Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Nikon SB 800 on M8?

  1. #1
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Nikon SB 800 on M8?

    Can we use the SB 800 Nikon flash on the M8's . If so i am going to sell my Metz 54 which is a great flash but I just bought a Nikon D300 and the SB800 for outside the M8 zone of comfort and don't need the Metz 54 if the Nikon will work. All i care about is A mode.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  2. #2
    Senior Member Daniel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    philadelphia
    Posts
    256
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Nikon SB 800 on M8?

    SB800 works. Just in case you might be wondering about the SB400, this one doesn't work

  3. #3
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Nikon SB 800 on M8?

    Can we adjust the ISO and Zoom also on the fly
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  4. #4
    Subscriber Member TRSmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Central Maine, U.S.A.
    Posts
    2,406
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    9

    Re: Nikon SB 800 on M8?

    I've used the SB 800 on my M8 and it works great. I'm not sure what you're asking about the zoom, but then I don't use flash much. If you can tell me what you want to test, I can try it tomorrow and let you know.

  5. #5
    Senior Member vieri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    San Ginesio, Italy
    Posts
    983
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Nikon SB 800 on M8?

    Guy, it works fine in M mode - as such, you can change the zoom pretty easily and on the fly. Never changed the ISO in a hurry, i don't even remember how to do that but I am pretty sure you can
    Vieri Bottazzini
    Leica Ambassador | Formatt-Hitech Ambassador | ABIPP EP
    VIERI BOTTAZZINI PHOTOGRAPHER | VIERI BOTTAZZINI WORKSHOPS | VIERI BOTTAZZINI FINE ART

  6. #6
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Nikon SB 800 on M8?

    I was wandering if you can change the ISO settings and if you can zoom the flash to match your lens so if you had a 28 on can you set the zoom on the flash to 35mm and use it in A mode non TTl
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  7. #7
    Senior Member vieri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    San Ginesio, Italy
    Posts
    983
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Nikon SB 800 on M8?

    Quote Originally Posted by Guy Mancuso View Post
    I was wandering if you can change the ISO settings and if you can zoom the flash to match your lens so if you had a 28 on can you set the zoom on the flash to 35mm and use it in A mode non TTl
    Guy, iI checked this on the manual for you, here it goes:

    - You can set the focal length to whatever you want on flash - independent from camera, lens, information coming from cameras who provides them, etc;
    - You can set ISO on flash in A & M mode (non-TTL) with two clicks of the interface;

    let me know if there is anything I can help you with
    Vieri Bottazzini
    Leica Ambassador | Formatt-Hitech Ambassador | ABIPP EP
    VIERI BOTTAZZINI PHOTOGRAPHER | VIERI BOTTAZZINI WORKSHOPS | VIERI BOTTAZZINI FINE ART

  8. #8
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Nikon SB 800 on M8?

    Perfect my friend just what we need to do for the M8 is be able to set the ISO and F stop that you want to use like 5.6 for me and zoom to match your lens. Sounds like I will sell my Metz than. I do have a Nikon SB 28d as a backup that I use on the M8 also. This one you have to change the ISO when you turn it on so it sounds like I can use the SB800 on both camera's . That is great to hear. Have to say from my past with Nikon that there flash system is the one to beat. They really have this down well.

    I think today i am going to finish cleaning out my office and just list all the stuff i don't use anymore. I have a ton of gizmo's, maybe it will help a member or two.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  9. #9
    Senior Member vieri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    San Ginesio, Italy
    Posts
    983
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Nikon SB 800 on M8?

    Quote Originally Posted by Guy Mancuso View Post
    Perfect my friend just what we need to do for the M8 is be able to set the ISO and F stop that you want to use like 5.6 for me and zoom to match your lens. Sounds like I will sell my Metz than. I do have a Nikon SB 28d as a backup that I use on the M8 also. This one you have to change the ISO when you turn it on so it sounds like I can use the SB800 on both camera's . That is great to hear. Have to say from my past with Nikon that there flash system is the one to beat. They really have this down well.
    Indeed - on my D2x(s), I used a SB-800 (off-cam, cabled, as master) & 2 SB-600 off-cam, remote and that is a fantastic setup for quick, light & portable; the D300 can act a commander as well, so you don't even need a unit connected to the camera

    Quote Originally Posted by Guy Mancuso View Post
    I think today i am going to finish cleaning out my office and just list all the stuff i don't use anymore. I have a ton of gizmo's, maybe it will help a member or two.
    ...I am sure you do and I am pretty sure it will LOL
    Vieri Bottazzini
    Leica Ambassador | Formatt-Hitech Ambassador | ABIPP EP
    VIERI BOTTAZZINI PHOTOGRAPHER | VIERI BOTTAZZINI WORKSHOPS | VIERI BOTTAZZINI FINE ART

  10. #10
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Nikon SB 800 on M8?

    The D300 can act as the commander. Wow, now that is cool
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  11. #11
    Senior Member vieri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    San Ginesio, Italy
    Posts
    983
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Nikon SB 800 on M8?

    Quote Originally Posted by Guy Mancuso View Post
    The D300 can act as the commander. Wow, now that is cool
    Yep - just raise the on-cam flash, and there you go - in the menu, you can set it as commander only (not contributing to the exposure) or use it as a flash AND a commander... way cool
    Vieri Bottazzini
    Leica Ambassador | Formatt-Hitech Ambassador | ABIPP EP
    VIERI BOTTAZZINI PHOTOGRAPHER | VIERI BOTTAZZINI WORKSHOPS | VIERI BOTTAZZINI FINE ART

  12. #12
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Nikon SB 800 on M8?

    That is beyond way cool that is extremely useful. Just think you can hand hold the flash without a cord just hold the thing up.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  13. #13
    Senior Member vieri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    San Ginesio, Italy
    Posts
    983
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Nikon SB 800 on M8?

    Quote Originally Posted by Guy Mancuso View Post
    That is beyond way cool that is extremely useful. Just think you can hand hold the flash without a cord just hold the thing up.
    yep - plus, you can assign different groups (meaning, different levels of flash power) to various SB-800/600 from your D300, and there you go - main, fill, hair, whatever you need, right there; the only thing is, flahses must be in the line of sight of the D300's pop-up flash

    One example here with the D2x: 1 SB-800 on-cam, not contributing to the exposure, and 2 SB-600 around...


    (1 SB-600 is actually BELOW the machine, something near-impossible to do with a regular-sized flash head...)
    Vieri Bottazzini
    Leica Ambassador | Formatt-Hitech Ambassador | ABIPP EP
    VIERI BOTTAZZINI PHOTOGRAPHER | VIERI BOTTAZZINI WORKSHOPS | VIERI BOTTAZZINI FINE ART

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •