The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Looking for a M lens primer, for M9 use

mjm6

Hi folks,

I am new to the 'M' world, (but I've used LTM Canon and other rangefinders in the past, so I'm familiar with the RF world), and I'm looking for a lot of information on the various lenses in the 21mm, 28mm, 35mm focal lengths for use on am M9 (but probably for use on an M6 or something similar until I can swing the coin).

My most preferred focal length on 35mm cameras has long been 24mm, but the use of RF cameras has mostly discouraged this due to the need for an external viewfinder. For that reason, I am thinking that the 28mm and 35mm are good, and then pick up a 21mm (or something similar) for the wide end, and either a 75mm or 90mm at the long end.

I currently have a Sony a900 and Leica adapted R 21mm, 28mm, and 35mm lenses for that camera, so following that lead may be a very logical approach for focal length familarity.

However, I probably have no need for high speed lenses, as most of my shooting is in the f8 realm, so the wonderful (and very expensive) modern lux lenses are probably lost on me. I don't particularly shoot people (close work), so I don't think the ASPH lenses would do much for me either. I shoot landscape (more intimate landscape rather than broad scenics) and industrial/architectural subjects mostly. I also would prefer to go light whenever possible...

So, the new elmar lenses may be good considerations, but there are now some great new CZ lenses available, and let's not forget the Voigtlander lenses and all the older Leica lenses as well.