The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

LF Workshops

L

lilmsmaggie

I posted this on another forum but no one wanted to respond so, I'll try my luck here:

IMHO - this is the essence of the process we call learning. It's recursive. It's continous. It's a cycle of maturation. We learn. We become proficient, or we master. We teach others as we learn and in turn are taught by them.

As a noob, I find it curious that most if not all the workshops I've investigated have as their main focus, printing. I think I understand why.

The printing process itself is a skill that one has to grasp in order to fulfill one's photographic vision. But why such strong emphasis? All you have to do is look at the threads under the topic of workshops on any large format photography forum. I would think that there should be equal emphasis placed on learning to use the camera as a "tool" first, before indulging oneself in the carbon palladium processes, wet plate collodian and other alternative processess and the like. :confused:

I think I'm about 1/4 into Leslie's Stroebel's book and already I have a headache. There are so many more considerations with large format photography that I don't even think I considered coming from 35mm.

On the surface, the thought of using a LF camera is very intimidating. Tilts, swings & shifts, rise & falls, scheimpflug, bellows factor -- OUCH! my head is hurting already.

Can someone explain why there are so few workshops on camera technique and so many devoted to printing? :)

darr