The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Infrared photography on the 'standard' IQ4 150mp

beano_z

I did search around on the internet but so far without good solid result. I was wondering whether anyone has tried to shoot infrared on their 'normal' IQ4 150 digital backs? Can the live view still be used or is that absolutely out of the question?

I have an IR720 filter on the way, which is what I'll start off with and I'm a complete newbie to this all, so any advice is more than welcome.

I'm planning to trying this with the XF and assorted SK lenses and I've read all sorts of scary comments on extremely long exposures, hotspots, focus shifts, etc. Of course, I'm not expecting to shoot this combination handheld, long exposures are absolutely fine with me.

I'm no dedicated infrared shooter and want to use the filter just once in a while when the conditions allow.

Thanks!

anwarp

I have an IQ 260 I had converted to full spectrum by P1. No live view, so I used a sunny day to calibrate my main lenses for the IR shift. I reload the system settings from two sets of cards for the 2 backs.
I do see hotspots (slight colour cast) with the 55 80 and 110 sk br lenses.

Regarding the vanilla IQ4 150, I need to try it, but I expect live view will be useless unless you have enough IR getting through the IR cutoff filter.

Wet and cloudy over the next few days here in London.

I‘m very interested in getting to know what you discover.

Thanks!

beano_z

I‘m very interested in getting to know what you discover.

Thanks!