desktop machine with a new Mac Pro. Nothing on the notebook is critical.

    "The market wants a Leica to be a Leica: the inheritor of tradition, the subject of lore, and indisputably a mark of status to own."
    Mike Johnston


  6. #6
    Subscriber & Workshop Member GrahamWelland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    5,802
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    564

    Re: Snow Leopard

    Quote Originally Posted by Mitchell View Post
    The update for the Mac operating system, Snow Leopard is going to be released on Friday. Supposed to run a lot faster.

    Will Photoshop and LightRoom work on it?

    I'm assuming not until Adobe updates them. Anyone know?

    Best,

    Mitchell
    Lightroom 2.4 and Nikon Capture NX2 work fine on Snow Leopard, although they only run as native Intel 32bit (vs 64bit) applications.

    I've been running Snow Leopard builds for months on one of my laptops (in fact the one I'm typing this on).

  7. #7
    Subscriber & Workshop Member GrahamWelland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    5,802
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    564

    Re: Snow Leopard

    Here you go ... (excuse the ugly colour)


  8. #8
    Subscriber & Workshop Member GrahamWelland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    5,802
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    564

    Re: Snow Leopard

    As a general note, I'd avoid rushing to install on any critical machines until:
    1. you've got a full backup of your machine
    2. give it a few days for any last minute screw ups to be found by others on the internet.

  9. #9
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Snow Leopard

    Graham do you have C1 Pro. Would love to find out if it is working you can download a free trial if you want to try it.
    http://www.phaseone.com/4/

    I know many folks on this forum would love a answer. ME for one
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,513
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Snow Leopard

    Even more to worry about for some....

    http://www.appleinsider.com/articles...w_leopard.html

    Basically, Adobe is saying that they are not going to support CS3 apps on Snow Leopard (10.6), so folks that may have taken a pass on updating to CS4 last year are now going to have to update if they want to run the new Mac OS (Snow Leopard). (Did not see anything about LR.....yet.)

    So at this point, SL will only run on Intel Macs (meaning working G5 and older machines are out), and now, Adobe is saying it will not support older than CS4 on the new OS. So any savings on the OS upgrade is going to be lost many times over for the CS4 upgrade that some of us may have passed......sigh.

    LJ

  11. #11
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Snow Leopard

    Have Cs4 so not worried about that one . I may actually partition with dual boots just until things clear up. Than when all settles down fully go snow. i have enough backup drives to do several things to cover myself. Keep a copy of Leopard OS , Copy of Snow leopard OS and I can go either way depending on what is not working
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  12. #12
    Subscriber & Workshop Member GrahamWelland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    5,802
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    564

    Re: Snow Leopard

    Sorry folks, I can't run up C1Pro on my Snow Leopard laptop as I had a trial already installed on it which has expired so I only get the nag screen.

    Let me see if I can find one of my Leica C1 license keys and unlock it later.

    The only issues I really ran into during the beta testing were to do with the video drivers and some of the rendering of panels/popups. I suspect that these bugs have been ironed out in the final release. I haven't tried image printing from my Snow Leopard laptop so can't attest to that - general printing on my networked HP & Brother lasers works perfectly.

  13. #13
    Ranger 9
    Guest

    Re: Snow Leopard

    Quote Originally Posted by LJL View Post
    Even more to worry about for some....
    Basically, Adobe is saying that they are not going to support CS3 apps on Snow Leopard...
    Not so fast there, folks; this direct from (Photoshop principal product manager) John Nack's blog:

    "Update: No one said anything about CS3 being "not supported" on Snow Leopard."

    He continues: "The plan, however, is not to take resources away from other efforts (e.g. porting Photoshop to Cocoa) in order to modify 2.5-year-old software in response to changes Apple makes in the OS foundation."

    I don't think that's much different from what most developers do with non-current software on non-current OS versions.

  14. #14
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    etrigan63's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Earth, Sol System (near Miami, FL)
    Posts
    2,501
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    21

    Re: Snow Leopard

    IIRC, LR 2.4 runs as a 64-bit app in Leopard. I think there is a switch you have to set in the preferences. I will check when I get home.
    Carlos Echenique | Carlos Echenique Photography |Olympus OM-D E-M1 MK II | Olympus Pen-F - M.Zuiko 17mm f/1.8, M.Zuiko 25mm f/1.8, M.Zuiko 45mm f/1.8, Rokinon 12mm f/2 NCS, M.Zuiko 75mm f/1.8, M.Zuiko 12-40mm f/2.8 PRO, M.Zuiko 40-150mm f/2.8 PRO

  15. #15
    Subscriber & Workshop Member GrahamWelland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    5,802
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    564

    Re: Snow Leopard

    Carlos,

    You are quite correct. If you click on LR in your applications directory and then File->Get Info you will see that there is a radio button for "Open in 32bit Mode" that by default is selected. I assume it was selected because the app was already installed on the box when I upgraded to Snow Leopard.

