The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Chamonix 4x5 or a more expensive camera

E

Eivind

Hi. I am a Photography student from Norway running on a low budget.
I have still saved around 4000 USD (+/-) to spend on large format 4x5 " camera (if necessary) including accessories.

I almost decided to buy a Chamonix 4x5. This would give me some more money for the accessories.

At the same time another part of me tells me to spend more money on the camera itself and buy Ebony SV45Ti or a Linhof master when first buying one. This camera will probably follow me for some years, and as I am aiming for fine art photography in the future, wouldn't it be nice to buy the ONE 4x5" at this point ?

My use: I will mostly travel a bit around with this camera. Both on locations, and on longer field trips. This is why I have to choose a light camera. I realised the SV45Ti is not too heavy, even though the Chamonix is even lighter. Other big differences(?) please bring it to issue.

However - How much more of a camera do I get when buying the Ebony instead of the Chamonix? Would it be smart to use my money on a good lens instead?

I definitely need a good and sharp lens for portraits. This is first priority! I also need a wider one, possibly around 90 mm for landscapes. But open for suggestions. But if you could choose two, that will fit and are amazing for the prize, please let me know !!

Will you help me to choose which camera, as I am having a fight with myself here =)
Also, please choose ONE lens for portraits, and One for landscapes/urban use.