The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Be Careful with Your Digital Backs!!

darr

I have been using digital backs for at least 10 years now. Always careful with them, whether shooting in the studio or out in the environment. But yesterday while I was on the darn phone and breaking down a camera setup in the studio (complacency) it happened so EASILY!! As I was holding the CFV-50c in my left hand and over its case (just in case it fell 🤣), I placed its rear cover on and when I went to slide its button to secure the cover, the cover slipped and it cracked the IR glass. 😭 It was that easy!! All because I was on the phone and not paying close enough attention. 🤬

B&H Photo is shipping a new CFV-50c II to me today (they are currently available) and Hasselblad Tech Support has been contacted and sent instructions on the process for a repair. The CFV-50c which has been an absolute wonderful tool for my needs will be repaired in Sweden.

I will update the progress of the repair in this thread.

Kind regards,
Darr

IMG_2016 copy.jpg

Last edited:

vieri

Very sorry to hear that, Darr :( hope you'll have your back back real quick! (sorry about the pun)

Best regards,

Vieri

epforever

I have a tank of compressed nitrogen here that I use for cleaning negs before drum scanning. Years ago, one time I used that tank to blow dust off the IR filter on my back. Whatever miniscule particles were inside the nozzle blew into the IR filter with such force that they created small "pits," as Hasselblad called them. The IR filter had to be replaced in Sweden. Such a delicate little piece.

darr