Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: 570 Megapixel digital camera!

  1. #1
    Senior Member bradhusick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Seattle, WA USA
    Posts
    2,498
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    53

    570 Megapixel digital camera!

    http://gizmodo.com/5447137/570+megap...of-all-cameras

    now, can someone recommend which Gitzo tripod to use with it?

  2. #2
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    Re: 570 Megapixel digital camera!

    LOLOL! Pretty interesting
    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    534
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: 570 Megapixel digital camera!

    I can just see the "which bag" threads now.

    And can you travel with it carry on?

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    254
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: 570 Megapixel digital camera!

    I would love to see the email to Eclipse asking which sensor swab to use...

    4 gallons of fluid and couple of mops ?

  5. #5
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    32° 31' 37.06" N, 111° 6' 0.9" W
    Posts
    4,333
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: 570 Megapixel digital camera!

    Been looking for the right strap for it as well as a L bracket. Kirk and RRS both say they'd made one if enough people contact them.
    Don Libby
    Iron Creek Photography
    Blog
    Tucson AZ

  6. #6
    tokengirl
    Guest

    Re: 570 Megapixel digital camera!

    How much RAM would I have to install in my iMac? I am guessing my current 4Gb is probably not enough?

  7. #7
    Contributing Editor ustein's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,658
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: 570 Megapixel digital camera!

    Quote Originally Posted by bradhusick View Post
    http://gizmodo.com/5447137/570+megap...of-all-cameras

    now, can someone recommend which Gitzo tripod to use with it?
    I hope to get the m4/3 version soon
    Uwe Steinmueller
    -------------------

    Editor&Owner of Digital Outback Photo
    http://www.outbackphoto.com

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Reykjavik, Iceland
    Posts
    2,310
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    9

    Re: 570 Megapixel digital camera!

    I am kind of surprised it is only 570 megapixels actually...that is only 10 times the resolution of the current consumer state of the art. I would guess that the 570mp number is actually a lot lower than what its comparative resolution is....
    My photos are here: http://www.stuartrichardson.com and more recent work here: http://stuartrichardson.tumblr.com/ Please have a look at my book!
    My lab is here: http://www.customphotolab.is and on facebook

  9. #9
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    32° 31' 37.06" N, 111° 6' 0.9" W
    Posts
    4,333
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: 570 Megapixel digital camera!

    I won’t buy one till I make certain I can find an adapter for my Schneider lens.
    Don Libby
    Iron Creek Photography
    Blog
    Tucson AZ

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Tubac, Arizona
    Posts
    139
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: 570 Megapixel digital camera!

    Calling Jim Collum. Calling Jim Collum. Your mission, should you decide to accept it, is to find a Petzval with an image circle large enough to shoot a billboard for Grand Central Station. Digitars need not apply!

  11. #11
    Senior Member Lars's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Sunnyvale, California
    Posts
    1,811
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    19

    Re: 570 Megapixel digital camera!

    Quote Originally Posted by tokengirl View Post
    How much RAM would I have to install in my iMac? I am guessing my current 4Gb is probably not enough?
    Actually there's a serious answer to that... My drum scans of 8x10 film are 320 Mpix and I'm doing OK with 6 gigs, so I guess with 12-16 GB you should be OK. (You might need something with a bit more oomph than an iMac though.)
    Monochrome: http://mochro.com

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •