The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Focus assurance question

MCTuomey

Noob here -

I've built a small LF kit around an Ebony RW45 and now am working on technique. A friend who has many years' experience in commercial product photography with LF equipment looked at my first few negs. Among his comments he criticized the lack of sharpness. I fully recognize the largest variable is my own inexperience, but I was thinking that it might be a good idea to confirm the camera itself isn't the issue (the RW45 came to me used).

How do you measure the lens-to-film plane and the lens-to-ground glass distances and ensure they are within tolerance?

Or is this obsessive on my part?

First post - thanks in advance for any advice.

Mike

Jack

Sr. Administrator
Staff member
First off, what magnification is your loupe? If it is anything less than 6x, you are only getting close. 3x or 4x is almost useless for critical focus. Next, the loupe diopter HAS to be set perfectly for your eyes -- if that adjustment is off, your GG focus will always be off.

Now to checking the GG position: First remove the film back from the camera. If there is a fresnel screen, remove it and reinstall the GG. Then using a steel rule across the flats and a depth gauge, measure the depth to the GG and then insert a filmholder and measure the same depth to the back of the filmholder. The filmholder measurement should be .008" deeper, +/- .004 (so between .004 and .012 deeper), than the one to the GG. If it varies from that, the GG needs to be shimmed or shaved appropriately.