Site Sponsors

Thread: Zenfolio or Smugmug?

Post Thanks / Like

Zenfolio or Smugmug?

Due to the recent apparent collapse of PBase, I find myself in need of a new hosting site. I'm now doing the trial at Smugmug, but I'm also wondering about Zenfolio.

Mostly what I've been doing for the past four years is a Photo a day, so when PBase went down a few days ago, I found my self at a loss for what to do with my daily images - sort of became a habit I guess, so I signed up for Smugmug, so I could at least continue with the PAD.

I didn't really notice anything there like the PBase PAD community though. Not sure about Zenfolio either. I sort of like the idea of being able to sell prints, as I never got that up and rolling on PBase.

Anyway, I was curious about what others felt as far as Smugmug and Zenfolio go for a PAD gallery and possible print sales.

Also, I'm wondering, if PBase gets up and going again and still has my images, for the past four years, is there a way to transfer those images to either Smugmug or Zenfolio? Thanks Clay

P.S. I tried to ask this question on the help function at Smugmug, but haven't got a response now, for a couple of days.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Zenfolio or Smugmug?

We have been happy with Zenfolio although the print sales can be a little tricky. The quality is typical MPIX which is fine for most inexpensive prints. The galleries are pretty nice ...but its not a blog format which is nice for PAD.

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by glenerrolrd View Post
    We have been happy with Zenfolio although the print sales can be a little tricky. The quality is typical MPIX which is fine for most inexpensive prints. The galleries are pretty nice ...but its not a blog format which is nice for PAD.
    Thanks Roger.

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by glenerrolrd View Post