Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Capture One won't open. Why?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    415
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    77

    Capture One won't open. Why?

    I just installed Capture One that came with my M8 and it lloked like it installed ok, but when I try to open, it says Capture One shut down..reopen. Same thing when I try again. I am using a new iMac. What's up with this?
    thanks

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    819
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One won't open. Why?

    Did you download the latest version from Phase One? The problem is most likely OS X 10.62 vs old version of C1...

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    415
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    77

    Re: Capture One won't open. Why?

    John I tried that just now and it worked, but how do I activate it so that it will be permanent? thanks

    Durr

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    819
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One won't open. Why?

    In the software package from the M8, the C1 disk came inside of sort of CD cover. There should be an authorization key somewhere. The license code may not be valid (previous owner may have used it). Unless of course you bought the M8 new, in that case it should work fine. The key may only work for 4.8.3 though. Version 5 is new and C1 is forcing all of us to bow to the mothership and buy upgrades...

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    415
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    77

    Re: Capture One won't open. Why?

    Thanks I will keep trying, but nothing works yet.

  6. #6
    Subscriber Member jaapv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    770
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    250

    Re: Capture One won't open. Why?

    You can try the following:
    Uninstall C1 completely
    Go to the Leica site, owners area, and register your camera
    Go to special offers and download C1 from there
    Use the key that came with your camera
    JAAP
    http://www.jaapvphotography.eu
    The colours of my generation are black and white.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    415
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    77

    Re: Capture One won't open. Why?

    Thanks guys. I finally got the 4.8.3 version to load and activate. Now, I must figure out how to use it. Thanks for the help.

  8. #8
    Senior Member otumay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Istanbul, Turkey
    Posts
    1,690
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2

    Re: Capture One won't open. Why?

    Another problem: I had downloaded C1 v5, tried it for a few days and decided to postpone upgrading. So I deleted it to find that my C1 v4.8.3 asks for activation key. I must somehow misplaced it, so I shall have to wait till Monday to find it in the office computer. A penalty for not upgrading, perhaps?
    Osman

  9. #9
    Subscriber Member jaapv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    770
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    250

    Re: Capture One won't open. Why?

    Sorry, I just noticed it got replaced by Lightroom 2. You will need that too to print, though, or another editing program.
    JAAP
    http://www.jaapvphotography.eu
    The colours of my generation are black and white.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •