The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Adapting Pentax A 645 35mm to Mamiya 645

Focusrite

Hello all, I thought this might be of interest to someone. :)

Before I dived into medium format and began collecting a few lenses for my Mamiya ADF body, I looked into whether an adapter was available to convert the Pentax 645 glass to the Mamiya 645 mount, as my background is in Pentax and I'm reasonably familiar with the lenses. A lot of people had been asking the same question on forums for years, with the 35mm tending to be raised in conversation the most, due to reportedly being considered superior to the Mamiya in image quality and being a somewhat affordable wide-angle lens. Despite the interest, the answer was No, there is not an adapter.

So I looked into it a bit further and adapted a lens anyway. I purchased a good Pentax A 35mm, stripped the bayonet mount off it and machined up an adapting plate, including a bayonet. Overall, I'm happy that the thing actually works, as I completely bodged a Mk.I version of my adapter, but the Mk.II works well. No modification was required on the lens itself other than removing the bayonet plate and baffle piece, so the lens can be reassembled back to its original configuration without difficulty. Some of the machining was difficult, mainly with my unfamiliarity working with aluminium, using an unfamiliar lathe without any form of digital readout, and cutting the bayonet groove.