The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Ideas for post workflow with Hassey 907x-cfv ii 50c and xcd 21mm lens

emilediaz

I am not new to digital photography or digital post workflows but I am new to the cfv ii 50c and the Hassey FFF file format.

Currently, I am shooting with 907x-cfv ii 50c and xcd 21mm lens. I have access to Adobe Lightroom, Photoshop, as well as Capture One, and of course, Phocus. My priorities are these: I want to make sure that I get to apply whatever Hasselblad wants me to, in the way of corrections for their lens. I appreciate the vignette and the distortion fixes that Phocus puts on the files coming off the xcd 21 mm lens. At the end of this process, I still want to have maximum flexibility in terms of a RAW or a DNG file, outside of Phocus. That way I can make any other edits in LR or Photoshop. I do not like the idea of exporting 16-bit tiffs out of Phocus as this will "bake" the settings into the file. I am sure I am being ultra-paranoid here and that the tiffs will be fine.

When I read the posts here, it seems the best option that people suggest is to simply stay in Phocus all the way through. I am sure I am wary of this pathway as I know LR and Photoshop way better than I know Phocus. But people here seem to imply that there is little that LR and Photoshop can do that Phocus cannot. (Of course, I mean that strictly in the context of processing raw files and not in the other forms of file management that LR allows for, or all the fancy features that Photoshop has to offer.)