    Click it off and LR starts in 64 bit mode



    Last edited by GrahamWelland; 26th August 2009 at 12:15.

  16. #16
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    jonoslack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    East Anglia & Cornwall (UK)
    Posts
    11,778
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: Snow Leopard

    Quote Originally Posted by GrahamWelland View Post
    Carlos,

    You are quite correct. If you click on LR in your applications directory and then File->Get Info you will see that there is a radio button for "Open in 32bit Mode" that by default is selected. I assume it was selected because the app was already installed on the box when I upgraded to Snow Leopard.
    HI Graham - this tick box is there in 10.5.8 as well (FWIW).

    Just this guy you know

  17. #17
    Subscriber & Workshop Member GrahamWelland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    5,802
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    564

    Re: Snow Leopard

    Thanks Jono,

    On my other boxes I'd selected this but on my MacBook Air I had it checked for some reason and had forgotten all about it.

  18. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Tubac, Arizona
    Posts
    139
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Snow Leopard

    Compatibility of PS CS3 with Snow Leopard clarified by PS Project Mgr: Wednesday August 26, 2009 08:42 PM EST
    Written by Eric Slivka
    Earlier today, we reported on comments from Adobe Principal Product Manager for Photoshop John Nack pointing to a new FAQ document noting that only Creative Suite 4 will be officially supported on Apple's forthcoming Snow Leopard operating system, with Creative Suite 3 and earlier versions reportedly not having been tested on Snow Leopard.

    Nack has now posted an update after investigating the CS3 situation in which he reveals that Adobe and Apple actually did do extensive testing of at least Photoshop CS3 on Snow Leopard and found that it is in fact compatible with the new operating system. It turns out that the Photoshop team has tested Photoshop CS3 on Snow Leopard, and to the best of our knowledge, PS CS3 works fine on Snow Leopard.

    Nack notes that only two minor issues remain that his Photoshop team is aware of: window highlight rings in Exposé and text field nudging in Japanese versions of Snow Leopard. But while Photoshop CS3 otherwise appears to be perfectly compatible with Snow Leopard, Adobe has chosen to not categorize it as officially supported due to the level of testing it feels would be required in order to be entirely confident in that statement.

  19. #19
    Jamesmd
    Guest

    Re: Snow Leopard

    will Aperture run on snow leopard?!!!http://forum.getdpi.com/forum/images...h_SmlyROFL.gif

    just a joke , I hope

    Cheers

    James

  20. #20
    Subscriber Member TRSmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Central Maine, U.S.A.
    Posts
    2,406
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    9

    Re: Snow Leopard

    There's some good information and clarification on the whole 32 bit vs. 64 bit issue along with links to other articles that list which apps will be compatible, and how to prep for the install.

    Pretty trusted source can be found here: http://www.macobserver.com/tmo/artic...snow_leopard1/

  21. #21
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    etrigan63's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Earth, Sol System (near Miami, FL)
    Posts
    2,501
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    21

    Re: Snow Leopard

    Well I just loaded Snow Leopard and most all of my apps are in the clear. A couple utilities need to have their PrefPanes recompiled, but nothing major. The only real glitch I have is no support (yet) for my Canon W6400 printer. I have an e-mail into Canon support to see when this will be resolved.

    Oh, WideMail and GrowlMail need to be updated.
    Carlos Echenique | Carlos Echenique Photography |Olympus OM-D E-M1 MK II | Olympus Pen-F - M.Zuiko 17mm f/1.8, M.Zuiko 25mm f/1.8, M.Zuiko 45mm f/1.8, Rokinon 12mm f/2 NCS, M.Zuiko 75mm f/1.8, M.Zuiko 12-40mm f/2.8 PRO, M.Zuiko 40-150mm f/2.8 PRO

  22. #22
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    281
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Snow Leopard

    how come my lightroom does not say camera raw 5.4 (or anythign else) on the splash screen startup?

    how can i make sure camera raw is being used?

  23. #23
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    etrigan63's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Earth, Sol System (near Miami, FL)
    Posts
    2,501
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    21

    Re: Snow Leopard

    That info is in the About box after you launch the app, not in the splash screen.
    Carlos Echenique | Carlos Echenique Photography |Olympus OM-D E-M1 MK II | Olympus Pen-F - M.Zuiko 17mm f/1.8, M.Zuiko 25mm f/1.8, M.Zuiko 45mm f/1.8, Rokinon 12mm f/2 NCS, M.Zuiko 75mm f/1.8, M.Zuiko 12-40mm f/2.8 PRO, M.Zuiko 40-150mm f/2.8 PRO

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •