The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

new to large format - advices on camera

sergiofigliolia

Hi all,
I am brand new to large format photography.
I'd like to buy my first camera and wanted some advice.
I would use it for city landscape photography.
Since my favourite focal length is 35mm (in 35mm format) I thought I'd buy a large format camera and a lens that would have the equivalent field of view of a 35mm.
Actually I thought to start by using a 6x7 roll film back (I already shoot medium format) so a 75mm lens that is more or less same as a 35mm fov.
As per cameras I thought either a second hand Linhof Technikardan 45(though I noticed it is 3kgs!!!) or a Shen Hao TFC45 IIB.
I like the fact to have a non folding so I can leave the lens on and set up the system quickly.
The question would be if the shen hao allows full movements at 75mm (I guess I need a bag bellows at that length).
Also I got quite intrigued by Shen Hao TFC69-A which is only 6x9.
It'd be nice to have such a small camera (again the question if you can have full movements at 75mm).
Any users used those?

Last edited:

GregMO

I personally use monorails for both my 4x5 and 5x7. They're not too bad lugging around but I am not hiking for hours with them either. Do some research & decide what best suits your needs: monorail or field camera. I would buy used. You can get some great cameras at the fraction of their cost new.

Here is some helpful info about LF lenses:
lenses for 4x5 in
35mm equivalent in 4x5 works out to 135-150mm lens range. 75mm is very wide on 4x5.