The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Zenfolio or Smugmug?

clay stewart

Due to the recent apparent collapse of PBase, I find myself in need of a new hosting site. I'm now doing the trial at Smugmug, but I'm also wondering about Zenfolio.

Mostly what I've been doing for the past four years is a Photo a day, so when PBase went down a few days ago, I found my self at a loss for what to do with my daily images - sort of became a habit I guess, so I signed up for Smugmug, so I could at least continue with the PAD.

I didn't really notice anything there like the PBase PAD community though. Not sure about Zenfolio either. I sort of like the idea of being able to sell prints, as I never got that up and rolling on PBase.

Anyway, I was curious about what others felt as far as Smugmug and Zenfolio go for a PAD gallery and possible print sales.

Also, I'm wondering, if PBase gets up and going again and still has my images, for the past four years, is there a way to transfer those images to either Smugmug or Zenfolio? Thanks Clay

P.S. I tried to ask this question on the help function at Smugmug, but haven't got a response now, for a couple of days.

glenerrolrd

Workshop Member
We have been happy with Zenfolio although the print sales can be a little tricky. The quality is typical MPIX which is fine for most inexpensive prints. The galleries are pretty nice ...but its not a blog format which is nice for PAD.

nostatic